We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
17
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
2
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

The stay at Sandy Ground estate was amazing, especially the private beach. The managers: Leroy and Nadine was amazing, they can assist you with any and everything. The stay was everything we planned for and more...

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Keysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

My girlfriend and another couple just spent ten days at The Hideaway on the Sandy Ground Estate. It was stunningly beautiful and wonderfully remote. We had no drunk loud revelers to contend with...we just went to White Bay or Great Harbor to find them and when we were done with them we could return to pure and unadulterated peace and quiet.
We had our own privet beach and dock. The property is overseen by Nadine and Leroy who are the best people; completely helpful for and about any issue you could have foreseen or unforeseen, yet never even visible unless needed. The absolute perfect hosts and friendly as can be.
Leroy's Aunt runs Sugar and Spice and she is also one of the friendliest people I have ever met and she makes the best Patties and Rotis I have ever tasted. I also ran across Leroy's Brother, Mikey who tends Bar at Foxy's Tamarind in Great Harbor and like the others a very accommodating and friendly person and he pours a great Rum (Thanks Mikey!).
We were able to get out some nights but had a full kitchen and grill so we had some excellent dinners with ambiance you can only dream of and can't find even in the most expensive restaurants.
The experience was relaxing and refreshing, it's so wonderful dealing with very nice and competent people. We loved our visit thank you Nadine and Leroy and all of the other friendly and wonderful people of Jost Van Dyke it's so refreshing being with kind and friendly folks like you!!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winebearchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Great private location. We enjoyed our time there. The managers were outstanding. The snorkeling was outstanding both in front of our villa and over on Little Jost Van Dyke. We had a number of meals at Foxies Taboo which were also very good.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LawCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed for one week at the Loblolly Tree House.This is a wonderfully secluded beautiful location. You will find peace and quiet, beautiful views, awesome beach, and time to relax. You will not find resort-like amenities or maid service. You must bring in all of your provisions and plan to do some walking.

The beach has a fine white sand and plenty of lounge chairs. In the water there is coral and live-rock, so bring water shoes if you plan to go in. The snorkeling is outstanding! Amazing fan corals, a wide variety of reef fish, some smaller tuna, enormous sea cucumbers, and even some small (2') black-tip reef sharks.

One day we walked on over to the Bubbling Pool which was fun. Afterwards we had a couple local drinks at Foxy's Taboo before we headed back.

We rented a dinghy from Leroy for $100/Day and it was well worth it! We started off at Sandy Cay, hung out there for an hour or two. Then off to to White Bay to have lunch and a couple of Pain Killers while enjoying a couple of games of Tiki Toss at Soggy Dollar. (Take Leroy's advice and only have two Pain Killers.) Then off to Great Harbor to gas up the dinghy and get some supplies. Next we took off for Sandy Spit. Don't go for snorkeling there, but it is a great beach experience. Then we boated along the coast of Little JVD until we got back to SGE.

Leroy and Nadene are fantastic hosts and are always there for you but won't disturb you.

The house is simple but clean and has everything that you need.
The outdoor shower is a great experience.
The breezes are still in our minds as one of the best ambiance memories.
The island birds, lizards, and hermit crabs are fun to observe.
The nights eating dinner on the patio and then stargazing were unforgettable.

If you like getting away and not being disturbed, this is the place!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis Jam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgroundbvis, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Ground Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for your thorough and informative review, it is great that you had an amazing time and let us know about it! Sandy Ground is a great location for exploring the natural beauty of the British Virgin Islands and I'm glad you got to take advantage of it. Oh, and congratulations on 25 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We had a great time. We wanted a private beach and quiet and this was perfect. The beach was amazing and the reef was right in front of us. Hours of amazing snorkeling everyday followed by quiet private evenings.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank josephvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgroundbvis, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Ground Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you so much for your review and we are really glad you had a lovely time. It is a unique location with plenty of opportunities to have a relaxing but exciting holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews