We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotelUS$80
PricelineUS$80
Agoda.comUS$80
WyndhamUS$80
Hotels.comUS$80
StayForLongUS$106
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
52
37
22
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
52
37
22
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are clean small town thank god great stay charles job
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019

The hotel is in need of an upgrade. The edges are frayed, literally and figuratively. There is not much thought put in to the guest experience. It presents as more of traveler hotel - a place just to get off the road for the night.

The hotel is not ADA friendly - the front door is hard to open and doesn't have an automatic setting. It (dangerously) opens right into the entrance lane - there isn't a pull in to drop off/pick up. This area seems to also serve as the smoking area (the hotel still allows smoking in some of the rooms which was apparent from the smell in the hallways). We had to time our exit between smokers so we didn't have to walk through the smoke.

The lobby isn't welcoming. There is a sign about paying in cash - that the guest needs to make a deposit and have the room checked prior to the deposit being returned. This alone may seem like a random detail but in the room there are more signs about taking items from the hotel, etc. It just felt unfriendly and suspicious. Not a great way to set the tone.

I am not sure who would take anything - the towels are threadbare and the furniture worn. The rooms are ok. That's the best adjective that I can think of. The bathroom door was rusty, the tub was dingy, the carpet shouldn't be walked on without socks. Unless that stuff doesn't bother you, you will notice it.

On the bright side, most of the staff is very friendly and welcoming. They are the best part of the experience. And the other guests - the people we met were lovely.

We were visiting family in the area and planned to stay two nights. A couple days before our trip we changed our plans and cancelled the second night (which you must do within 48 hours, not 24 like at other hotels) and I am so glad that we did. One night at this hotel was more than enough.

Side note: we have stayed at the Comfort Inn in Big Stone Gap on other trips and it was fine for years. The last time we stayed there it was awful - dirty and smelled musty. That's why we tried the Days Inn. Our hunt continues for a decent (and hopefully wonderful) hotel in this area.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scsclj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daysinn13942, Front Office Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Norton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

The front entrance of the building has a covered area for drop off and pick up. We do offer a few smoking rooms but they are located in a small section. If you smelt smoke in a non smoking area we wish you would have brought that to the attention of the front desk. We are one of a few hotels in the area that will accept cash as payment. However, you are correct a deposit is required for a cash paying guest. We do refund that deposit at check-out as long as no damage is done to the room or any missing items We are happy you found our staff to be friendly. We hope to see you again when you visit Norton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

Good parking, smaller room but clean, very nice night desk clerk, friendly. Bed was comfortable and shower was nice but there was just a continental breakfast but I am not complaining since it was all for a good price.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LynYork_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daysinn13942, Front Office Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Norton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Norton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

The staff are nice and knowledgable. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast is very good and the waffles are great. Charles (desk clerk) is very friendly ask ready to help out. For a small town I am surprised the staff is co-operative.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Haboraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daysinn13942, Front Office Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Norton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and with Charles as well. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Norton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019

If you want your wife or girlfriend to be called a prostitution by the clerk check in to this motel. Indo not recommended it. I've never felt so angry in my life. The staff at Days Inn Norton are very rude, unprofessional and should not be allowed to deal with guests period!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank figanth1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daysinn13942, Front Office Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Norton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

If this had of occurred you should have ask to speak with the manager. We have a manager here on all shifts. But, after we checked into this further with our staff and Days Inn Corp it was determined you did not stay at this property.You made a reservation with a third party travel agency and attempted to cancel it. It was past cancelation time. So, when you did not show up you was billed for one night stay. We work hard to provide a nice clean room and courteous service. We welcome reviews from guest who have stayed at the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2019

The staff is friendly and helpful. The room on first floor are smoke free and it is nice to see a smoke free hallway. The room are very clean and modern. The management staff is great and helpful. Norton is a quiet place.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Davisp1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daysinn13942, Front Office Manager at Days Inn by Wyndham Norton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

We are happy you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Norton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews