We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay in Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa Sol
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay in Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My partner and I booked to stay for 1 night in Hotel Playa Sol. It is definitely worth booking a sea view room with balcony, this really made our stay special. It was lovely to be able to have a glass of wine overlooking the town, especially when it was lit up at night.

The hotel staff were very polite and friendly and we were impressed by the facilities (swimming pool, jacuzzi, outdoor bar, etc). One thing I must point out is that the pool was extremely cold, which was a shame as it was not really possible to swim comfortably. The hammock also needs to be repaired as it has a large hole in it and is too low hanging. The spot of beach in front of the hotel was an ideal spot to relax and was not too busy.

We found a parking space on a side street next to the hotel so we saved paying to park in the hotel's car park. However, our rental car was scratched; this is not the fault of the hotel but I am just pointing out that the pavement on the side street is very narrow so don't be surprised if someone's bag catches on your car. Either park in the car park or look to park elsewhere.

The bedroom was gorgeous, with beautiful decoration, a clean and spacious bathroom and large flatscreen tv on the wall with English channels. I would suggest that the hotel should iron/steam the curtains as they were very crinkled and detracted from the look of the room. I think the hotel must have been recently decorated as there was even a 'new carpet smell' through the halls and bedroom!

Overall we had an amazing stay and we would happily return for a longer stay in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank space4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    163
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
319
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel look brand new after rebuilding, very cosy, nice location, a small beach for your morning bath 10 meters from the front door. To our opinion a small pearl !
You have a quality breakfast in a nice atmosphere.
K.rgs/Elzbieta & Lars from Norway !

Room Tip: The hotel look brand new after rebuilding, very cosy, nice location, a small beach for your morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We have stayed at Playa Sol twice in 6 months. The first time, it was for a family weekend back in April. The hotel had been renovated recently. Rooms are nicely decorated, clean and service is good. We had such a great experience in oír first stay, that we came back in august. This time we had the chance to enjoy the swimmingpool which is amazing! The locación of the hotel is perfect to enjoy wonderfull Cadaques. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Great value for your money! We wanted an average, clean hotel where we could walk to everywhere in Cadaques - this was it. Very modern hotel, looked like it had been recently renovated. Clean, central, right on the water. We got a sea facing room and fell asleep to the waves crashing at night. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view - it's worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_G97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

What more do you want? Lovely re-furbished rooms (though on the small side), balcony with view of picture postcard town and harbour, beautiful pool area in olive grove, good service, lunch by the pool. And you can swim in the harbour (clean water) right in front of the hotel although admittedly from a slightly tatty small beach. A short stroll in to town to a large selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
1.0 km away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
8.4 km away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Property: Hotel Playa Sol
Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
#1 Family Hotel in Cadaques
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing