We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical(Mojacar)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal La Parata(Mojacar)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
15
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
7
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

On our way to Malaga we were looking in "Lonely Planet" to find a place to stay over the night. Our eyes fell on el Mirador del Castillo de Mojacar. What a place! We ended up staying there for a whole week. This little Castillo is built on the very top of el Pueblo de Mojacar, where there once was a Moorish castle. If you want to enjoy a calm, romantic place on a white Spanish pyramid-town-pueblo this is the right place.

When entering through the gate in the fence, which surrounds the beautiful inside, we felt we were in a wonderful, new world. A peace fell over us, a stunning view over the ocean, mountains and the valley. Inside this beauty we found pretty, intimate rooms, beautifully restored in the old style.

My husband, our daughter and I have stayed here a couple of times later, and last year we decided to have a family reunion here for a week with children and grandchildren. Now all have asked if we can repeat and have a new reunion this coming fall. Everyone felt it was a perfect place to be together, thanks to the nice and friendly host and hostess, Juan Cecilio and Consuela. They even made a wonderful fiesta dinner for us.

For people who like outdoor exercise, there are mountain trails a few minutes from the Castillo. Down by the sea there are beautiful beaches, and ca. 20 minutes drive north on the road along the sea there are cliff beaches. Here we could snorkel, jump dive and swim along the cliffs.

Parking outside el Castillo might be difficult in the high season, but there is a free parking house a few minutes further down.

Room Tip: Almanzora is a luxurious and very large room. Macenas and Levante are beautiful rooms for two people, and theese three rooms have the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Inger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The stay at el Mirador del Castillo should have been the cream on the cake of our Andalusian tour but we left with mixed feelings.

The Good:
- The Almenzora room is one of a kind: very spaceous, charming, and almost a complete 360 degrees of spectaculair views.
- Nice bathroom where you can even enjoy the views taking a shower!
- Airco is available but at this altitude there always seems to be nice breeze.
- Very good cleaning service.
- Very near to bars, restaurant and shops.

The Bad.
- A beautiful place needs passion and involvement. We experienced that the hosts where more interested in the bar rather then taking care of the guests.
- We where told a continental breakfast would be included: a slice of bread with jam and a cup of coffee doens't fit our experience with continental breaksfast. The breakfast starts a day and it was just a plain disappointment! The host explained that he doens't know what a continental breakfast is.
- Altough the pool/garden area looks nice it has a little worn/tired feel. Some plants where just dried out and a chair was broke. Also towels from other guest would linger on a lounger for days!
- At some day we would come home and the host would have a "party" near the pool with 8 adults and children. It would have been nice if we where informed or actually invited as this activity would dominate the complex.
- No information about the area or the village.
- Very important: parking is hell! The hotel is on a small dead end street in a very touristic area with a few parking spots which are often claimed by residents. This often will result in using the public parking area about 500m down the hill.

The room was great and the place has a lot of potential but for the premium price (100+ per night) we expected some more involvement or at least a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pearlfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I found this Small Hotel /Hostal when looking at the area on Google Earth. Stayed for two nights room only. It only has 5 rooms and a bar which opens in the morning at about 10am and evening until 11pm. Situated in Old Majocar and is the highest building in this small White Village. Has a nice courtyard garden with pool. Views from all points are superb over the sea or mountains. Only slight drawback is access as you will have to park car and walk up a few steps to the Hotel but it is worth it. We stayed in Room 1 very large with large bed lovely white sheets and very soft towels. Room 5 is even larger. Worth a stay and would recommend to all our friends

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjpgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews