We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Relaxing Wonderful Holiday”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This is our 4th visit in 3 years I think that shows how much we enjoy this idyllic spot.
Fantastic staff cleanliness and one of the best beaches in the world make this an experience we enjoy repeating. Food always plentiful and good quality, but this visit menu was a little more adventurous than previous visits, but still very enjoyable. Adult only status at this hotel is also a massive bonus for us we love our grandchildren but it's nice to get away sometimes. Will probably return next September but not planned as yet.

Room Tip: If you like Sun on the balcony in the afternoon choose Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Nice hotel very nice food great staff but the hotel needs spraying to kill off the swarms of mosquitos got bit in the room ,restuarant , lift, by the pool, in reception,at the bar .rooms need up dating and the rep at the hotel was useless

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is the second review I have written about the Platja d'Or. I have read some recent reviews which, quite frankly, angered and insulted me. It appears that some people spend hundreds of pounds on a holiday just so they can Whinge about the hotel and it's clientele. How sad is that?
YES, the Platja d'Or does seem to have quite a few 'older' people staying there. Why not? Do the whingers think older people are not entitled to a good holiday? Do they think that after years of struggling, raising families, scraping away some savings, even fighting wars so that the younger generation have the freedom to whinge, Senior Citizens shouldn't be able to enjoy their remaining years? Whingers, GET A LIFE! Your disparaging comments I took personally and was insulted on behalf of all pensioners enjoying the fantastic service this hotel has to offer, I am a young 66 years, by the way.
My wife and I stayed at the Platja d'Or for ten nights in early October 2017. It was our 5th visit, and we found more younger people there this time than ever before. The Hotel caters for all tastes, and is in easy striking distance of the clubs and bars of both Alcudia and Playa de Muro.
Food at the Platja d'Or is amazing. the choice is exemplary, catering for the British palette, there is plenty of choice and their salads are incredibly good, (as are their Beef Liver and Onions, Steak and Guinness pie, Roast Beef and Yorkshire Puds). Restaurant and catering staff are incredible. They do cook some Spanish foods too, Paella is always on the go, as well as Mexican, Indian and Chinese themes.
Bar Staff are worth their weight in Gold. Ignore the queues if there are any, you will not be in it for more than a couple of minutes, the 2 drinks per person at any one time keeps the queues down.
Rooms are clean and compact, excellent happy and cheerful Housekeeping staff go the extra mile, you only need to ask. I haven't heard anything about bedbugs. Mosquitoes, yes, but they are a force of nature, not the Hotels fault. Mossy's occur everywhere in the med, and are not restricted to the star-rating of the hotel.
There are tables in the open air set aside for smokers. Please note the OPEN AIR bit. If you do an impression of a windmill don't sit at the smokers tables, it isn't rocket science, is it? The Hotel tries it's best to cater for everyone, and is successful in my book.
We have already booked for next May, and will hopefully book for October after that, ad infinitum. We love this Hotel and everything about it. We have made some lovely friends here and look forward to seeing them next year, and making more friends. It is the most ideal place for our generation, especially the infirm and disabled. At least they can enjoy a holiday, which they deserve, and the Animation staff, although not always my cup of tea, do at least try to get the old limbs moving and exercised.
Brilliant Hotel, Superb world class staff throughout.

Room Tip: 2 lifts, 4 floors. Sea view good from upper floors on east side. Road side (west) gets sun in the af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Martyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Just got back from Platja d'or this is the 7th time we have been there and have never been disappointed, The staff are very friendly and the food as excellent as usual, everywhere is spick and span and the rooms may be a little dated, but are clean and comfortable, sometimes I wonder if the people who write the reviews are at the same hotel.
The beach is only across the road and the sea was lovely and warm, if you don't like the cool pool then go in the sea.....its wonderfull .
I have already booked to go back next year, can't wait, lovely location, central to everything and only a bus ride away from the centre.

Stayed: October 2017
5  Thank sparkle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Hotel was on the outskirts of Alcudia easy to get buses into the port where there was more shopping, restaurants and bars. Food was varied and buffet replenished often. Only one bar and a wait for service could do with self service for coffee and soft drinks Plenty of sunbed but due to trees some in shade for part of the day. Rooms cleaned daily Overall a good break.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.3 km away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
60 km away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,157 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,472 reviews
1.6 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
1.9 km away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#26 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing