We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical evening”
Review of La Gritta

La Gritta
Reserve with
La Gritta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Peguera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$42
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Gritta - Cala Fornells is a terrace overlooking the sea located in Paguera, Mallorca. A restaurant where you can enjoy a Mediterranean experience.
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Warm welcome, great table, stunning views, attentive service, beautiful wine, delicious food...what more can I say?

Thank johnofpaguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018

Had dinner here for 4 last week. We booked and were welcomed by a pleasant MD and shown to a lovely table. The views are stunning but unfortunately that's where it ends. The menu was fine, but the actual food did not deliver. Starter was okay, but the paella we ordered was overcooked, the duck was overcooked and tasteless and the order was not taken correctly and we missed out on a portion of chips which they they added to the bill. The desserts from the trolley were quite nice but overall the main thing here is the lovely view - the food is not memorable. If you want a real fine dining experience, I would recommend Campino up the road in Camp de Mar.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu L, Gerente at La Gritta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

I'm sorry your visit wasn't what you expected. We have made some changes that help us to improve our service. I would be grateful if you would give us a chance again to show you that we are in a process of rapid improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

This was supposed to be a celebration evening but unfortunately the restaurant did not deliver! We booked the VIP table ( fabulous views) but were told it was not available even though it remained empty for 2 hours of our meal!!! We also got the impression that the staff were not that bothered and gave us possible the table with the worst view! Food ok but ... nicer restaurants to visit!

1  Thank KateGuntenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu L, Gerente at La Gritta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018
Google Translation

Es tut mir sehr leid, dass Ihr Besuch in unserem Restaurant nicht zufriedenstellend war.
Ich denke, es kommt alles darauf an, keinen Front Tisch zu haben. In dieser Jahreszeit haben wir jeden Tag viele Reservierungen und wir geben die besten Tische, je nachdem, wie wir die Reservierungen erhalten, und wir müssen Sie respektieren. Wenn einige Kunden nicht erscheinen, nachdem Sie die Tabelle gebucht haben, ist der Haupt Behinderte uns. Ich lade Sie ein, Ihren Tisch bei der nächsten Gelegenheit früher zu reservieren und ihre Vorlieben mitzuteilen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Having been a regular customer of La Gritta for a number of years it is quite upsetting that we feel we cannot return with the current manager in charge. Having visited this restaurant seven times since mid May you would have thought he could at least firstly recognise us and then show some courtesy and attention. Not even to check if all is ok. Whilst the menu was long overdue for a revamp the new menu does not justify the price as the quality of food is not good enough. Little choice of seafood on the main menu unless you share. The sole, turbot and John Dory have been removed. ( the restaurant is only 4 km from the fish market in Andratx). The meat is no longer bought locally and not of the same quality.
We feel sorry for the staff, Thomas, Winston, the two Carlos,s and Tony who we cannot fault. They have always given the best attention. Why does the new manager, Alberto, think he can dress more casually than the waiters, jeans and trainers are not acceptable. Change and modernisation shouldj not mean lower standards. AND the previously exceptional dessert trolley is much reduced!
If you enjoy fish then I suggest you go elsewhere.

1  Thank travellerstalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu L, Gerente at La Gritta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

We are very sad to lose a loyal customer, but we know that in the life of a restaurant customers come and go.
In the menu of the restaurant does not figure a lot of fish as we have a showcase where we expose the best product of the market not forcing to tie us to a menu and giving more options to our regular customers. We have served grouper, Croaker, Denton, Serbian, Scorpion... In addition to the usual turbots, gilthead bream, sole, red prawn, turbot, clams, knives... In the photos you can see some of the showcase well filled with the best fruits of the sea.
With regard to meat, we serve the Girona veal and Lamb from Segovia, the best national qualities.
That our quality does not justify the price is a totally subjective opinion.
All the changes made have been agreed with the kitchen teams and waiters, and we all believe that we are going in the right direction, although all constructive criticisms will make us make modifications to find the best experience of the customer.
Alberto, our Maitre d ', is a very professional person who has worked in the best restaurants of Majorca even in restaurants with Michelin stars.
The dessert trolley usually has no more variety for lack of space.
Under our point of view the welcome of the changes made is being very good views the extraordinary reviews received since mid-March when we took charge of the wonderful restaurant.
We hope that someday you will decide to continue enjoying one of the most beautiful places in the Mediterranean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I would recommend going here for the lovely view while eating, but was not over impressed with our meal.

Thank LynnieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gritta also viewed

 
Peguera, Calvia
Peguera, Calvia
 

Been to La Gritta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing