We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Irish Pub with amazing food and excellent service”
Review of Grace O'Malley's

Grace O'Malley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Grace O'Malley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 849 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Description: Grace O'Malley's is locally-owned and offers an authentic Irish pub experience. Virtually everything in the bar and restaurant was handcrafted in Ireland. The staff is eager to provide you with a memorable experience, including traditional food and drink, lively entertainment, and the highest standard of hospitality. Great food, great music, great craic. You are most welcome at Grace O'Malley's.
Restaurant details
Description: Grace O'Malley's is locally-owned and offers an authentic Irish pub experience. Virtually everything in the bar and restaurant was handcrafted in Ireland. The staff is eager to provide you with a memorable experience, including traditional food and drink, lively entertainment, and the highest standard of hospitality. Great food, great music, great craic. You are most welcome at Grace O'Malley's.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant gives you a choice of shepherd's pie or cottage pie. I ordered the shepherd's pie which was well seasoned and not overloaded with potatoes. Next time I will get the cottage pie next time.

The fish and chips are wonderful. The fish is fresh cod and hand-battered with house-made breading. The chips are fresh cut French fries perfectly seasoned. Yes, they have malt vinegar.

Since the dinner was so good my friend and I had to try dessert. The bread pudding is made in house as well and was a great ending to a wonderful meal. You must give it a try.

Throughout the week the restaurant has specials on various days. I hope to try the roast on Sunday before I leave Norfolk. I will definitely be back.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EricS0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyM1431, Owner at Grace O'Malley's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We thank you so much for your kind review, you highlighted many of our favorite menu items! We do indeed have Early Bird Specials from 11 to 5 throughout the week, including buy one, get one ½ off on Mondays, $2 off salads and sandwiches on Tuesdays, 1/2 price wings on Wednesdays, $3 off all Traditional Fare on Thursdays, free soup or salad with any sandwich on Fridays, kids eat free on Saturdays (with some limitations), and 25% off all pies (Cottage, Shepherd, and Vegetable) on Sundays. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and very much look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in town. Go raibh maith agat! (Thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Irish nachos were good and plentiful. Most other food choices were less than good, over salted mostly. The shepherd’s pie was extremely over spiced with rosemary. It’s a bar. Good booze. Noisy.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Curious713042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyM1431, Owner at Grace O'Malley's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and for your comments, and we sincerely apologize that Grace O’Malley’s fell short of your expectations. Our goal is to provide the highest standard of food and service, and your comment regarding our food quality was shared with our kitchen staff so that we can learn from your experience. We do hope you will visit again soon so that we may have another chance to provide you with a memorable authentic Irish pub experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Grace O'Malley's, a GEM in a City of restaurants. The service is excellent and the servers are very welcoming and knowledgeable on the menu items and whiskey served. We opted for corned beef today with a side of fries. The corned beef sandwich on rye bread is delicious. The texture is perfect and each bite is filled with flavor. The corned beef sub is a twist on the sandwich served on a fresh sub roll with a sweet slaw, so yummy. The smoked salmon rolls are unique in texture and full of flavor on there or with a dipping sauce. I highly recommend this GEM for an afternoon out.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyM1431, Owner at Grace O'Malley's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Grace O’Malley’s and thank you for taking the time to provide the kind comments. Irish cuisine is known for its simple yet hearty flavor and we are delighted you enjoyed the fare. We look forward to seeing you again, and go raibh maith agat! (thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Great food and drinks! Authentic Irish style food! Hannah and Taylor are great! I had the Irish breakfast and it was GREAT!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mattzettler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyM1431, Owner at Grace O'Malley's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review with your kind comments, and particularly for the shout-out to Hannah and Taylor. They and all of our staff work very hard to live up to our promise of Great Food, Great Music, and Great Craic at Grace O’Malley’s. We very much look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in town. Go raibh maith agat! (Thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

The beer/liquor was good but if you come here to just drink, your loss. Six of us all got a different dish and all were awesome. Robert (behind the bar) was so friendly and interesting to talk with. Will come back if I ever get back here!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank F6882IWjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristyM1431, Owner at Grace O'Malley's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Grace O’Malley’s and thank you for taking the time to post the kind review. Irish cuisine is known for its simple and hearty flavor and we are delighted you enjoyed the fare. Thank you for the shout out to Robert and we hope you will be able to visit us again in downtown Norfolk on your next visit. Go raibh maith agat! (Thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grace O'Malley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing