We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Can Pastilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Lasted 3 days in this hell hole, our double room was on the 4th floor facing the 'Airport' it felt like we were in the departure lounge, horrendous noise, flights, road works and the on going construction work of the hotels additional 5th and 6th floors
If you do stay here make 100% sure you get a room facing the Sea
The hotels construction work is happening all day, drilling, painting, building work and glass balcony panels being installed on these upper levels right above the pool area, unbelievably dangerous, the first balcony glass on the 6th floor after being shuffled and struggled into place ended up cracked, the glass balustrades around the pool area have been cracked already, very bad installation design without adequate support, maybe look nice but won't last
Shocking lack of safety no matter what level of safety you're used to !
The food in the restaurant was very good ****
We managed to get a full refund for our 8 remaining nights and found ourselves a safer, quieter hotel
as said by others no air con, this seems to be a greedy Mallorcan policy now, don't use the air con until June, our room was a furnace with no air flow - Room 418 RIP
The modernisation of the hotel with sealed in glass corridors has made the upper areas like a greenhouse
The staff are well versed in the complaints dept, they are expert at trying to fob you off, you actually feel sorry for them trying to cover up for the Hotel groups greed, the hotel should have been closed or the ongoing construction work halted until the winter months
Mallorca / Majorca has become a dreadful holiday location, with over 30 odd years experience of visiting most areas, the large beach locations are a no go unless you want to be pestered every 2 - 3 mins with ''looky looky'' men, girls offering massages, hair beading, restaurant, cafe & bar touts constantly in your face

Room Tip: Must be a sea view or you'll feel as though you're living on the airport runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank s7hom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

The hotel has friendly staff, the food was plentiful and good, the environment was good. Ideal for a cycling holiday.

But..... Because of Construction Work the Air Conditioning did not work, the WiFi is available only in the Lobby. Surely WiFi is an easy problem to solve with the use of transponders? If they charged every guest one extra Euro they would pay their costs.

It will be good when the construction work is finished.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pdlake2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Did stay at this hotel during a cycling training camp I Marc. This was the first week of the season for the hotel, and it was far from ready to open.

When checking in, the room was not available but were supposed to be ready in some hours - and management promised to call us. Management did never call (or answer the phone) four hours later we were back waiting in the reception to get our room. When we finally did get the room, it hadn't been cleaned since construction work started. When we did turn on the air conditioning- visibility was gone and it was not possible to see one meter in front of us. Hot water was also missing.

After an argument with staff about how to solve the issue (they had no idea on what to do) they did agree to move us to another hotel until next morning.

Back at the hotel the next day we got a room, this time without a shower head (this got fixed after two hours), and stayed for the rest of the week.

The hotel was still undergoing construction work during the whole week we were there; this included fixing the outside pool (could not be used during our stay), building a new outdoor bar, painting the outside extension of the hotel and finishing the new rooms. The workers did however try there best to ensure that the whole area did not end up as the inside of a regular dust sucker - so cleaning was done every day. One of the days part of the glass roof (100 kg falling from six meters) did hit the lobby center - but no one got hurt or died:)

Since we were not at the hotel to spend our days in the pool or close to the hotel - it worked out okay for us. Would guess that people who did plan on doing that quickly tried to escape the area and find another hotel.

The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good, and service in the restaurant was also according to expectations.

To sum it up - the hotel could have done a much better job by informing that the stay would be like camping on a construction site before arrival - or at least have apologized for the situation and offered some compensation (discount, free food, free beer or whatever).

Considering going back next year (hope construction is done by that time) for another cycling week - based on the food and location of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Kristian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Right now as I write this, I am staying at this hotel. There is no aircondition working at this hotel, and there is Wi-Fi only in the lobby. So, in addition to location, we chose this hotel because of Wi-Fi in the rooms(doing some work) and because it claimed to have aircondition.

There will be no Wi-Fi in the rooms for 2 or 3 months from now they said.

Upon arrival 2 days ago we also did not get the room we had booked, they would compensate for this with a free dinner, and we said ok to this.

I can see that this hotel are getting great reviews from many earlier guests, but right now it is not our experience that they really tries to fulfil our expectations.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Reidarsni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We came back yesterday from a relaxing week away. Weather was good for the most part and the hotel was pretty much as expected. We opted for self catering and we enjoyed a pleasant apartment with a sea view. As others have mentioned there is building work being undertaken creating two more floors to the top of the building. We did experience some noise during the week and on arrival the front of the hotel did look like a building site, which did throw us a bit, but in general the hotel was good. Our apartment could do with updating - there were a few maintenance issues and it is starting to show its age. Minimum utensils are provided and there was no kettle, so teas and coffee had to be made using the saucepan!
The location is great - very close to the airport but with no aeroplane noise ( perhaps the building work distracted us?..)

Wifi- we were on floor 4 and it appears that there is currently no wifi there. Not sure how long that has been going on for, but there appeared to be no speedy reconnection. Because of this, the lounge area was full of people on their phones every morning.

Easy access to Palma by bus but beware of extremely full buses in the morning and a lot of pushing and shoving! Palma is well worth a visit and we also travelled by train from Palma to Inca for the market which was an enjoyable day out and got us off the sun beds.
In general eating out and food shopping is not cheap - it would definitely have been more economical to go half board, but at least we could suit ourselves and choose where and when we ate.

Another thing to note is that Can Pastilla appears to be a German resort, with a plethora of German biking clubs and many German restaurants and food in the supermarkets. It was five days before we heard anyone else speaking English. Palma seems a bit more multi national.

All in all a pleasant week away. The staff were nice and reception helpful. Because of the ease of getting to and from the airport and also to Palma town centre, I can certainly recommend this aparthotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Pastilla
0.2 km away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
970 reviews
1.4 km away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
388 reviews
1.1 km away
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
BQ Aguamarina Boutique Hotel
#1 of 24 in Can Pastilla
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
990 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Roc Leo
Hotel Roc Leo
#11 of 24 in Can Pastilla
91 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Java
Hotel Java
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa

Address: Calle Caravel.La S/N, 07610 Can Pastilla, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Can Pastilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Can Pastilla
#5 Spa Hotel in Can Pastilla
#7 Romantic Hotel in Can Pastilla
#8 Luxury Hotel in Can Pastilla
Price Range: €41 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa Hotel Playa De Palma
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa De Palma
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa Majorca/Can Pastilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing