We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I held my wedding here in December 2009 and the majority of my guests stayed here also.

The staff of this hotel could not do enough for me and my guests and I would recommend anyone to both stay here or to hold a function here.

I appreciate that the style of the hotel from the outside is not as attractive as some hotels but that is not the fault of the Holiday Inn - this hotel used to be owned by another chain. To be honest it didn't bother me at all, once inside, the professionalism of the staff and the clean lines of the interior far outweighed any disappointment obtained by the outside first impression.

The reception staff were helpful to both me and my guests, ensuring that early check in's were arranged and breakfasts' organised for those who had not prepaid for one. The other visible staff were cleaners and bar staff, all of whom were friendly.

The rooms are on the small side granted, but I believe that the hotel is undergoing a radical update in which the rooms are being updated? I am not 100% sure of this but I heard no complaint from any of my guests regarding the size of the rooms.

The hotel is excellent location wise with links to the M56/M6/M62 motorways and with local trainstations being only a few minutes drive away. The hotel itself is adjacent to a quiet housing estate and so lends itself to restful sleep - welcome after a long day sightseeing in nearby Liverpool/Chester or Manchester! It also has a swimming pool and gym onsite for winding down or relaxation.

I have eaten breakfast and evening meal here and the food has been consistent and of an excellent standard. The wedding food was well above average and of excellent quality and I recieved compliments from all guests regarding it.

In short I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore the northwest from an easily accessible location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N13KYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonsRuncorn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Dear Mrs_Sud
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your wedding here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable day and along with your guests you found the staff to be helpful and the food of excellent quality.
Unfortunately the appearance of the hotel from an on-lookers perspective is not something that I can address as you have stated therefore I am pleased to find that you appreciate the work that goes on inside the hotel to deliver a clean hotel with professional staff to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Adam Munday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 699 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed here with a new work collegue and have to say I was disappointed. The room was tiny, had no toilet paper, a faulty TV and faulty telephone. We ordered 2 pints of Stella both were flat and had to be changed. The service in the restaurant was excellent, the food however was not. The self serve indian had obviously been cooked hours before we ate it and was dry, overcooked and fairly tasteless. To add insult to injury a glass of wine was a jaw dropping £7 and thats not for a 250ml one.
Okay for a one off business stay, but eat and drink elsewere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonsRuncorn, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Dear eddie8105
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the facilities in your bedroom and the food at dinner.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment and I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that your comments have been passed on to the Kitchen and Housekeeping team for further investigation.
Unfortunately the bar prices are set by our Head Office and we are unable to change these. I am sorry that I did not get the chance to speak with you during your stay regarding your disappointing visit as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Kind Regards
Adam Munday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Rip off bar prices, treble the local bar prices every time you get a drink your charged different rates and given excuses... Poor service no follow up from complaints. Would not go back or use holiday inn ever again after this service .

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Mandyibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonsRuncorn, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Dear MandyIbiza,
I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience during your stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn. Unfortunately our bar prices are set by Head Office and this is not in our power to change these, however I am concerned to hear that you were charged different prices and complaints were not followed up. I am sorry that I did not have chance to speak to you regarding your complaints during your stay here and I will be speaking with our Bar Manager to ensure further training is given where necessary to staff on procedures for customer complaints.
Many Thanks for your feedback – without it I would not be able to improve our service which is something that I strive to do.
Adam Munday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel. Why not? £15 for internet access. Complete rip-off by Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verchaixbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonsRuncorn, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear verchaixbob,
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Unfortunately the Holiday Inn Group are tied into a contract with the current internet provider until May 2011. However due to customer feedback I am delighted to announce that we are changing providers in June 2011 to enable us to give our guests a better deal.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Adam Munday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This hotel is oK if your looking for a hotel fairly close to Runcorn. Rooms are fine, in fact now they have newly installed PVC double glazing at last, as the old metal ones were rotten. Room service on my stay was unusually slow, taking almost an hour to be delivered. Staff are effiecent and the public areas clean and tidt, the lounge having a large screen TV on which they show all the football. Although being a Platinum PCM I didn`t get an upgrade but was recognised with drinks and chocolate. All in all I will as many times before stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicanteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonsRuncorn, Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear Alicanteman,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you found the new windows to be an asset. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your stay that you found disappointing. I can assure you that your comments regarding your room service delay and upgrade have been passed on to the relevant Heads of Department to action.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Adam Munday
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
4.3 km away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
233 reviews
3.4 km away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
36.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
2.9 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range: €39 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Runcorn Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing