We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
26
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink sand dressing room tennis courts golf course bedroom beachfront suite tobago cays pilates troy jet watersports sandals playground hillside lucia reef gym luxury
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

This exquisite resort on an unspoiled island is a hidden gem (think Mustique in her early years).

Choose a gorgeous beachfront suite with oversize bathroom, ample closet space and dressing room, private enclosed veranda ... plus more. Fit for a princess (and I believe there has been one of those starting here).

Wifi with a better connection than I’ve had in major European resorts, including in Monaco, is available everywhere - from remote beach to the 13th tee. Business travel let’s delight.

The spa is the crowing jewel .... private treatment bungalows nestled in the hillside; expert therapists from Bali and Nepal ....oh and you must try yoga in the Shala overlooking the ocean through the trees.

Cuisine ... where to start? From a delicious healthy breakfast to 6 course tasting menus ... pick your flavors! So many mouthwatering options and in a different restaurant every night ... a gastronome’s delight.

Under the subtle eagle eye of GM Duarte Correia, this superstar team shines.
No amenity or attention to detail overlooked No special request unmet - challenge them! They will make it happen, much to your delight! The sublime service cannot be matched anywhere in the Caribbean ... a special blend of warm hospitality and discreet attention.

Soft, almost pink sand .... pristine water ..... lush vegetation (no Zika here) .... safe ... this is paradise for the super exclusive.

Thank you for a magnificent 5 day stay.

Oh yes ... bring the jet ... this airport can accommodate 737 aircraft.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ElizabethVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

My definition of true luxury is when you don't have to think, and you don't have to ask. The MO staff were extremely proactive in pampering us throughout our stay. Canouan is a gem of a destination, safe, clean, friendly, intimate, private, not to mention exquisite.

The One Bedroom Beachfront Suite was ideal - situated steps from the beach, and had all the amenities one could dream of, including personal butler service. What I loved most? The bed faces east i.e. sunrise :)

The Pirate's Club is the perfect getaway for kids of all ages, offering activities in the sun as well as indoors sheltering from the heat of the day.

The Spa is not only a delightful setting (you have to take the funicular up to your massage offering exquisite views and the sounds of crashing waves), but I found the therapist to be extremely intuitive and well-educated. The room and facilities were extremely luxurious - first class all the way.

The Gym also was first class, with a pilates room (reformer, chair etc.), yoga, and state of the art gym equipment.

The 18-hole Jim Fazio golf course has views like no other, studded with tortoises all along the course.

Another great feature is the variety of dining options: Lagoon, Tides, Turtles Bar, Asianne, L'Ance Guyac, Shell Beach, Pool Bar, or room service in your suite.

For the more active guests there is a great hike up Mount Royal offering panoramic views of the entire island.

Whether you're looking to golf, play tennis, experience fine dining or casual dining, enjoy snorkeling, sailing on the catamaran's, kayaking, hiking, sunning, spa, or just simply reading a book in a cabana, the Mandarin Oriental Canouan has something for everyone.

Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: No suite is any lesser than another. Beachfront has direct access to the beach, and Oceanview is 1-2 levels above the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RoaminRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the mandarin for our 10yr anniversary.

From our arrival to canuoan from Grenada to our departure, the staff was on point and always so pleased to be of help.

From the general managers to Christal to all of the staff, we thank you for taking such good care of us and our family.
We travelled with our 1 and 3 yr old kids and every single staff memebwr was on point and so helpful when it came to them.
My 3yr old son loved the kids club which was very meticulously kept with a small wading pool/slide and playground.
Christal did a fantastic job in making sure all of our needs were met even if it meant accommodating us with early dinner reservations for the kids and their menus.
The resort is absolutely stunning and very well kept.
All of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were very comfortable.
We had an amazing time here and will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank DpV27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

My family and I just returned from a week long stay at Pink Sands Club yesterday. Having been to all of the high end hotels in the Caribbean (Eden Roc St Barths, Four Seasons Anguilla, Shore Club Turks and Caicos, Viceroy St Lucia etc) this hotel was my families favorite! Do not let the lack of reviews turn you away. Get to Pink Sands and Canouan before the secret is out. This island is one of the prettiest I have ever been too and truly is unspoiled paradise. The people on Canouan and at Pink Sands are some of the nicest people you can come by and made sure our week in paradise was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Canouan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Taylor,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It makes us smile - brightly!

Wishing you all the best from our Slice of Paradise. Please come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The grounds, the service and the room were well done. We expected with the Mandarin brand superb food and variety. Having traveled throughout the islands staying at 5 star resorts, the food and beverage at this resort was poor. The explanation was the ineffective logistics to get food to the island. As mentioned before, the service, grounds and suites were excellent.

Room Tip: Location of the rooms were all good.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan C, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Canouan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Lori,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and our service. While I am delighted to read that our service, grounds and suites were "excellent” we do strive for perfection. I know I express the sentiments of all our colleagues when I apologize for missing the mark in our restaurants, during your stay.

The unusually high winds and surf have prevented our normal shipment of goods to Canouan. (The ferry service is resuming tomorrow.) It was our hope that our culinary team could work with what goods were available. Clearly, we didn’t achieve this.

Mandarin Oriental began managing Pink Sands Club, Canouan in October of 2017. Our teams have been training and working diligently to achieve the legendary Mandarin Oriental standards you reference. It is our intent to have the resort become Mandarin Oriental in name, and in spirit, by June 1, 2018.

If there is the opportunity to welcome you to the resort, after we become “Mandarin Oriental, Canouan” I hope that you will allow us to demonstrate what changes we have implemented. Perhaps you will even permit us to prepare, and host, a personalized private tasting of our new menus?

I hope that you will not hesitate to message me directly so that we can make the arrangements.

With Warmest Appreciation,

Euan Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews