We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveller rating
749
245
79
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
245
79
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red level royal suite private beach bali beds pool service nespresso machine puerto portals a short taxi ride five star hotel sea view small cove palma bay infinity pool wonderful hotel peace and quiet hotel grounds relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We have stayed 3 nights at the Grand Melia and we loved the room, the view was from the first floor not the best but we got a nice one.... Service is very good with the pool concierge.. check in was taking 20 minutes, valet parking was good but service in the restaurants was not good so we decided to have all our feels outside the hotel.
great place to make relaxed vacations we will go back again, just the service must be more improved... Hotel management seems so arrogant that they even not replays a hello... but is Spanish i guess... wich is sad...

Room Tip: high floor and be aware of the rooms in first floor on top of the restaurant, not good!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear AndyRandy,

Thank you for placing your comments regarding your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We are glad to know that you loved the room and you have spent relaxing holidays in Gran Meliá de Mar. As a Leading Hotel of the World, we invest our best efforts to improve daily the customer satisfaction creating unforgettable experiences.

We invite you to welcome back soon to show you the truly quality service and the high quality standards that we follow.

Best Regards,

Juan Calvo Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

There are not many other words other than perfect! Any other reviews stating this must be expecting something that is not even possible! We were moved to this hotel due to the one we were staying in hadn't been built, at the time I was so annoyed.. until we arrived at gran Melia.
This hotel is clean, luxury, and the setting is absolutely out of this world. We had the privilege of the royal suite which is you have it... get it! The room was huge, two showers , an impressive bath big enough for two people! Two toilets, lounge bed , separate bedroom, two tv's a different treat every day, wine, fruit, macaroons and more!
We had the red level card too which you get extra privileges such as a lounge with free snacks and drinks all day 24 hours . In the red lounge there are the best hosts that you could find... two by the names of martha, tall Martha and small Martha both lovely, but tall Martha was our favourite member of staff and that was hard as they are all lovely, she is a credit to the hotel with an excellent sense of humour and a genuinely lovely person, we were sad to say goodbye to her. Pablo on the pool was also good fun! Always attentive. The restaurants all serve quality food and very tasty , again the service is impeccable, nothing we can fault , the spa was also calming and always quiet, massage was good and staff very nice.
We had Bali beds a few days of the week with red level. I saw people saying about music a they didn't like it? It's calming music and not loud in the slightest, you can't please everyone but not sure how you can beat perfection. We got back today and have never felt so relaxed and genuinely want to go back! Martha if your reading this then you deserve a huge thank you and also perhaps you can send us the name of the artsy who painted the painting in the red level lounge :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Jenny W,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, and with the whole TripAdvisor Community!

All the team is delighted to read your kind review. We are glad to know you enjoyed The Royal Suite and the Red Level Services provided by our staff who is focused in making your stay unforgettable.

We hope to welcome you back in a very near future.

Kindest regards,

Juan Calvo Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

This is a truly luxurious hotel with outstanding customer service and an almost perfect location. Like a previous reviewer, we decided to book our stay following an article in The Times newspaper - this write up proved to be accurate on every front. If you are looking for a touch of luxury with some peace and quiet then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Lin61,

Greetings from Gran Meliá de Mar!

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen us during your stay on the island, as well for the time taken to write your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your kind comments about the customer service. Do not hesitate we are going to share your words with the entire team.

We hope to welcome you soon again in the quiet and luxury paradise.

Best Regards,

Juan Calvo Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

We have enjoyed 'the Red Level experience' many times before at the Tenerife South resort. Sadly on arrival we received another thing but and were kept waiting for almost 30 minutes. During which time guests at the main reception were being efficiently greeted, cold towels, drink and room.

The girl on Red Level reception did not even acknowledge us. The room was dirty with finished drinks and food left on tables. Finally Juan the Guest Services manager took control and checked us in.

Knowing the true experience this was a huge disappointment and a bad start. Compounded by no welcome amenities in the room. We had a bad dinner experience that evening also. Long wait, wrongly cooked food and a tasting a waiter with attitude.

Having spoken to Juan and the GM the issues were fully acknowledged and from the second day we really had a great time. Juan was great throughout and provided us with his best attention.

We took the cabana each day, which are lovely. Silvio was great. Very attentive, efficient and polite. Thank you.

We ate twice in the poolside Bardot. Very good food good service. Rafael very good.

Our room was a Royal Suite. Two rooms had been converted into one. So an odd configuration with two balconies. Somewhat clinical in an attempt to be contemporary. Housekeeping was only average. No special touches or attention.

The hotel is in a very nice spot with a number of areas to relax, poolside, beach, cabana are on grass and cliff edge by the sea.

Some work to be done but would certainly return as very nice place with a strong management to ensure the customer is always happy and satisfied. As said, a disappointing start but management listened and made things right.

Most enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear WFN,

We hope you have had a nice trip back!

We put our best effort to make you feel welcomed and we are sorry if the first impression was not the perfect one.

At Gran Melia de Mar, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Our privilege location provide us calm and relax and we are delighted to know you have enjoyed it.

We hope to have again the opportunity to welcome you back and show you the true quality service of Gran Meliá de Mar.

Kindest Regards,

Juan Calvo Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I loved this hotel, the staff is fantastic and helpfull, they fullfill all wishes. The rooms are big and there is a huge balcony in every room. Bathroom is big and modern and as I love cleaness the rooms are clean, there is no bad word to say.
I loved the pool area and the fact that hotel has an own little beach. AND, this is adults only hotel and to be honest I prefer these kinds of hotels as one can swim in a pool without being afraid of somebody jumping in. Breakfast room is quiet as there is no running children etc. And the breakfast is very very good. Fitness center is ok and spa beautiful, I havd a great massage hiven by Ms Pi.
Palma is only 10mins taxi drive away. Special thanks to pr-Juan Calvo who takes care of the quests. The hotel's Red Level room where you can have free drinks etc is very nice and the staff like Ms Martha A very helpfull. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great facing the sea but upper floors better
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Rita T,

First of all thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palma de Mallorca.

We are delighted to hear that our services, restaurants, and all the facilities have met your high expectations.
We thank you for your positive comments and are very pleased to communicate it to all our colleagues, it is always a source of motivation and satisfaction for us.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back at Gran Meliá de Mar and meanwhile we remain at your complete disposal.

Kind regards,

Juan Calvo
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews