We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
153
88
36
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
88
36
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon rolls front desk keurig coffee maker spacious suite love staying turkey sausage great place to stay flat screen tv shopping and restaurants water pressure virginia beach the location is perfect pool and hot tub would definitely stay here again exercise room great room complimentary breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights, during this time we did not have any issues with the service provided. The staff cleaned our room daily and everyone was very friendly, especially the people at the front desk. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to get a good night of sleep because of it. The only thing that disappointed us was that the spa was not working so we could not use it. Other than that, great location and super friendly staff.

Room tip: Quiet floor and very comfortable beds
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Matias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad to know that the team took great care of you.


Sincerely,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

I went on a road trip to Virginia Beach but booked this hotel in Norfolk because of how expensive oceanfront hotels are in Virginia Beach. This hotel, although not near the beach (20min drive), is the second best location in my opinion. It is surrounded by restaurants and stores literally walking distance, there is also a Walmart conveniently located right across the street which was great as we stayed a few days and bought some groceries to save some money since the room came with a mini fridge and microwave. There is a pool and gym inside and free breakfast included. This is not a luxury hotel but is definitely a good value hotel. A small note: Room 121 has a small but annoying sound because of a machine or something in the hotel and I had to ask to switch rooms because the first night we had trouble sleeping but the guy or manager at the front desk changed our rooms without question so no complaints on customer service!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very proud of the customer service team here.

Regards,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The rooms here are HUGE and pretty nice. The property is recently renovated and looks great. The breakfast is what you would expect. The pool/hot tub area had so much chlorine that your eyes burned upon entry. Overall a great value for the money. The only drawback was the weird smell throughout the hotel. All that aside I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank eskolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hello,

I appreciate your feedback. Rest assured all feedback is used as a gift so that we can continually work to deliver the best possible experience to you and other guests.

Sincerely,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This recently renovated hotel is by far the best in the area from my experience staying in the vicinity.
Very dramatic lobby, rooms were clean and the restaurant was friendly and good food for good value.
I’d definitely book it if I needed to come this way again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank carolkurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for the review.

Regards,

Phillip Modisett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We stayed for one night because the location was close to the airport. We have stayed at other HIE properties before that were nicer, however, we would sum this up as not the best and not the worst. The room was large and clean, but very dated. A lot of the extra (suite) space was wasted due to design and dim lighting. The bathroom was partially updated and hot water/pressure was fine. The microwave and mini fridge were really old, but they worked. The air conditioning unit was pretty loud, but it also worked, in fact, the room got cold quickly. The beds were not very comfortable as the mattresses were very firm, but the linens were fresh. Flat screen TV was fine but there were a limited amount of cable stations. The pool looked nice, but we did not use it during our short stay. The complimentary airport shuttle is a plus, but we waited a long time for pick up and had to call the desk to make sure we had not been over looked. The drivers of the shuttles were pleasant. There is a lot of construction going on in the area right now and so we did hear some street noise from heavy machinery early in the morning (but it wasn't horrible and the hotel really cannot do anything about this). The complimentary breakfast was marginally sufficient, but again, it is complimentary and it did get the job done for quick bite before heading out to the airport. It wasn't a bad stay and we are hopeful they are working on improving the property because it has a good proximity to the airport and local eateries (Starbucks is literally across the street). In all, it is still probably the best choice in it's price range for that location.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews