We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Holiday'!”
Review of Zafiro Tropic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Tropic
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Went to the Viva Tropic hotel in october for a week,Fab! I would love to stay here again.The Staff and everyone in the hotel were very friendley and could suit your every need.The rooms were Excellent! Bathroom with a power shower , Double pull out bed ,flat screen tele also had catering facilities like coffee machine,fridge,kettle ect.Even though it was the 'End Of Season' we still had a good time.The pools were amazing especially the over 18's with the kingsize beds to chill and relax.They also had a big Pirate ship for the little ones.If you go self catering there is a Eroski supermarket just a few minutes down the road.We were 5 minutes walk from the beach,Bars and restaraunts.Just round the corner from the hotel was a bar called 'The Brunell Inn' run by John&Em.They made you feel very welcome and the food was fab! The Bar is open till late,would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for Zafiro Tropic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 586 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just returned yesterday - Thursday 27th Oct - it was the 'end of season' but 2 children 2 adults enjoyed good service - good selection of food although I was amazed that we got battered onion rings at breakfast - the 6 year old thought this was brilliant!!!!!
Staff extremely friendly. It would have been good if the pools were a little warmer but overall we enjoyed the holiday and would return. We chose to put the kids in the bedroom and sleep in the lounge - we did this so we could enjoy a drink and TV while the kids slept. The couch beds could have been more comfortable.

Room Tip: We were facing the front of the hotel but it is a side road and was nice and quite
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Booked hotel for a week in October. Chose this hotel as the weather in Mallorca can either be great or bad in October, and as this hotel had indoor heated pool and spa facilities then this was the main reason we booked it.

On arrival the hotel was really nice and clean and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact all staff in the hotel were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The room was very clean and was just as advertised on the website, our request for a nice view and high floor was also met. We went self catering so can not comment on the hotel food. Self catering facilities were basic but average. No oven, just microwave.

Outdoor adult relaxing area was great, although it was situated right next to the kids pool but this was not much of an issue, the music though that is played in the relaxing area is awful, its supposed to be relaxing but sounds like classical music meets midi files.

The most disappointing features of the hotel were the indoor 'heated' pool and the massage jets/jacuzzi facilities. The indoor pool had about 7 massage jets/Jacuzzis but only 2 of them worked!!! the outdoor pool also had these and less than half of them worked. This was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel too! On top of all this the pool was not heated, it was just 'ok'.

All in all, the hotel is only worth 3 stars. The biggest let down were the indoor facilities. Hotel also had a very good gym, better than most hotel gyms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhcd_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Just returned on 15th October . Our forst holiday with a 4 month old and a 2 year old, so a liitle nervous. Location was excellent. Close to the becah ( 5 minute walk) restuareants were on the beachso our toddler played whilst waiting for her dinner and the baby slept. Childrens facilites and staff very helpful, although obviously too young . Parents could stay and join in activities to entertain the little ones. Childrens park included a bouncy castle and trampaline. The Accomadtion ( 1 bedrtoom apartment) was basic but done what we needed. Possibly not the greatest if planning to eat in your apartment every night. The only bad comment i have it that at this time of year the pools were far too cold for either children. Chill out are ( adults only) great if you have the opportunity to use it. Would definately re book to go back .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Viva Tropic during the first week of October. I had booked the Hotel through Travel Republic and got off to a somewhat shaky start when several weeks after making my booking I was told that the hotel was no longer available - even though a member of the reception staff from the Viva Tropic had previously confirmed by room. However I was glad to find that I had a room waiting for me upon arrival. The hotel also left Cava and fruit in the room to apologise for the inconvenience they had caused us, which I thought was a nice touch.

On first glance I wasn't massively impressed with the studio room we had booked - there was an unpleasant lingering smell and the beds were not particularly comfortable. Furthermore we had to sleep on two single beds pushed together, which is not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. However, the smell seemed to fade away over our stay, and the room was very clean and provided us with what we needed. The walk-in shower would have been great, however it frequently overflowed into the bathroom and so having an enjoyable shower was basically impossible. The (free of charge) air conditioning would have been better with a remote control, to avoid having to get up in the middle of the night to turn it off. However, the room was kept beautifully clean by staff and the balcony was bigger than average.

The hotel itself, and surrounding grounds, are really lovely. There is a nice lobby area which leads into a bar, and the main outdoor area which includes the snack bar, 3 pools, and tennis courts. Beautiful flowers and lovely landscaping really made the hotel stand out from other similar places I've stayed in. The 18+ pool complete with beds was one of the main reasons I booked the hotel, and it didn't let us down. We never struggled to find an available bed and it really was a novelty not to be on a plastic sunlounger. We only used the main pool once, as it was often full of children taking part in rep-organised activities. Mini golf and tennis are free of charge, which was really good, although be aware that you have to book the tennis courts before use. We found that food and drinks (particularly cocktails) were slightly cheaper in the hotel than the surrounding Port Area, however the cocktails were not great and did not compare in quality with those available on the beach. We only ate lunch, and the food was fine. Glad to see a couple of vegetarian choices. The staff were *fine*, but did not go out of their way to be friendly. On one occasion we handed our cash to a barman as we were leaving and he threw it down on the table next to him, with no acknowledgement. We didn't see much of the entertainment, but it seems a shame that it starts and finishes so early, as once we had returned from our evening meal we rarely caught more than 10 minutes.

The indoor pool/"spa" was a let down. The pool is supposed to be heated, but was very cold, rendering the jacuzzis slightly pointless. The sauna was not particularly hot at all, and the massage room (very expensive) was closed throughout our stay.

In terms of location, I am SO glad we were near the Port (about a 5 minute walk), and not the AWFUL main strip. On the first night we made the mistake of going to the strip and it is literally just a long line of steakhouses. The port has a beautiful beach and a variety of different restaurants, all of which are fairly reasonably priced.

We were looking for a relaxing, out-of-season break, which is what we got. The hotel is probably not 4* by UK standards, but this is mostly due to the rooms, which are clean and perfectly acceptable, but not exceptional by any stretch of the imagination. I would probably investigate other hotels in the area if I were to return, but I would certainly not be upset if I was asked to return! I wasn't disappointed by the hotel, just not as pleased with it as I had hoped I would be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityRoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
0.6 km away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
772 reviews
1.6 km away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,019 reviews
1.5 km away
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
Sol Alcudia Center Apartamentos
#15 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
0.3 km away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
578 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Tropic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Tropic

Address: C/ Anselm Turmeda, 1, 07400 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Tropic & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#12 Family Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: €60 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Tropic 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zafiro Tropic is located just 200 m. from the stunning beach of Puerto de Alcudia. Its services, facilities, gastronomy and friendly staff will make you have some unforgettable holidays in Mallorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Tropic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Tropic Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Viva Tropic Puerto Alcudia
Viva Tropic Alcudia
Alcudia Viva Tropic
Zafiro Tropic Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing