We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
432
23
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
23
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubmanor housedouro valleytennis courtsbreakfast and dinnerthe main housedeluxe roomdining roomlarge bathroomhonor systemtwo floorstable tennisfood and wineboth nightsbeautiful groundsselection of local wineshonesty bar
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Half way between a hotel and a B&B, this place is a fabulous little gem. Ursula and her team are extremely nice. The mansion is spacious and lovely, not contemporary modern but not oldish either. Very homey indeed. The rooms are spread throughout the rose garden. The outdoor pool is appealing. The views from the room and from the dining room are to die for ! And the food is fabulous ! Only good things to say really. We had a perfect stay. Thank you !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julyp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you so much for your pleasant review. I am very proud of my "little gem" and my team.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

It is a house, it is a home. There are paying guests. Molly and Cookie practice a polite, but studied, indifference to their guests, there, present, but not intrusive. One comes and goes, walking, driving or staying put, gently imbibing Port Wine, occasionally dipping a toe or more in the pool. There is a billiards table for the fit and active even a tennis court for those who feel the need to work off some of their excellent breakfast and make room for the wonderful dinner yet to come.
Our thanks to our hostesses for their gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: Whichever room you get will be delightful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alihs00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you so much for your visit and writing such a pleasant review.
We all enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you some time again in Chanceleiros.
Ursula and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Hard to find the words to describe this amazing piece of the Douro Valley. Don't delay , just book in now!! From the accomodation , to the scenery , to the service and the pool, we couldn't fault a thing. Our host and her staff made the experience complete.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your visit to Chanceleiros and writing such a pleasant review about us.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Just an amazing place to stay. Wonderful, warm and helpful staff, amazing food, and a fantastic location.
Had the fortune to spend an extended weekend. An idilic and relaxing experience. Every need was catered for and every detail though of in advance by a professional and friendly staff. Very well run hotel with large and comfortable rooms.
After a great breakfast on a patio with an amazing view, spent time relaxing between the pool and the jacuzzi. Later a short walk to a great nearby winery for a tour and port tasting.
Would not hesitate to recommend to friends (which I have already done) and to stay again as soon as I have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your visit and taking the time to write such pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again in Chanceleiros.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Our stay at the Casa, with its breathtaking views and lovingly maintained property, was like a dream. Our room with terrace, complete with grape vines ( a big deal for wine lovers like us) overlooking the Douro Vally was spacious and well appointed. We loved everything about it but beware: our room (#3) has three steps ( with no handrail) between the bed and bathroom. Although we were too busy touring the Douro Vally wineries to use the pool, it is gorgeous, and I regret not having stayed more days to just read and relax by its side. Dinners, prepared in the style of a "family meal" at grandmas estate was truly an authentic and memorable experience. The hearty down to earth food was quite delicious and served with plentiful local wine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sweatergirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula B, Owner at Casa do Visconde de Chanceleiros, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your visit and your kind review. My team and myself appreciate it very much that you took the time for writing it.
Ursula and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews