We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
24
22
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
22
6
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

For the ones who have travelled the Pousadas; this hotel is like a small Pousada. It is a quiet, small 15 room hotel with kind staff and clean rooms. Some rooms have sea view which is fantastic. It has an historic atmosphere with a maze like floorplan. Breakfast is good, pooltable was used extensively by our two teen kids. The hotel does not have a night restaurant and if you want to drink something you just grab it from the fridge in the foyer and write down your expenses. The drive up the mountain is about 10 minutes from Ponta do Mar and rather curvy; but about any road in Madeira is steep and curvy (except for the tunnels). I really like these kind of hotels because they have a character of their own. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a living room and a sleeping room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Klaas_Kortekaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We stayed three nights in this fine building in a magnificent setting half way up the hillside. Our room and bathroom were spacious and at first sight seemed spick and span, but a closer look showed that the paint was peeling, damp patches on the wall, the windows could not be closed, the bath had patches of rust where the enamel had come off, and the bed, bedding and bath dressing gown frayed. Breakfast was standard hotel fare. The only service is provided when you arrive - and we are grateful for the sandwiches on the first evening when we arrived late. Although the setting is great for the view, there is no decent restaurant in the vicinity, which means that every evening you have to drive at least twenty minutes down to the coast on a hair-raising road in the dark, which after a day's walking is trying. Better to stay in Ponta da Sol.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This hotel seems to have quite a history and may have lost some features during the crisis like a piano player and a restaurant. The restaurant is not something you're going miss as you can have a decent meal after most walks. If not, there is always the snackbar next door.

BUT what remains is absolutely a charming hotel, with style run by 3 women all very helpful and friendly. Rooms are ok and have an almost colonial style (btw no airco on Madeira but heating). Breakfast is excellent and you can ask for a take-away lunch as well. The swimming pool is nice, though not heated so at 22'C. We did not check-out the sauna.

We, my wife and me had booked a spacious room with a balcony and seaside view. This way you can 'almost' see the south-pole as there is nothing in between. The balcony also gives a nice view of the surrounding hills and the village below.

Guests are mostly older couples that like to walk the levadas and enjoy the spectacular views Madeira has to offer.

PS, follow the road signs to the hotel and forget your navigation, especially if it instructs you to take a sharp turn left or right. These tend to lead into roads where your car just fits and the slope is at lest 15% up or down.

Room Tip: Definitively book a seaside view room with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wvd_vegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely views and great service... Was a perfect holiday with sea view... The room also was more that we expected and the girls that work there were great and very lovely...

I definitely recommend , also have a good price...

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Lili4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I loved our stay in this hotel. At first, when driving there, we were a bit scared as it's located high on the steep hill, nevertheless we got used to it and the view totally worther it.
The staff was just the best, so nice, didn't have any problem with any request. For breakfast they could cook fresh eggs just for you.
Interior reminded us of old houses of rich families you see in Mexican soap operas ... very charming :)
Price is very good, only minus was the internet which was only in common room, not bedrooms ... but at least we had a break from technology and enjoyed calm and beautiful environment.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katarína G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews