We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
764
126
49
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
126
49
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el cortijo junior suite horse riding beautiful hotel few days indoor pool olive trees breakfast buffet malaga airport day trip sun loungers get away from it all leading hotels of the world kids club high quality luxury hotel remote location
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Wonderful stay at La Bobadilla. Perfect getaway for a family - we have a 6,4 and 16 month old and came away relaxed! Staff were so helpful, room clean and well proportioned. The pool has a wow factor and kept the kids amused for hours. Plus the kids club is nearby so they could drop in and out as they wished.
It is hidden away, there isn't an enormous amount to do locally but if R&R is what you're after this is perfect. Granada is approx 1hr away and a great day trip.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

What more can be said! As previous contributors will attest this is a wonderful experience. The room was spacious and comfortable, we had a junior suite as our young daughter shared our room. The bathroom was well equipped and the bathroom floor space alone was the size of a normal double bedded room . The bath was luxurious to say the least. There are a myriad of facilities and things to do onsite, though the main swimming pool takes some beating. The pool staff are very attentive with towels and cold water appearing as you sit down on the sun loungers. We ate in for 3 nights at el cortijo and again the you have stunning views of the surrounding mountains, excellent food and drink and not that different to what you would pay in the UK. A wonderful dining experience. Lunch was also an enjoyable time, with a varied and comprehensive snack (or heavier) options available. Overall though, it's the staff that make the hotel what it is. All staff (front and back room ) we came across were attentive and courteous, with their main aim being to ensure that you had a great holiday. What a marvellous 4 day start to the overall holidays.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank O4503MEbarbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Firstly, after some doubts at the beginning of the week spent there, I must say that I enjoyed a week in this hotel. But there were some elements about staying here that were pretty mediocre too.

Detail is the hallmark of genius and there are a few details that could make this place very special indeed. Not sure if Barceló hotels want to achieve this....

The location is very enticing. In the middle of hills and olive trees. The building, beautiful and well kept. The staff are generally very helpful and accommodating. Barceló hotels are fortunate to have the staff they do!

We spent a week here and probably should have thought carefully about the 'child friendly' nature of the hotel. There were loads of kids: this turned out to be fine and the kids were all great - mainly due to the fact that by the pool, there is quite a lot of space between your recliners and sun beds so not crowded at all. If you seek to avoid kids, probably best to avoid this hotel.

The pools are beautiful and are well kept. Enormous. They close at 8pm however which on a long hot night seems very early when what you may want is a late dip. There may be staffing reasons for this and shifts for guards.

One of the main points of choosing this location is to get away from it all. Sitting around the pool is beautiful and stress free. However, the same music is pumped around the pool speaker system all day. All week. Apparently, not changed in years! It is actually quite maddening to hear the same chill out tracks for the 60th time during a week of sunshine!

The pool will only serve one glass of free water by the pool. Wonderfully served by very nice staff but you cannot have more than one glass of tap water per day. Leading Small Hotel of the World?

The shower in the bedroom was the size of a hand towel. Certainly not the shower of a Leading Hotel of the World. And it overflowed out on to the floor every time. It must have been doing this for months.

Beautiful spacious patio however, with no planting to liven up the 5 foot balcony wall. Felt like the exercise ground in an open prison more than a relaxing sunbathing private patio in your luxury hotel suite. Leading Hotel of the World... It doesn't cost much to plant and water a few bougainvilleas and you have an idyllic retreat.

The corridors are pumped with an artificial vanilla smell. Gets you at the back of the throat like a Glade air freshener.... really out of keeping with this hotel's possibilities of being a really authentic place. However, some people may like it.

Invasions of wasps in early August prevented outdoor breakfasts and interfered with some alfresco dinners (at night they didn't seem so bad). Not sure what the hotel can do about this, but they should do something.

Food in the restaurants was ok. However, good staff make up for a lot of the failings of a hotel chain. The staff at this hotel, with very few exceptions were friendly and good.

The setting for the Cortejo restaurant is wonderful at sunset.

All in all, we had a great time here and did relax. With some more attention to detail it could be so much more. It bills itself as a Leading Hotel of the World - it certainly should be but it isn't.

Having filled in the company's feedback form, the response from the hotel is that most things were down to our 'personal taste' and that the food on offer is leading because they have 42 choices on their menu. Well, this isn't necessarily a mark of quality. Maybe they could focus on fewer, better.

The spa is good but had weird opening hours 10-2pm / 4-8pm that seemed to cater to the shifts requirements of the staff rather than the convenience of paying customers who may want a treatment in the afternoon or later in the evening.

Maybe I have been spoilt by really good Leading Hotels but small details could change this place no end. And remember, this place is not cheap cheap.....

Saying all this, I enjoyed the week here for relaxation, space of the location and quietness plus nice staff.

#barcelohotels
#leadinghotelsoftheworld

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank LondonManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Once again we would like to thank you for share your experience with other TripAdvisor Travelers.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed all our facilities, as well as our privileged location surrounded by olives trees.

Thanks for your comments about the staff, they try to provide our guests with the best hospitality services possible, we are proud to hear that succeeded with you.

We regret that the music of the pool was not to your liking, we have taken the pertinent actions to extend the musical tracks.

Regarding the wasp, please let me inform you that we are doing our best to have it under control, but it is really difficult due to our location in the middle of the countryside.

We are sorry to hear that we didn’t fulfilled your expectations regarding our variety gastronomic offer. Please let me inform you that you have also the possibility to eat at restaurants next to our hotel and the nearest one is just 5 minutes by car.

Finally, I would like to remind you that as a members of the Leading Hotels of the world, every year they carry out an audit to check that we meet with the standards required by them. Fortunately, as we mentioned, we have a very good score, this year we obtained the sixth place of 51 hotels in Spain of the Leading hotels of the world.

Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out to inform about your experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.

Best regards,

Manuel Quintana
General Manager
La Bobadilla,
A Royal Hideaway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Relaxing 2 day break after driving from near Madrid. Upon arrival we both felt so relaxed and knew it was going to be an amazing stay. My only regret is we didn't stay longer. Your staff are fantastic! Did a week all over Spain and your hotel was by far the best.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank edwarddS7332DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, Director General at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we appreciate also very much your kind words towards our staff.

We hope to welcome you soon again and hopefully for a longer stay.

Best regards,

Manuel Quintana
General Manager
La Bobadilla
A Royal Hideaway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Once again La Bobadilla was serenely calm. Even children seem to enjoy the tranquility. The excellent dinner menu at El Cortijo was uncompromisingly Spanish and Andalusian but with something for everyone. Breakfast buffet was comprehensive and the eggs are as fresh as can be.
The temptation is just to stay at the hotel, not because there are organised activities (there aren't any), not because of the entertainment (there is none). It's just quiet and friendly.
If you feel the need to see the sights, Granada (and the Alhambra) is an easy 1 hour drive. Cordoba (and the Mezquita) is 1.5 hours away. The roads are first rate. Charming villages like Mijas and Frigilliana are within easy reach.
We stayed in Room 34. Another spacious Junior Suite. Each one is unique and we loved the garden that overlooked the Sierra Nevada.
Room 51 has been modified to be suited for disabled use. However, perhaps for those with severely limited mobility, this would be a difficult hotel to get around (31 steps down to the pool area). Our party included a 92 year-old and someone coming up to a total knee replacement operation and both of them were happy.

Room tip: We've never had a bad room. Most have a few steps.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roderickh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend a few days and for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our rooms and our restoration. Our guest’s choose us due to our privileged location in the middle of the land, because we are the perfect place to relax but only one hour by car from Málaga or Granada.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you soon again for another great stay.

Best regards,

Manuel Quintana
General Manager
La Bobadilla,
A Royal Hideaway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews