We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and very good menu del dia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Gallega

La Casa Gallega
Ranked #47 of 205 Restaurants in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Galician restaurant specializing in products, meats, fish of the day. Daily menu and tapas to enjoy with company.Restaurante especializado en productos gallegos, carnes, pescados del día. Menú diario y tapas para disfrutar en compañía.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value and very good menu del dia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have been here before and it has never disappointed. It is excellent value and the service and quality, especially at the price, take some beating. Even though it is in the middle of a holiday town it is open most of the year and is always busy with locals and foreigners. Our meal for two was 23,80€ which included bread, olives, alioli, one coffee more wine than we could drink and water, see the attached photo for the menu of the day that we went. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterinengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    95
    26
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selva
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Went to this restaurant just after Christmas the food was really very good ;portions were large so some plates could have been shared but thats not a complaint 'you can make a meal out of the tapas dishes . We had the Octopus which was served with thinly sliced potatoes paprika , rock salt and olive oil, really good , we also had fried padron pappers, salt cod croquettes, very good ham and garlic prawns , the main courses were also excellent. we had a few bottles of Albarino , friendly service and good value for money
A restaurant well worth visiting

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

This restaurant not only is a very elegant venue, but they also serve excellent food.

We tried different tapas and except the "bruschetta-style" bread with tomatoes and cheese whicht was completely burnt on one side - all the other food was excellent, presented in a mouth-watering way and really tasty.

In his dessert, my boyfriend however found a splinter of glass. Fortunately he realised before swallowing it. When we told the waiter we actually expected he's offer something such as a free drink or something but he merely apologised.

These are things that can happen. All in all it's a place which is highly recommendable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank always-on-holiday201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“Hooray. I get to be first! This place is fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

The food is so tasty and so well presented.
There are usually some set meals to be had for around 15 euros with starter, entree, dessert and wine; they are usually advertized on a board outside and offer the best value; suckling pig is always a winner as is lamb.

However the tapas are also excellent; big fan of the croquetas. The food is so fresh tasting and you can see the chef cooking in the kitchen

Dinner usually comes with a table wine from the mainland. Great to ask for a bottle of "gaseosa"; like English lemonade to mix with the red wine. The beer is local and also hits the right spot. Grab some cheap bread and alioli as a starter. May have to ask for it. It is really cheap and usually comes with some olives too.

There is seating outside but inside is more delightful. In the front of the restaurant , in the bar area is usaually where I have sat; but there is also a room at the back; which has all spanish sayings and stuff written on the wall in chalk. It's unusual but it works. the lighting is atmospheric and there are plenty of locals, as well as tourists, which is a positive sign. Many just come in for a drink too on the way from (or to!!) work.

Most times I have been in there, and I always make a point of going there once per trip service has been great; but it can also be different.

Out of season this is one of the few places to remain open too.

My favourite restaurant in Alcudia. One of my favourites. Full stop. Hearty, healthy, tasty food at a not too crazy price.'

The restuarant is affiliated with two really expensive palces in Aucanada (to the northeast of the port; past the closed down power plant). This was much more affordable.

Just a block from the port and the start of the beach. The location is actually quite unassuming but the restaurant is great.

Bon appetit!

  • Visited September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Gallega also viewed

Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 

Been to La Casa Gallega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing