We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Totally gross, really loud, rude staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamacitas Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamacitas Guest House
Ranked #12 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally gross, really loud, rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This place is just plain awful. I thought since I love the restaurant at Mamacita's, that the guest house would be great, but this is definitely not the case. We were charged for an extra night, and were treated horribly when we tried to rectify this. It was also extremely loud- between the bar downstairs and the noise form the street, this was not a relaxing experience. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KEZB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    29
    14
    12
    16
See reviews for
14
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San German, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We called Mamacita's to get a cuote for a weekend reservation and we told them we would call them back being polite about it, once we saw the terrible reviews about their service and frauds of charging people extra. Two days later we received a "confirmation of purchase" that we didn't authorized. Be careful w/this guesthouse, they have no respect to their tourist!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guerrerataina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Near the port, you can go walking with no need of a taxi. They have a restaurant bar that is great, although they are remodeling so you could find it closed. Rooms are okay, staff were nice to us. One of the owners is very friendly. They are remodeling so you could get a better experience once is completed. Ask for a room that doesn't look to the street so you could have a view and a nice space. Mosquitoes are very common in the Main Island and Culebra, so you can't rate this place bad because of that, it's just common, if you dont like them keep doors and windows closed with the air conditioner that keeps room cold and keep them away..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luqillo Beach
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Called to make reservations and a lady by the name of Nelly answered the phone and it was the worst customer service I had ever received! The owners need to check their front desk because if just to make reservations is a burden when asked questions, imagine when you try to order a cup of coffee! She rolled her tongue so much I thought she had an engine! Horrible!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betsy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Hello fellow travellers, my girlfriend and I are currently staying at mamacitas guest house for four nights and using their free wifi, one of the few good things about this hotel. We woke up this morning with a few more bites on our bodies, other then the mosquito bites accumulated over our trip but this morning these bites were not caused by mosquitoes rather by BED BUGS!!! We are staying in room #8 on the ground level and it is deffenitly not anywhere near the value of the $113 a night we paid for. The noice level from the bar here and street traffic won't help you get to sleep past 2pm! We love the restaurant and the location of the hotel to the ferry and the airport but our room and the room next to us (#7) are NOT suitable to be stayed in by any human being or alian species. I can't speak on behalf of the other rooms on the upper floors with balconies but I assume if this room has bed bugs then it's very likely the intire place is infested with them. No help by the management has been offered for the incovienece. As we are stuck and have pre paid we will suck it up for another two nights and get eaten alive, litterealy. DO NOT PRE BOOK WITH OUT SEEING THE ROOM THEY ARE GIVING YOU FIRST! INSPECT THE MATTERESS!!! Dont get stuck like us. Safe travels!
Ps renting a bike to get around the island is a good idea for those adventures types. Roads are safe and not to strenuous for moteritly fit people.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vagabond122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.7 km away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
22.2 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
25.3 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.0 km away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
67.3 km away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamacitas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guest House

Property: Mamacitas Guest House
Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mamacitas Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Mamacitas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing