We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shame!”
Review of Gran Melia de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia de Mar
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Calvia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was my third visit to Melia de Mar and what a dissapointment! I stayed on the Level the room was very good, clean and comfortable, however the food was sparce, unimaginative, luke warm and of very poor quality. On the first night I was just offered the buffet ( as I was half board) and not made aware of the choice also off a hb menu, when I asked at reception "was there a choice" I was told " Well there is a wedding on" . The once friendly staff have long gone or if they havent then the spark has! I regularly have Spa treatments, my experience at the YHI Spa was awful. Firstly I stood for 13 minutes whilst the receptionist dealt with some people who were just enquiring and pondering about treatments. I was not acknowledged in any way! The facial was nothing less than brutal. The therapist although a sweet girl, continually smothered my whole face, eyes with her hands, scrubbed so hard with towels, and then put scorching hot towels on me! At one point I almost said " I cant take this anymore", I am not a beautician myslelf however I certainally know enough to know that she had no idea! Fancy Spa but dreadful. I would never go back to the Melia de Mar again. It was a five star price but a two star hotel. I have never been compelled to write a review in my many years or travel but this time I felt something had to be said.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank van123244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Van123244,

We deeply regret that your experience has not been entirely satisfactory. We note your comments which will helps us to improve our service.
We work hard for excellence in our products and services.

Kind regards,
Tona Pou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    205
    57
    21
    11
See reviews for
87
607
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
426 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was in this hotel for a seminar. We had 40 customers from all over the world staying at the hotel. I am also writing to a guy online and on his way back from a business trip in South Africa, he decided to meet me for the first time at the hotel in Mallorca. Before I even arrived, he wrote that the hotel was phenomenal. I thought the hotel was very nice - fabulous views. The food we had for breakfast and lunch was fairly standard Spanish fare. Nothing really exciting from that point of view. My bed was comfortable. I left my laundry on the bed and I forgot to fill out the form. The maid took it and had it cleaned for me. She came in the afternoon so that was really great service. The bathroom was large but the shower is small. Also, there was a sewer smell occasionally in the room. I am rather used to that in Spain because I have experienced that many times before. That is why I can't give it 5 stars because the smell really is unpleasant. Make sure to keep the door to the toilet area closed - I forgot to do that. There is no wifi in the rooms. You have to go downstairs and they give you a code for free 24 hours BUT it keeps disconnecting and you have to put the code in again. The ethernet cable didn't work in my room.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the sea but the higher floors have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear IntlTrainer,

Thank you very much to share with us your experience in Meliá de Mar.
about the smell was due to a fault that was difficult to repair, so it was very dificult for us to minimize inconvenience to our guests as we do usually.

Sorry for the inconvenience that were foreign to us.

Best regards,
Tona Pou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on a short break. Room on "the Level" was spacious, scrupulously clean and very comfortable. The pool area and beds over looking the sea are excellent, the pool service food, drink and towels was great (just remeber to ask them to put a mattress on the bed). We always had a choice of beds and plenty of space.

Great having a relaxing drink amongst the palm tress when we got back after dinner.

If you want lunch go up to the bar (more casual food), the actual restaurant at the pool is formal but prices were in line or lower than 5 star elsewhere. Concierge was great and recommended restaurants. Take a trip to Peuerto Portals as there are some good smaller restaurants (Blue Bar and 7777 for example) but ignore the big ones (Wellies and Flanigans) or you will be overrun by screaming kids. Brakfast on the terrace was wonderful- this is the only hotel I know where everyone that wanted to have breakfast outside could a table directly overlooking the Med.

Location is great with a short taxi ride to Puerto Portals and a bus or taxi to Palma itself- great sightseeing and shopping. Only slight downside is there is not much of quality within walking difference so a quick beer or snack is about the limit. Much beter to sped €7 getting in a taxi.

Booked already to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Mr. fedupguest,

First of all, thank you very much for take a time sharing with us your experience in Meliá de Mar. It has been a really detailed comment! We will tell hem to all the staff in order to keep us motivated to carry on!

We look forward to see you back again!

Best regards,
Tona Pou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have just returned from the Melia for a very 4 day birthday break, it was brilliant, great location, service and room. Eight of us enjoyed a birthday dinner which the hotel gave me a cake and champagne. Thank you for making it very special.
It will not be the cheapest break you take but sheer luxury and a chidl free zone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Mrs. brooklandslodge
Thank you very much for your kind words. We really want to do our best to our guests, so, if it's somebody's birthday, we really enjoy to have some detail to the guest.
We are really pleased to know that we collaborate to make a special birthday celebration for you.

Best regards,
Tona Pou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We spent a week at Melia del Mar. Lovely surroundings, great with Adults Only!! Why can´t other hotels copy that. So great to have a calm and relaxing holiday without kids running everywhere...
Breakfast was great with omelettes made by the chief and with a great view.

Great that they also have a small beach on the area so you don´t have to go so far to swim in the ocean...Perfect with plenty of sun beds too so there were enought for everyone. really liked that they offered you a day at the spa area with some wine and fruits.

SO comfortable beds! I have never been sleeping so good ever in a hotel.. And pillows too..

Maybe the hotel needs a quick renovation. It´s a bit worn out and you can really see it on the balconys and the hotel facade.

Don´t know about the drugs in the former rating, but we did certainly not see any drugs at that hotel!

The only thing that was irritating was that the internet was so slow! It can´t be so slow in a 5 star hotel in 2011.... Specially when you wanted to surf around on tourists site with a lot of pictures on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zandra79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonapou, Community Manager at Gran Melia de Mar, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Zandra79_11

Thank you very much to take a time to explain in such specific way your experience in our hotel.
We will tell to the members of the staff you mention and we will work much motivated!

About the facade, as we used to say because we are proud of that, the hotel is protected by a Premio Nacional de Arquitectura and we need a special permission for make any chages on the facade or some special and catalogated details. Anyway, our staff is always taking care of that, and we repair the little things. We will be specially carefull about this point...

Thank you very much

Best regards,
Tona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvia
1.4 km away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
12.7 km away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.2 km away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
5.9 km away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia de Mar

Property: Gran Melia de Mar
Address: Paseo de las Illetas, 7, 07181, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calvia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calvia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calvia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia de Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Melia de Mar, a contemporary beachfront hotel Enjoying a tranquil setting in the residential area of Illetas, yet only ten minutes from Palma’s city centre, the newly-refurbished, adults-only Gran Melia de Mar, exclusive member of Leading Hotels International, has a privileged location directly facing the sea and offering a small, sandy beach. The hotel has been architecturally designed to make the most of the spectacular views Built / renovated date: 1964 / winter 2015/2016 – Rooms number: 142 – from airport Son Sant Joan - hotel: 17 km with 142 Rooms including Suites. All with Terrace with spectacular front sea view, Bathroom with hair-dryer, magnifying mirror, bathtub and shower stall, Air-conditioning. Heating. Satellite TV. Direct dial telephone. Mini-bar, Nespresso, and Safe. Room Service. 6 Meeting rooms. WIFI free of charge. The spacious ‘RedLevel Experience’ rooms and suites offer special VIP amenities. 2 outdoor pools with a delightful pool surrounded by Balinese beds with concierge service. Magnificent breakfast buffet served in the “PERSEO” restaurant and terrace overlooking the sea , the new ARRELS by Marga Coll – fine dining restaurant with a terrace providing an extraordinary range of modern Mallorcan cuisine. Big variety of F&B offers, service in outdoor spaces or indoors. In summer months enjoy the BARDOT Pool Bar & Restaurant. AMARO Lobby Bar & Lounge. Spa by CLARINS. Valet Parking. The hotel opens from April to October and is strictly adults only. Minimum age 15 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia De Mar Hotel Calvia
Melia Hotel De Mar
Sol Melia Calvia
Gran Melia De Mar Majorca/Calvia, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing