We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
7
9
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
9
8
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The apartment was lovely and clean and had everything you could need for self catering. There is however no onsite reception, you have to book in and out at a local hotel, and if there are any issues you need to ring to get them sorted out, unless it is an emergency when the hotel will help out. Unfortunately we were not made aware that the WIFI had to be ordered in advance by our tour operator so we had to arrange this with the lady from the El Porton office. We were also not made aware that a) the pool didn't open until 12.00 everyday, and b) that the pool actually closed for good on the 30th September, we were there until the 4th October, we could sunbathe on our balcony, but if we hadn't wanted an apartment with a pool, we would have booked one without. It stated in the booklet left for us in the office, that the room would have clean sheets and towels after day three this didn't happen, it was when we had been there a week. We would recommend a car as a necessity, there are limited restaurants in the area of the apartment and a huge hill to climb back up afterwards.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

A lovely apartment but be warned you need a car, the apartments are at the very top of Calahonda and their is no public transport. It is a 12 - 15 minute drive down to the coast (where the nearest supermarkets are) and about 4 minute drive to the nearest restaurants and bar (a very steep return journey).
After picking up the keys from Hotel Club Marbella I was told the apartments were very easy to find just drive upwards until you see the El Porton 7 sign, I found this easily enough but what I was not told was the Block 6 is not in the same place as all the other blocks, and after driving around for 1/2 h our I eventually knocked on someone's door who told me where they were, out of the main El Porton area and 1st turning on right.
The apartment was lovely, 2 beds and 2 baths with a large lounge/diner and a decent sized kitchen. We were on the ground floor and had a lovely terrace overlooking the swimming pool. All in all a lovely relaxing week, it is very quiet up there and probably not great if you have children who want the beach or teenagers who want to go out.

Room Tip: Hire a car
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank carofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed here with my family (5 people) at the beginning of August. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment booked through Travel Republic.

First thing to note: be careful with the transfer! We booked a transfer through TR and it dropped us in the wrong place, at about midnight. We were expecting to be dropped at Club Marbella, which we knew acted as the "reception" for El Porton, and handed out the keys. We were in fact dropped outside a different El Porton about a 20 minute drive away from where we should have been. The hotel staff were BRILLIANT - we called them and they tried to send taxis for us (thinking we were at the correct El Porton), until we eventually gave up and flagged one down. They then spoke to the taxi driver on the phone to try and get us to the right place -- we got there eventually! So just a word of warning, if you get dropped at El Porton you won't be able to pick up your keys!

Once we got to the apartment it was lovely. Looks very much like the photos, nicely furnished, clean and tidy. The kitchen was fairly well equipped, we ate in most nights and didn't have too many problems cooking what we wanted. Just a note, I would recommend taking oven gloves, the teatowels they provide are very thin! We were in a 2 bed apartment which had 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin), and a sofa bed. My partner and I had the sofa bed and it was fine - not the best nights sleep you'll ever have but perfectly comfortable for a week. The room was quite warm, there was 1 working fan in the apartment which my brother hijacked, but there was quite often a nice breeze which cooled the place down. The balcony was amazing as well, really big with a table that could seat 6 around it - perfect for playing cards at night!

The pool area opens at 11am with a lifeguard, and has perhaps 20 sunbeds. We were always ready to go down around 11, and always managed to get sunbeds together, so no problems at all. People came and went through the day so there were usually sunbeds available. The pool is lovely, and it was nice and hot and very quiet!

Our biggest worry about going to this place was the whole "very steep hill" and "must have car", because we had decided not to get a car... Now in my opinion the hill isn't all that steep, although it is very long. Previous reviews about a supermarket within a 15 minute walk are no longer correct, the supermarket closed down... so the nearest supermarket is about a 45 minute walk down the long hill. The way we coped was to walk down to it, and get a taxi back for around 8 euros. There's quite a big supermarket if you keep walking past club marbella, turn left at the mini-roundabout, and keep walking down that road (there's also a smaller one on that road, but the bigger one is worth the extra 5 minute walk). For us, it was fine, but depends on your preferences.

There is a bar (Millenniums) about a 10-15 minute walk away, which was fine to get to and quite fun! Also a few restaurants on the way down the hill - I would highly recommend the golf club and its set menu - fabulous.

Overall, I probably wouldn't go back personally, as I prefer to go somewhere a bit livelier! Having said that, we had a lovely relaxing time, and if you're happy with that then definitely go!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhicez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

these apartments are in a quiet area and are very secure, we had a 2 bed apartment which was very spacious and clean, pool area is lovely, you do need a car there is a supermarket and restaurant and bar about a 10 min walk away.
apartments are very well equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BETHANYLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Great apartment, only a 1 bed but very large.. And clean and adequate. Pool was great for kids in there till 9 o clock. 3rd floor but great for views, warm in the day cool at night. Only niggle was DVD player didn't work
Recommend a car as up quite steep hill, no way you could walk in the heat

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nel1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews