We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveller rating
266
350
193
64
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
350
193
64
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubmain poolkids poolbranded drinksbar staffjack danielslarge flat screen tvdeep poolexercise classespool areapastaentertainment teamearly in the seasonall inclusivesshort cutlovely beachmin walk from the beach
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 924 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

stayed here the first week in may on arrival we were quickly checked in the room was spotless with views of the sea as with all melia hotels i have stayed in towels and bedding was changed daily the breakfast was great real sausages and hot the staff were overall very friendly especially the older two gentlemen on the reception desk wont hesitate to come back thank you for a lovely stay mark and michelle

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank Gleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuelVillamil, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Barbados by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Gleave,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to review your last holidays. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to hear such nice words about our facilities and staff.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We looked around at a few hotels for a weekend away for our sons birthday. This hotel seems to meet what we wanted. On arriving the hotel was clean. Check in seemed to take a extremely long time. hotels rooms were clean and modern. We got ready and headed to the pool area with two excited kids.Only to open the door to find the hole of the kids area fenced off. At no point was any of this mentioned before booking. The hotel staff said it was opening the following week saying that it wasn't peek season. We were not the only ones as the hotel was full of families. If it had just been advertised we would have booked a different hotel

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuelVillamil, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Barbados by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Der Christopher C,

Thank you so much for reviewing your holidays at Sol Barbados is the better way to keep improving in our services at facilities.
Regarding your comment about the children pool, we already inform through our official website, that it would be open during the month of may, depending of the meteorological conditions and the occupation. We feel frustrated if this made feel you disappointed.
We hope you will give us the chance to improve your last experience in a next visit with all our facilities available to enjoy. Our apologies again for all the inconveniences.

Kind regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I stayed with my husband early June. The hotel itself was very clean and tidy. We stayed on the 10th floor which had wonderful views of the sea, but sometimes you struggled to get the lift. We stayed Bed and breakfast but only ate there once as we didn't like the food at all and the queues for fresh omelete etc were too long. There were two downsides to the hotel at the time we stayed, 1 was it was over run with families with small loud children, and two the sunbeds near the main pools need to be thrown away and replaced as they are awfully saggy! We paid to lie on the beach in the end. So all in all, great for families but maybe not so good for couples wanting a break from kids.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank johnsonh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuelVillamil, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Barbados by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear johnsonh59,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations and for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in our hotel.

Meliá Hotels International operates several brands specialized in vacational tourism as Meliá, Gran Meliá, ME, Paradisus y Sol Hoteles, everyone with its own attributes and designed with the objective of offering the appropriate product for your expectations to meet the needs of our customers. In our case, Sol Barbados is oriented as Holiday markers family recommended, but we try that everyone feels comfortable, independently, they are families, couples or group of friends.

We feel disappointed by not fulfilling all of your expectations. Our aim is day by day get our guests completely satisfied and throughout this review we will make sure to work harder to improve.

We hope that we will get the chance to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Until then, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We are currently staying here and I would like to say the animation team and kids entertainment team is first class, the fantasia show tonight was brilliant, the staff are so friendly with the children and go out of their way to interact, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, my twin daughters aged 4 have had the time of their lives and loved every minute of our time here, amazing staff the manager of the hotel should be very proud of his team x

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuelVillamil, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Barbados by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Kelly,

We cannot thank you enough for such a lovely comment and review you made of our entertainment team.

We all should be proud of counting with such a wonderful entertainment team, which will feel specially happy. I made this comment come to them, and we really hope to see you again in order to say thank you very much in person.

Get our best regards and enjoy very much your stay with us.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Last day in this hotel after spending a week with the family and here is my honest review.

The hotel has two pool areas for children. The hotel has a kids club 2x a day. The hotel is in a good location not far room the town and 20 mins away from the airport. The rooms were clean and quite cleaning hygienic standards are at its best. Most of the staff are really friendly and polite and made a great effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They go extra mile to make sure you having fun to the max, The staff that looks after the kids make the holiday extra special and a lot of fun for the children without them the hotel would not be the same. Plus it gives parents a time to relax by the pool or at the bar, The evening entertainment was exceptional with different shows each night for kids and adults with some extra games to end the night. Very sad to be leaving tomorrow but already looking to come back in no time. Hotel has its on way to the beach which literally take less then a min, 2 super markets right outside the hotel. Like you can’t go wrong. I have nothing negative or bad to say.

Massive thanks to entertainment team.
Lorena, Tere, Juanca, Pablo, Celia, Pablito, Edgar, Joni, Cara, Gillie, Klaudia, Marco. Apologise for missing some of the guys names.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank 612fahadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuelVillamil, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Barbados by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear guest,

It's more than an honor for all of us to read such a great reviews like yours. Specially glad to realize that you wrote that befire leaving which is quite beautiful.

I'll make come all of your nice comments to all the people implicated which will make all of them to feel proud and happy for that.


Remember that we will keep at your complete disposal for you on the future.


Our best regards from the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews