We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
80
28
4
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
28
4
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Val Toui. We had a balcony room on the second floor that was perfect. One entrance to the hotel is just around the corner from the bus stop, which was perfect. The hotel staff were very helpful, assisting us with hikes and transportation. We ate at the hotel the first night and the food was wonderful. My sister had stayed here earlier within the year and highly recommended it. My husband is tall and we thought the headspace in the rooms might be low, but he was very comfortable. The rooms were very clean, and the little gift shop that is attached was a delight. We would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Balcony room right on the street- windows open-quiet all night.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio_Geologist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans-Ueli_Regius, Inhaber at Boutique-Hotel Romantica Val Tuoi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

I personally want to thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time sharing this great feedback. It will be my pleasure to share your comment with my team, as they will no doubt be delighted to know that their efforts are very well appreciated. Making our guests feel comfortable is an important part of the experience and we are delighted that your room was just perfect and you enjoyed our cuisine. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcoming you and your family back again - hopefully in the not too distant future!

Best regards
Hans-Ueli Regius and his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

You would be hard-pressed to find friendlier, more accommodating staff than those at the romantica val tuoi. Stefan is always nearby, whether at the front desk
or waiting on you at dinner and he's just the kind of guy you want to sit up late chatting with. And that's how the other staff are as well - friendly, helpful, they ask about your day and answer questions for as long as you can ask them... I also have some dietary restrictions but they made sure I had various options to eat every evening.

We had a romantic double room in the annex. It was clean, roomy, and comfortable. And quiet! Guarda is the perfect cozy village to spend time in when you want to just be in nature and away from people rushing about, traffic, etc. We spent a week xc skiing, winter walking, and downhill skiing and Guarda is well located in the middle of various ski areas.

We used the spa almost every evening. It is small - only 4 chairs to rest in - but you sign up ahead of time for 90-minute time slots and it was never over crowded. The hot tub and saunas are clean and roomy enough for 4-6.

My two complaints:

1. Breakfast would be vastly improved by offering tea that's not lipton. A selection of black teas from, really, anyplace other than Lipton, would be wonderful.

2. Can you make an underground tunnel from the annex to the spa level of the hotel for when it's snowing or raining outside? It's a little odd to be running across the street in a robe! And awful when it's in heavy snow and wind. In general the annex was very nice and likely quieter than the main hotel so just a suggestion about the tunnel! :)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clgm523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We (3 adults/1 child) just came back from a wonderful stay in this little personal hotel in Guarda and we are already looking forward to going back again!

The hotel is situated in an old, beautifully painted building. Every detail is made with character and a lot of wood.
We had two adequately sized double rooms in the main building, both with balcony with a nice view over the mountains.

The wellness area was nice and modern with jacuzzi, steam bath and sauna.

We chose the half pension 4-course menu, and we did not regret our decision. It was a great food experience. All four courses were made with fresh ingredients, and included lots of wild meat (but vegetarian option as well). Everything was beautifully presented. The cook was very kind as well. The wine choice by glass and bottle was great too (Swiss and international), grappa is excellent. The restaurant was very cozy and stylish.

The owner of the hotel was so accomodating and made our stay special. He took personal care of all guests. All the staff was extremely nice and helpful.

Guarda is a very special little village with old, nicely maintained painted houses at 1650 m altitude. There is a particular atmosphere walking around in such an old village. It is a great place for hiking or cross country skiing down in the valley. For alpine skiing you have to go to Scuol (80 km large, sunny slopes). We can also recommend the Eisweg in Sur En which is a 3 km long ice road in the woods - fantastic iceskating experience! And of course do not miss the amazing, modern thermal bath with beautiful sauna in Scuol!

Guarda has a railway station down in the valley and there is bus connection between the village and the station. The hotel has free parking places not far from the hotel, so you do not need to use the public parking at the entrance of the village.

NB! The 3 km drive from the valley main road up to Guarda village is on a steep mountain road and may require 4x4 or snow chains in some conditions.

Thank you so much for our nice holiday. We will definitively recommend this little gem to our friends!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JVES-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

On a hot August afternoon our group of 4 walkers stopped for a drink in the garden of this hotel. We ordered four ice coffees, total price 46 Francs. In addition we asked if we could each have a glass of tap water. We were served a carafe filled with about 7 dl of lukewarm water. Asked if we would like a refill, we accepted.
The bill at the end: 56 Francs - including 2 carafe of "Guarda Water" at 5 Francs each. While I was expecting to pay something for the water, after all the glasses have to be washed, I think 10 Francs for tap water is an outrageous rip-off, even in an expensive country like Switzerland.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank cco2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

As a single person i havn't found enough value for the price payed for an overnight stay:150.- CHF, which is more than a two persons rate of a double room. This is not legitimate. the bath room was super small, rather old not matching style of the rest. Breakfast was like in a pension, a small buffet on a tiny table,with simple&small choice of food, nothing special. All in all: only a heart shapped cussion as decoration on the bed is not making the difference for a romantic boutique hotel & certainly not worth paying such rates.

Room Tip: Hotel meisser, crusch alba or the new opened b&b guarda lodge
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews