We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“TYPICAL AIRPORT HOTEL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Airport Inn Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Scarborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“TYPICAL AIRPORT HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

First of all I have to confess that I am not a big fan of airport hotels, I find them a conveyor belt of humanitism that lack the personal touch of other hotels. This hotel is no better and no worse than other airport hotels!

After a poor check in, because TWO of my credit cards were declined, we were pleased to be allocated a room on the grond floor which ,means only half a dozen steps. To access other rooms, you need to climb several steep steps, and there is no lift in the hotel, which I would think should be a pre-requisite for an airport hotel.

The room was quite small, and even though it was described as a "double" it was in fact two singles pushed together. This combined with the settee, meant that there was no room for any bedside cabinets....a minor inconvenience. The view from the room was over parklands and quite nice. I'm not sure if the walls are paper thin, or if it was the adjoining door, but we could hear everything from the room next door, even the sound of a suitcase zipping up (I think/hope it was a suitcase!) This woke us up at about 05:30.

Breakfast provided a good selection, but the cooked food was only warm at best. We were however quite late for breakfast, despite the 05:30 wake up call!

We did not use the health facilities nor the airport transfer.

Our choice of this hotel is based on an excellent pub, the Honey Bee just 5 minutes up the road, the menu is wide and varied and the food is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your review, you feedback and comments are vital to us in our continual strive to increase our customer service levels. We appreciate there is a good choice when it comes to booking accommodation at Manchester Airport and we will continue to make every effort to ensure the stays of all our guests is as enjoyable as possible, Kind regards John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    297
    300
    234
    288
See reviews for
250
490
85
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 with the kids. Had a great stay, so we've booked again for the 6th march before we go o Florida. All the staff were kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoylandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a post following your recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back on the 6th March. Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had a lovely one night stay. Great hotel with large car park - easily parked on arrival. On check in we were warmly greeted, very polite, friendly and cheerful staff. Room was very nice and clean. We found the bar, restaurant area to be very welcoming and inviting - well looked after and breakfast very good. Excellent service throughout.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fearnhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a post following your recent stay. It was pleasing to read your comments as we take service delivery extremely serious. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here while on a work trip, price was great as it included breakfast. Large car park , and nice rooms , only big criticisms are with the lack of friendliness from reception (they answered your question and no more) and the heat in the rooms! The heat control panel obviously didn't work as it was on its Lowest , at 2 am we work in sweltering heat resorting to opening the windows as wide as possible and sleeping on top of the covers. Barely any sleep made our working day very difficult the next day , disappointing to say the least such a critical thing in room comfort

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234gtbr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear youncumbrian24

Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies in reference to the heat; I believe you stayed with us over the period where we were being told of Freezing Temperatures of up to -15 which didn’t materialise, we did override our heating system in anticipation on this occasion for that cold snap. I have noted your comments about my reception; we are currently working through a customer service training plan for all the hotels departments. Once again I apologise and thank you for your comment. Kind Regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here on the 4th of Jan, before a family holiday to Florida, had dinner at the hotel, Kids got to eat free, and food was of a good standard, although served at different times. Hotel also had a pool which was an added bonus for the kids before there holiday. breakfast is ok, not the worst, but not the best. rooms are fairly basic, not very big, but ok for one night stay. Great for holiday parking, hotel organised a bus to run us to the airport, and give u a no. to call and a voucher to get picked up on our way back, bus picked us up at airport within about 15mins, would use this hotel again if flying from Manchester, good start to our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Trip Reviewer, thank you for your post, it was pleasing to read your comments. I will ensure the team are made aware of them. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, John Rothwell,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing