We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
31
17
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
17
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road surrounding countryside breathtaking views maurizio tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This place fully lived up to what I had pictured as Italian rustic. It had the picturesque views that even my teenage son could recognize as beautiful. It was basic living at its best, this is not a luxury resort but it is perfect for families or couples wanting a peaceful retreat without hustle and bustle. We loved the dolce vita that Montegonzi inspired. We would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

If you are driving here I would say a GPS is essential as there are very few signs from the road. We finally managed to find the place quite late in the evening however the staff were up to meet us and organised us a couple of pizzas and a bottle of wine to be brought from town.

Great views in all directions, lovely grounds and pool however the bed was no more than a roll away with noisy old springs. The walls were quite thin and so we could hear everything our noisy neighbours said.

All in all a pretty good spot for a few days in Tuscany.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

This is a magical spot beautifully renovated by the owner in traditional style. It is very remote so next time I would hire a car. Having said that, Fabrizio was wonderful at organising pick ups/drop offs for us. I loved the peace and tranquility and Greve town is also lovely with nice restaurants and shops ( doesn't feel touristy) . Would definitely recommend this hotel - prepare yourself for a steep rough track to get there though.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank themagstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The main problem with this is the accessability. Coming off the main road you face 2.5km of bumpy, rocky and mountainous track that is in no way appropriate for a car that doesn't have 4 wheel drive. Also, if you are using a hire car, there is a high risk of scratching it or gaining a puncture.

If you dare not face the perrel of driving into town, you are saved by a track that is about a 1km walk straight into Greve in Chianti. However, this is as steep and as rough as the track you just drove on, and walking back up it can take 30 mins+. I wouldn't recommend using this to walk into town if you are elderly, as it is very tiring.

The view from the villa is outstanding, and is higher than most of the surrouding villas. The pool is not too big nor too small, and the view from it is also outstanding. The pool is surrounded by ample deck chairs and shaded areas, as well as sun loungers.

Inside our apartment, the bedrooms had ceiling fans, so it was never too hot, and dining/kitchen/living room was quite large. Outside, there is plenty of places to sit and eat a meal, and a BBQ. The housekeeper was perfectly friendly, and met us on arrival, althought I'm not sure if that was simply a coincidence. He is always around if there is a problem.

The fact that it is so difficult to get to this property without possibly damaging your vehicle puts me off coming back here.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nils C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed in La Chisetta-- one should bring one's own groceries and the kitchen is simply equipped for basic meals. The building is the old compound chapel and it's full of charm and the views all around are breathtaking, not to mention the luxury of cooling off in your own private pool! Would absolutely recommend and would stay again. Incredibly beautiful and romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dromomania4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews