We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brenda - Alan”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Having just returned from our second trip to the Platja d'Or can say we enjoyed it as much this year as last. Congraturlations to the new chef and his team for the much improved food.
Thanks to the wonderful Bar staff who smile all the time and should be in the guiness book of records for serving so fast (I will miss my tinnie weenies) The reception staff could have not done any more for us. As for James and Jade the entertainment team they work very hard to get people to join in the games (not an easy task) and the evening entertainment was very good. There were many comments about the thomson reps being unhelpful but those reps have been replaced by Ben & Jodie who are always willing to help and are both very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,254 - 1,258 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have just returned from a lovely week at the pladja dor. Clean, friendly staff, nice size rooms, great location. Food was plentiful and varied but could have been hotter. Not enough sunbeds around the garden area near the pool which is a shame as there was enough space for more and the hotel definately needs more sunbeds as there were not enough to go round. The only thing that would make me think twice about going back to this hotel is the beds, it was like sleeping on floorboards. When i read the reviews before i went i thought people were just being picky about the beds. God were they hard. We really had difficulty sleeping. Such a shame as it really is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: facing front of hotel is nice as you can see the sea through the trees and it is fairly quiet. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jarobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel Platja d’Or

Just to deal with a few of the grumbles you may have heard from other reviews.

The towels on the sun beds – well for those people who complain about not being able to get a bed, and “saddoes queing”, I respectfully say - if you snooze, you loose. Why should other guests wait until the special ones decide to grace us with their presence?

This said – the management will stop anyone from reserving sun beds up to 8am. They insist that the cleaners complete their rounds before anyone is allowed around the pool.
8am is very late if you compare it against other hotels. After all, people are there to get the sun and a tan – and not be in bed. In addition to that – even though we were there mid August, on most days beds were still available after 9am.

We thought the rooms were great, not bland. Clean, tastefully decorated with warm colours and, for once, quiet air conditioning. The bathrooms, with bath and hair dryer, and a powerful shower, had a marble finish and were immaculate.

Regarding keeping the air conditioning on, to keep the room cool when you’re out, just ask for a second key card – and they were happy to oblige.

The perfect place to unwind, average age of guests above 35. Great professional entertainment, every other day. Not so great entertainment on the other nights. The ever present Thomson Reps and hotel staff were always willing to help. Yes, Jodie and James even smiled at the airport.

Two minor complaints – pool toilets a no-go area, and……the hot water, for the tea and coffee machines in the restaurant, wasn’t hot.

If you wish to see the hotel and beach for yourself – I have uploaded 2 videos on utube. Just copy and paste the links below: Enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/user/dvdmemories100#p/a/u/0/vlpXjSz5tuE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPFp3va9S7Q

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just returned from a week at the Platja d'Or & can honestly say we had the best week ever. The hotel is lovely, staff very friendly and accommodating, food excellent, entertainment brilliant, beach just across the road, room cleaned everyday with fresh towels.

Room Tip: Get an East facing room if possible then your room won't be so hot & not as noisy overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina777Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

had a great time good food and plenty of it. staff friendly and helpful. fantastic beach over road.wish they did beach towels and toiletries in room. will definately visit again.rooms cleaned every day also clean fresh towels cant wait til next year

Room Tip: we like the seaside view we were on 2nd floor but 4th fl would have a great view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gillian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.3 km away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
60 km away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
2,157 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,472 reviews
1.6 km away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
1.9 km away
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
Apartamentos Ferrer Tamarindos
#26 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing