We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$266
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ona Garden Lago(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Viva Sunrise(Port d'Alcudia)
US$291
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eix Alcudia Hotel(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$187
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sol de Alcudia Apartments(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Seaclub Mediterranean Resort(Port d'Alcudia)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$326
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BQ Delfin Azul Hotel(Port d'Alcudia)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$224
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel JS Sol de Alcudia(Port d'Alcudia)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$242
US$220
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,685)
Filter reviews
1,685 results
Traveller rating
642
617
275
106
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
617
275
106
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffthomson repsaverage ageolder generationshow cookingentertainment roomjersey boyspine treesevening entertainmentpool areaage groupqueuing systembeautiful beachrelaxing holidaythree starentertainment teamtribute acts
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,685 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Nice hotel very nice food great staff but the hotel needs spraying to kill off the swarms of mosquitos got bit in the room ,restuarant , lift, by the pool, in reception,at the bar .rooms need up dating and the rep at the hotel was useless

Room Tip: Get a sea view
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is the second review I have written about the Platja d'Or. I have read some recent reviews which, quite frankly, angered and insulted me. It appears that some people spend hundreds of pounds on a holiday just so they can Whinge about the hotel and it's clientele. How sad is that?
YES, the Platja d'Or does seem to have quite a few 'older' people staying there. Why not? Do the whingers think older people are not entitled to a good holiday? Do they think that after years of struggling, raising families, scraping away some savings, even fighting wars so that the younger generation have the freedom to whinge, Senior Citizens shouldn't be able to enjoy their remaining years? Whingers, GET A LIFE! Your disparaging comments I took personally and was insulted on behalf of all pensioners enjoying the fantastic service this hotel has to offer, I am a young 66 years, by the way.
My wife and I stayed at the Platja d'Or for ten nights in early October 2017. It was our 5th visit, and we found more younger people there this time than ever before. The Hotel caters for all tastes, and is in easy striking distance of the clubs and bars of both Alcudia and Playa de Muro.
Food at the Platja d'Or is amazing. the choice is exemplary, catering for the British palette, there is plenty of choice and their salads are incredibly good, (as are their Beef Liver and Onions, Steak and Guinness pie, Roast Beef and Yorkshire Puds). Restaurant and catering staff are incredible. They do cook some Spanish foods too, Paella is always on the go, as well as Mexican, Indian and Chinese themes.
Bar Staff are worth their weight in Gold. Ignore the queues if there are any, you will not be in it for more than a couple of minutes, the 2 drinks per person at any one time keeps the queues down.
Rooms are clean and compact, excellent happy and cheerful Housekeeping staff go the extra mile, you only need to ask. I haven't heard anything about bedbugs. Mosquitoes, yes, but they are a force of nature, not the Hotels fault. Mossy's occur everywhere in the med, and are not restricted to the star-rating of the hotel.
There are tables in the open air set aside for smokers. Please note the OPEN AIR bit. If you do an impression of a windmill don't sit at the smokers tables, it isn't rocket science, is it? The Hotel tries it's best to cater for everyone, and is successful in my book.
We have already booked for next May, and will hopefully book for October after that, ad infinitum. We love this Hotel and everything about it. We have made some lovely friends here and look forward to seeing them next year, and making more friends. It is the most ideal place for our generation, especially the infirm and disabled. At least they can enjoy a holiday, which they deserve, and the Animation staff, although not always my cup of tea, do at least try to get the old limbs moving and exercised.
Brilliant Hotel, Superb world class staff throughout.

Room Tip: 2 lifts, 4 floors. Sea view good from upper floors on east side. Road side (west) gets sun in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
23  Thank Martyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Just got back from Platja d'or this is the 7th time we have been there and have never been disappointed, The staff are very friendly and the food as excellent as usual, everywhere is spick and span and the rooms may be a little dated, but are clean and comfortable, sometimes I wonder if the people who write the reviews are at the same hotel.
The beach is only across the road and the sea was lovely and warm, if you don't like the cool pool then go in the sea.....its wonderfull .
I have already booked to go back next year, can't wait, lovely location, central to everything and only a bus ride away from the centre.

Stayed: October 2017
6  Thank sparkle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Hotel was on the outskirts of Alcudia easy to get buses into the port where there was more shopping, restaurants and bars. Food was varied and buffet replenished often. Only one bar and a wait for service could do with self service for coffee and soft drinks Plenty of sunbed but due to trees some in shade for part of the day. Rooms cleaned daily Overall a good break.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Hotel

The clientele is all British and mainly older (I would say 55 plus). However, there were adults of all ages staying at the hotel, myself included (being in my thirties).

The hotel is a little dated in parts (mainly the bedrooms which are partly old fashioned brown wood and woodchip walls) & the function room. However the bathrooms are reasonably modern and there is a flatscreen tv on the bedroom wall with a number of English channels and a few Spanish. No tea & coffee facilities but you can hire a kettle. Also have to hire the safe in the wardrobe if you wish to use it.

The beds are quite firm but I found mine comfortable enough. Walls are quite thin so you can sometimes hear your neighbours/the cleaners. The shower in my room was odd as it was over the bath but there was virtually no shower screen so I had to keep it angled to one side. There is a drain on the floor outside the bath so I guess it is intended to be part wetroom.

Hairdryer provided in the bathroom (but the standard, pretty poor hotel type!)

There is also a fridge in the room and air con which can be set to 2 different strengths I think. This was quite sufficient and I had to turn it off a few times because it became too cold in the room! TIP: take a blank credit type card to leave in the slot so that the power stays on in the room. Check it after the cleaners have been in as they tend to lift them up so that the power goes off. Also the air con only works when the balcony doors are closed. Blackout curtain as well as another privacy curtain. Drying rail on the balcony.

Balcony views can be:
- East:towards the sea (& trees) across a quiet residential road
- West:over the pool or garden area facing the main road beyond and hill/mountain
- South:over the bar & function room to the south (single rooms?)
- North:a few overlooking the wasteland/trees to the north

My room was 250 to the south and was pretty noisy at night as it was right over the bar area. However, the noise died down by around 12.30am/1am. Balcony gets the sun all day.

I am told that the rooms over the pool are quiet and pleasant with the afternoon sun but those at the garden end can be quite dim as there are more trees that end.

Lifts are small (can just about fit 4 people) but very regular as there are only 4 floors.
Reception has a toiletries swap basket near the TUI desk, a book swap in the room behind reception, luggage scales available and a room to leave luggage in if needed. Shampoo, shower gel and soap provided in your room when you first arrive (ask at reception if not).

Pool area opens at 8am and you are not meant to put towels out before this (although I wasn’t up in time to find out). Plenty of sunbeds and chairs/tables available when we were there. You need to take your own towels for pool/beach.

Lilos/parasols swap also available (some are left near the pool).

Slightly annoying music playing from speakers near the bar & seemed to get louder around 4pm.

Food

No complaints here. There is a great selection and food is of high quality (although I found some of the meat a little “stringy”). Lots of food out every day so you may notice a few dishes repeated but just choose something else! It was all delicious.

Tea, coffee and hot drinks only available in the dining room at breakfast time but available from the bar from morning until night, as are sandwiches and crisps (10am to 11pm?) In case you haven’t already eaten enough, there are small cakes and biscuits at the bar at 4pm.

Bottles of wine, beer (amstel), juice and soft drinks are available in the dining room (and there was sherry one night). Cocktails, slushies, chocolate milkshake, beer, wine, etc all available at the bar. There is also a water cooler available to fill up plastic cups (but not water bottles). 2 drinks maximum at the bar means that the queue keeps moving even when it is queuing out of the door so you never have to wait too long.

Location

Stunning beach is just across a quiet residential street & through the trees (you can use the gated area with your room key – also a tap to wash off the sand). Sea is warmer than the pool, although the pool is not too cold. Petrol station next to the hotel and supermarket opposite (shuts at 9pm). Short walk to the nearest shops at Playa D’Muro (10 mins?)

Bus stop outside the petrol station on the main road but don’t even bother on market days as all of the buses going into Alcudia are full & don’t stop. Taxi can be ordered from the hotel but can take an hour. We managed to flag a taxi down and it cost around 5 euros to get to Alcudia.

Alcudia has a number of lakes, canals and greenery so it is prone to mosquitos (watch out for this in the hotel gardens). I was bitten a few times while there but not badly.

Entertainment

Daytime activities ran from 10.30am to around 3pm and included French boules, killer darts, snooker & pool, table tennis, cornhole/baggo, shuffleboard, quiz, stretching/exercise. No pressure to join in. Entertainment team were good fun while we were there (Pepino (think “118 man”) and Isy).

Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss: every other night there is an external act (Souled on Mowtown, comedian, spoof Broadway show, Jersey Boys, Priscillas, etc) with a short quiz beforehand. Main act starts 9.30pm for around an hour/hour and a half followed by a lacklustre “disco”. The in-house entertainment is yet another (slightly longer) quiz or karaoke on Fridays. Some people cheat by using mobile phones which makes it a bit pointless and you may recognise some of the questions by the end of the first week!

Would I go back?

Absolutely! It may be a little dated but I found the staff and guests were all very friendly and I had a fantastic holiday. As others have said, you get what you pay for so don’t expect 5 star luxury but I would rate it as better than a budget hotel. I think the price reflects this. I believe it is good value for all inclusive.

Room Tip: See review + higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank UKJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews