We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platja D'Or”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just returned from this hotel. All I can say is that we had a brilliant holiday and most of this was due to the Platja D'or and its staff. Check in excellent , must be the quickest on record. Rooms spotless and cleaned every day , bar service like lighting and full pints as well.

Food excellent and special thanks to Carlos the Chef who made it extra special for my wife who has coelic and cooked special gluten free dishes for her.Also thanks to Rafael the Head Waiter who was extra attentive and went out of his way to obtain gluten free products.

Reception girls really great and helpful at all times.

Beach to die for and sea dead warm and swimming pool much warmer than expected.No problem with sun loungers by pool and have never reserved them in my life.

Quite a mixed age group really ( we are late 50s/early 60s ) and this was great and we will definitely go back.

John and Christina from Poynton,Cheshire

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnVermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,173 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just got back from the Platja d'Or and once again it was fantastic all be it that there were people moaning about the food, heat, entertainment, and not being able to get more than two drinks at a time,What do these people expect from 3*? but NOT ME I loved every moment. The bar staff were as usual on top form, the rooms were kept spotless and the food was really good always something to eat. The pool area was clean with plenty of beds (not so many umbrellas) but that’s the norm, we meet some fantastic people (yam yams) and had such a great laugh, it was one of those holidays you didn’t want to end. Can’t wait to go back...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peter179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

went back for the 2nd time in 2 years, great hotel! food A1 try the apple crumble... best ive ever had, no lie! weather hot, sea warm, beach lush. rooms well cleaned, tidy and staff friendly. Come on , what more do you want ...go, you wont regret it, ps. cant beat the ice cold Migs from the fridge at lunch time.

Room Tip: get a pool side room, you get the late sun and its quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hayleymercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and I would say, in my opinion this is a good 3 star, but not a 4 star hotel , having said that we had a lovely time and would return. Transfer time was about 45mins, and reception staff were very efficient and friendly when we arrived. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool, so we had the sun from late afternoon. As mentioned in previous reviews, this is the quieter side as on the front side, a house opposite has 2 Alsation dogs which are continuously barking
The room was quite small, but adequate, and I think the dark furnishings added to the small appearance. There were no complimentary toiletries, but this wasn't an issue as we always take our own. The position of the toilet, was not ideal, and seemed to be in a very cramped space. Room was always kept very clean by the maids
The food in the restaurant was always very tasty, and catered for British,although there wasn't a lot of choice. I would have liked to have seen a bigger range of salads and desserts. It suited my partner fine, as he is not very adventurous with food, but I must say the steak & kidney,and steak and ale pies were delicious. Also one day we had roast beef, roast potatoes and yorkshire puds, and the beef melted in your mouth
The pool area did not open until 8.00am, and you had the usual rush for the sunbeds. We always managed to get a sunbed, but parasols were sometimes a little short. The weather when we were there was fabulous and in the 90s. people mentioned that the pool was cold, but we did not find this
Entertainment in the nights was a bit hit and miss, although the 3 professional acts we seen were all good. As mentioned service at the bar is very quick. The entertainment room reminded us of a storage room, although it was a nice size, we couldn't understand why it hadn't been painted. It was bare concrete and looked awful against the whiteness of the hotel building. Jade and Ryan, the entertainment team, didn't really seem to have much idea of what they were doing
The beach is only across the road, through some trees, and what a fabulous beach it is. The water was so warm, and there are loads of fish which you can feed, with bread from the hotel
All the people in the hotel were very friendly, we met some lovely people, and it was nice not to have any children around
I would return as we enjoyed a lovely peaceful week

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After spending a week in the Platjador i must say that most of the good reviews were correct, it was spotless, the food was good,the staff were great be with and very helpful,but above all the beach was to die for,pure white sand about 100 metres from the hotel and you could wade out at least another 150 metres before it began to get deep, (Good for the kids).
There were quite a few older people staying in the hotel but what the heck i celebrated my 55th birthday why i was there so i guess it makes me one of the oldies.Had a great boat trip for my birthday from alcudia port which again was super.All in all a great holiday and and i will return if only for the beach.

Room Tip: one that over looks the pool, you get sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryKenMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.3 km away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
60 km away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,157 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,472 reviews
1.6 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
1.9 km away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#26 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing