We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,787)
Filter reviews
1,787 results
Traveller rating
683
658
285
112
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
658
285
112
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar staff thomson reps average age older generation show cooking pool area entertainment room jersey boys pine trees evening entertainment beautiful beach age group queuing system relaxing holiday drawer space entertainment team tribute acts
Filter
Updating list...
1,426 - 1,431 of 1,787 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have just returned from a lovely week at the pladja dor. Clean, friendly staff, nice size rooms, great location. Food was plentiful and varied but could have been hotter. Not enough sunbeds around the garden area near the pool which is a shame as there was enough space for more and the hotel definately needs more sunbeds as there were not enough to go round. The only thing that would make me think twice about going back to this hotel is the beds, it was like sleeping on floorboards. When i read the reviews before i went i thought people were just being picky about the beds. God were they hard. We really had difficulty sleeping. Such a shame as it really is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: facing front of hotel is nice as you can see the sea through the trees and it is fairly quiet. The rooms at the back have a busy road behind.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jarobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel Platja d’Or

Just to deal with a few of the grumbles you may have heard from other reviews.

The towels on the sun beds – well for those people who complain about not being able to get a bed, and “saddoes queing”, I respectfully say - if you snooze, you loose. Why should other guests wait until the special ones decide to grace us with their presence?

This said – the management will stop anyone from reserving sun beds up to 8am. They insist that the cleaners complete their rounds before anyone is allowed around the pool.
8am is very late if you compare it against other hotels. After all, people are there to get the sun and a tan – and not be in bed. In addition to that – even though we were there mid August, on most days beds were still available after 9am.

We thought the rooms were great, not bland. Clean, tastefully decorated with warm colours and, for once, quiet air conditioning. The bathrooms, with bath and hair dryer, and a powerful shower, had a marble finish and were immaculate.

Regarding keeping the air conditioning on, to keep the room cool when you’re out, just ask for a second key card – and they were happy to oblige.

The perfect place to unwind, average age of guests above 35. Great professional entertainment, every other day. Not so great entertainment on the other nights. The ever present Thomson Reps and hotel staff were always willing to help. Yes, Jodie and James even smiled at the airport.

Two minor complaints – pool toilets a no-go area, and……the hot water, for the tea and coffee machines in the restaurant, wasn’t hot.

If you wish to see the hotel and beach for yourself – I have uploaded 2 videos on utube. Just copy and paste the links below: Enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/user/dvdmemories100#p/a/u/0/vlpXjSz5tuE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPFp3va9S7Q

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just returned from a week at the Platja d'Or & can honestly say we had the best week ever. The hotel is lovely, staff very friendly and accommodating, food excellent, entertainment brilliant, beach just across the road, room cleaned everyday with fresh towels.

Room Tip: Get an East facing room if possible then your room won't be so hot & not as noisy overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina777Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

had a great time good food and plenty of it. staff friendly and helpful. fantastic beach over road.wish they did beach towels and toiletries in room. will definately visit again.rooms cleaned every day also clean fresh towels cant wait til next year

Room Tip: we like the seaside view we were on 2nd floor but 4th fl would have a great view of sea
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gillian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a 3 star hotel despite the fact that Thomson give it 4T. If you wish a 5 star holiday then PAY FOR A 5 STAR HOTEL!!!!! The food although repeated every week is good, nourishing and reasonably varied. The staff are amazing! We must particularly thank Paco, Pedro, David and everyone else who provided service in either the bar or the restauraunt. I have seen reviews where the bar service was slated, this is absolute rubbish as when we were there last week the hotel was 100% full and the only problem was when the nightly entertainment hit a break. Even then Paco & Pedro worked their socks off to make certain that everyone was happy. We shall definately be back next year and we look forward to meeting all the staff again. , Brian(Santa- Baileys) and his little helper Kath(Campari with lots and lots of soda).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank klbroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews