We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“. ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Ground Estates
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful spot in the BVI's. Having a boat makes it a perfect private getaway or stock up on food and drinks and never leave. It's also only a 10 -15 minute walk to Foxys Taboo. Cheap beer, wonderful drinks and the food is about as good as it gets in Jost.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

The stay at Sandy Ground estate was amazing, especially the private beach. The managers: Leroy and Nadine was amazing, they can assist you with any and everything. The stay was everything we planned for and more...

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Keysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

My girlfriend and another couple just spent ten days at The Hideaway on the Sandy Ground Estate. It was stunningly beautiful and wonderfully remote. We had no drunk loud revelers to contend with...we just went to White Bay or Great Harbor to find them and when we were done with them we could return to pure and unadulterated peace and quiet.
We had our own privet beach and dock. The property is overseen by Nadine and Leroy who are the best people; completely helpful for and about any issue you could have foreseen or unforeseen, yet never even visible unless needed. The absolute perfect hosts and friendly as can be.
Leroy's Aunt runs Sugar and Spice and she is also one of the friendliest people I have ever met and she makes the best Patties and Rotis I have ever tasted. I also ran across Leroy's Brother, Mikey who tends Bar at Foxy's Tamarind in Great Harbor and like the others a very accommodating and friendly person and he pours a great Rum (Thanks Mikey!).
We were able to get out some nights but had a full kitchen and grill so we had some excellent dinners with ambiance you can only dream of and can't find even in the most expensive restaurants.
The experience was relaxing and refreshing, it's so wonderful dealing with very nice and competent people. We loved our visit thank you Nadine and Leroy and all of the other friendly and wonderful people of Jost Van Dyke it's so refreshing being with kind and friendly folks like you!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winebearchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Great private location. We enjoyed our time there. The managers were outstanding. The snorkeling was outstanding both in front of our villa and over on Little Jost Van Dyke. We had a number of meals at Foxies Taboo which were also very good.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LawCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed for one week at the Loblolly Tree House.This is a wonderfully secluded beautiful location. You will find peace and quiet, beautiful views, awesome beach, and time to relax. You will not find resort-like amenities or maid service. You must bring in all of your provisions and plan to do some walking.

The beach has a fine white sand and plenty of lounge chairs. In the water there is coral and live-rock, so bring water shoes if you plan to go in. The snorkeling is outstanding! Amazing fan corals, a wide variety of reef fish, some smaller tuna, enormous sea cucumbers, and even some small (2') black-tip reef sharks.

One day we walked on over to the Bubbling Pool which was fun. Afterwards we had a couple local drinks at Foxy's Taboo before we headed back.

We rented a dinghy from Leroy for $100/Day and it was well worth it! We started off at Sandy Cay, hung out there for an hour or two. Then off to to White Bay to have lunch and a couple of Pain Killers while enjoying a couple of games of Tiki Toss at Soggy Dollar. (Take Leroy's advice and only have two Pain Killers.) Then off to Great Harbor to gas up the dinghy and get some supplies. Next we took off for Sandy Spit. Don't go for snorkeling there, but it is a great beach experience. Then we boated along the coast of Little JVD until we got back to SGE.

Leroy and Nadene are fantastic hosts and are always there for you but won't disturb you.

The house is simple but clean and has everything that you need.
The outdoor shower is a great experience.
The breezes are still in our minds as one of the best ambiance memories.
The island birds, lizards, and hermit crabs are fun to observe.
The nights eating dinner on the patio and then stargazing were unforgettable.

If you like getting away and not being disturbed, this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis Jam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgroundbvis, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Ground Estates, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for your thorough and informative review, it is great that you had an amazing time and let us know about it! Sandy Ground is a great location for exploring the natural beauty of the British Virgin Islands and I'm glad you got to take advantage of it. Oh, and congratulations on 25 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sandy Ground Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Ground Estates

Address: Jost Van Dyke
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range: €1,190 - €1,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sandy Ground Estates, perfectly situated on Jost Van Dyke in the British Virgin Islands, this unique location offers an experience like no other: glorious weather, azure waters, brilliant beaches, fascinating flora and fauna, awe-inspiring coral reefs and activities almost too numerous to mention. Jost Van Dyke is the smallest of the four main islands of the British Virgin Islands with Sandy Ground Estates, made up of six villas, occupying the eastern end of the island overlooking picturesque Sandy Spit, Sandy and Diamond Cays and only minutes walk from a sandy white beach you can call your own. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Ground Estates Hotel Jost Van Dyke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing