We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culebra Beach Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culebra Beach Villas
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was a very charming hotel with a lot of character. Each villa is independent and has different amenities. We stayed in Villa 16. There was good AC, a kitchenette with a stove top and mini refrigerator, and a TV. We enjoyed the porch which included a hammock, table, and BBQ. All of the rooms are just off the beautiful beach. These rooms are more like a vacation rental than a hotel. We brought our own food and drinks, and there was no cleaning service during our stay. But that's all fine if that's what you want and know to expect.
The main beach and kiosks are just a short walk down the beach. When we tried to call a cab to get to the ferry, the office informed us that cabs don't like to come to the hotel and recommended we walk with our bags to the public parking lot. Plan your time accordingly. We were lucky enough to get a ride from another guest who drove by. The ferry ride on the way to Culebra was very rough, a few of the people we were traveling with got sick. But the ride on the way back to Fajardo, which we were told travels with the current, was very pleasant.
We would be happy to stay here again, but might try our luck with a different villa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kristin678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    79
    38
    16
    28
See reviews for
86
90
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Lovely area. Amazing seclusion and beach. Avoid unit 3C. Charges were $245/night and the unit was broken down and in need of repair. Toilet seat was broken pinching you when you sat. Window blinds didn't work. A/C only functions in one bedroom. Kitchen drawers hardly opened. Refridgerator was warm and the temp controls had been removed. In general, if we were paying $100 bucks it would have been just fine, but the price the duena charges is extravagant. We tried to negotiate with her, but she was rude and said she'd just post pictures in response to our complaints. Photos won't show the problems. Believe us. Don't pay this price unless you don't care about a ripoff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Coloradofamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our group (6 adults + 2 children) stayed in villa 17 for two nights. Our unit had an awesome balcony. This is where we spent the most time since it had a nice hammock, two suspended chairs, an outdoor patio bed, and a few tables. Heck, my wife actually slept out there one night with the kids!

The location and the villa are nice, but the interior was outdated. The bathrooms, kitchen, cabinets, are in need of an upgrade. Besides the outdated interiors, my other complaint is with the booking system. Booking and getting a hold of someone was a challenge and we had to try multiple times/days to confirm things were set.

The main reason to stay here is to be close to Flamenco Beach, and this is right at Flamenco beach literally steps away. Overall a great place, but the units need improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquinoangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

moved from villa 15 to 4 story building 2c , best room we had, but moved to 2 b , disaster , came back with bacteria in my lungs, owner has refrigerator that doesn't cool and in 15 years old, the air conditioner is a health hazard , and the funny thing is everyone knows, but they continue to rent out the room for 200 a night and don't care, period , sad they let there owners do nothing but suck there property dry on every last cent they can get, others did a great job and care, but they don't have any control of bad owners. it is hit or miss here, change rooms 3 times in 5 days exhausted, they have separate aqents renting rooms , so if you draw a bad room disaster and they don't speak English, wifi is only outside the office.

Room Tip: rent only from a owner called eddie
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Someone mentioned #15 "looked nice" on TA, so I went for it. It served the purpose but didn't have amenities other villas offered. Most units have people walking past all day and you can't help but look at the patio's, trying not to make too much eye contact. Some had outdoor wall fans and day beds. We had swing hammock chairs, table and chairs and a hammock. It was old and ripped wide open. They knew, but that's how it works. Until the owner buys a new one, it stays ripped. We did have the most privacy of all units, but there is no total privacy. The unit was clean but outdated. No housekeeping for our 4 day stay. The beach was absolutely beautiful and the vendor kiosks are a short walk down the beach. They open around 11 until 4. Remember that, because if you don't stop at the store on the way to the villas you will have no other food or drink access.
Do rent transportation.
The office sells ice and water, free calls to US and receptionist is a sweetheart. Don't think you can walk to town from here on a day trip. We picked up a lot of tired people in our VW Thing. $45 a day, noisy and gets you around without worrying about dents. If you rent it, you better be good at driving stick-just saying. I do not recommend taking a golf cart to Zoni beach. The hills are pretty steep.
Do your homework and ask questions about specific villa's. PM TA members, that's what we're here for. With a decent hammock unit 15 works, especially for privacy. Be prepared, the roosters and the kitty's loved us They even shared the same plate. Too funny!!.
If I were to return to Culebra, I'd stay in #15 again, rather then take a chance at a problem. I'll be writing a Culebra trip report.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellant. I saw none for sale in Culebra. Easier water access on right side of bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
5.0 km away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
23.4 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
26.4 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
81.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.3 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.3 km away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culebra Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culebra Beach Villas

Property: Culebra Beach Villas
Address: Flamenco Beach, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only complex located at one of the best beaches in the world; Flamenco Beach at Culebra, PR ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culebra Beach Villas Hotel Culebra
Culebra Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing