We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hosts in a Charming Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twillingate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Legacy B & B
Ranked #1 of 19 Twillingate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Addie and John moved to Twillingate a few years back and opened this B&B. They both are very welcoming hosts and put a lot of effort into making their guests feel welcome. The house is very pretty and historic, and on a nice cove to boot. They served a bang-up breakfast with lots of choices--they ask you to submit a very brief form the night before going to bed so they can accommodate your preferences. John gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation (Sansone's), which was a real hit. Lots of little touches make the place very welcoming. They have a shoes-off policy in the house, which some might not like. There is a very nice common area for reading or having a nice chat.

We stayed in the Mate's Room, which is on the first floor and is small. When we booked, John warned us, so I didn't feel either cheated or put out. The sink is in the room, rather than the bathroom but the bathroom itself is very nice with a well-appointed shower--lots of hot water. We managed as a couple here but it is probably best for single travelers as space is a bit tight, though far from impossible.

Room Tip: Best to stay in a room other than Mate's Room if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Legacy B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

We had a wonderful stay, got good suggestions from our hosts John and Addie as to hikes, boats tours, and places to eat. We enjoyed sitting in their seaside chairs with a cup of coffee and watched the boats. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mlwise2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

My husband I were recent guests at the Captain's Legacy B & B, and we loved it! We stayed one night, with it had been for longer than that. The place is super clean, very quiet at night, and the hosts go out of their way to insure that you feel at home. I especially love that they add special little touches like the thick cotton bathrobes and small candies and organic bath products in each room. Plus, the breakfast is fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We were very pleased with out stay at the Captain's Legacy where we stayed for 3 nights. From the time we walked through the front door until we left John and Addie were the most caring and knowledgeable hosts. Our rooms were absolutely gorgeous and were overlooking the water. We could not believe - yes there were icebergs when you looked right out our window. We went picking sea glass, iceberg watching,sightseeing, dinner/theatre and went to watch a group called the Split Peas (awesome group of ladies). John and Addie were able to guide us to all the sights and sounds of Twilingate. I almost forgot the breakfast was awesome. You had a choice and every morning there was also freshly baked scones. We would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone. My only suggestion would be to book as early as you know you are going to Twilingate. Excellent job John and Addie if there were 10 stars to give you would have them.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leosheedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were fortunate to spend one night in the Captains Quarters room during the first week of our 2 week visit to Newfoundland. We chose this B&B based on information on line, including the many reviews that gave it an excellent rating. These reviews were certainly very accurate but you cannot truly appreciate the meaning of these reviews until you experience this B&B yourself. As others have said, this B&B is a beautifully-renovated historic property which has retained its charm but with a 5 star hotel feeling. The view of Hart's Cove from our room was beautiful with the ice breaking up in the cove. We were able to order our breakfast from a menu and it was delicious, including warm scones. These are some of the things that made our one-night stay very enjoyable but what contributed to making it outstanding was the hosts, John and Addie. From the minute we walked in the door to the minute we left they were very welcoming, friendly and willing and able to help with any information to assist in visiting beautiful Twillingate. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twillingate
0.7 km away
Anchor Inn Hotel
Anchor Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Twillingate
231 reviews
0.7 km away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#9 of 19 in Twillingate
79 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
White On Wood
White On Wood
#4 of 8 in Twillingate
7 reviews
38.5 km away
Gillespie House
Gillespie House
#1 of 1 in Fortune Harbour
8 reviews
1.9 km away
North 99 Motel
North 99 Motel
#7 of 8 in Twillingate
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Legacy B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Legacy B & B

Address: 14 Ocher Pit Road | P.O. Box 103, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 1Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Twillingate
Price Range: €58 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canada Select 4 1/2 star ocean front Historic Bed and Breakfast circa 1800s. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, premium bedding and guest robes. Full hot breakfast included. Located on the shores of scenic Hart's Cove in the out-port fishing village of Twillingate, Newfoundland. Former home of Order of Canada recipient Captain Peter Troake (M V Christmas Seal). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing