We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Quinta do Silval(Pinhao)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$136
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LBV House Hotel(Pinhao)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$285
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta do Pego(Valenca Do Douro)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Placido Hotel Douro Tabuaco(Tabuaco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miracorgo(Vila Real)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$92
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperio Hotel(Peso Da Regua)
US$64
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
421
22
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
22
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubmanor housedouro valleytennis courtsbreakfast and dinnerdeluxe roomthe main housedining roomlarge bathroomhonor systemtwo floorstable tennisfood and wineboth nightsbeautiful groundsselection of local wineshonesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Fantastic hotel, great people & a location to die for near Pinhao & overlooking the Douro valley. The hotel is a beautifully restored mansion with loads of space & large, comfortable bedrooms that open onto terraces. We chose half board & were very pleased indeed. On our last night before the hotel closed for a few weeks, we were the only guests but far from being ignored, we were treated to a candlelit dinner in the main dining room. Ursula, the owner, Adelaide & the kitchen staff were all extremely welcoming, friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.
The property has a pool, tennis courts, pool room etc etc

Room Tip: A room facing the valley with a terrace
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for visiting Chanceleiros and thank you for your so kind review.
My staff and myself we really appreciate that you take the time to write.
Ursula and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

What a fantastic place!! The highlight of our whole trip! The setting is stunning....with incredible vistas of vineyards and mountains from all vantage points. Decorated with care and taste....just beautiful - the room, the dining area, the pool. The lush gardens are a labor of love....just beautiful and so natural. The manor house is beautiful, elegant, romantic while also warm and unfussy. The breakfast buffet is superb and the dinners, paired with local wines and ports were very special. Owner Ursula, Adelaide and the staff were all helpful, warm and gracious. They arranged for a special vineyard tour that was a highlight. And two adorable house pups!!!! Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear guest, thank you for visiting Chanceleiros and writing such a pleasant review. My staff and myself we really appreciate your effort.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We had the opportunity to stay 2 nights at the Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros and had an excellent experience. It was mid Oct and the weather was in the 30C range so pool well appreciated as was the BBQ on one of the nights. We met interesting local and international guests, shared some excellent wine from one of close by vineyards and enjoyed ourselves immensely.
Ursula Boecking and staff were fantastic and the work they have done on making this place a real jewel of the Douro is impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Panamabill_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for visiting Chanceleiros and thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We had a great time during our stay at the Casa! We stayed for a couple of peaceful nights. The setting is absolutely beautiful in the hills of the Duoro valley. It was clean, quiet, and staff were lovely. We enjoyed hanging out in the common areas (honesty bar, billiard room, outdoor spaces like the hot tub!) We also loved the patio off of our room and the room itself which was super spacious! The bed was really comfortable. Also loved that the room came with complimentary port!
We really enjoyed our dinners each evening. It's fairly expensive compared to other meals we had in Portugal but you get a lot for the money spent and it's nice to be able to sample the local wines with dinner & get a true home cooked meal.
This is a wonderful place to come and relax for a few days and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others who are visiting the Duoro valley!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for writing such a kind review. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay in my house.
Ursula and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Half way between a hotel and a B&B, this place is a fabulous little gem. Ursula and her team are extremely nice. The mansion is spacious and lovely, not contemporary modern but not oldish either. Very homey indeed. The rooms are spread throughout the rose garden. The outdoor pool is appealing. The views from the room and from the dining room are to die for ! And the food is fabulous ! Only good things to say really. We had a perfect stay. Thank you !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julyp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you so much for your pleasant review. I am very proud of my "little gem" and my team.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews