We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
82
109
82
69
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
109
82
69
132
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2007

We stayed at two different properties on the island of Sicily, the Torre Macauda being the first for 3 nights in late May. The pluses: room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The minuses: lack of basic amenities starting with no potable water in the room -- if you wanted drinking water (and who doesn't?) or anything to drink at all you had to purchase a "debit card" for any amount you wished from which 5 euro would be held back once it was used up or returned for refund. Drinking water was 1,50 euro a bottle. No hair dryer or steam iron in the room. Staff told me I would have to pay a refundable 20 euro deposit to "rent" the hair dryer and iron, which I did. Just about all of the rooms face the pool area and Saturday night for about 2 hours from 9 pm to 11 pm or so, three performers sang along to loud pre-recorded music, so sleep was impossible until they finished. No internet service at all anywhere on the hotel property.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank 2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

We booked the holiday as a short break, with an on-site Holiday firm, assuming they would book us into a suitable resort.
The Hotel, it turned-out was occupied by 99.9% Italian holiday makers. We were the only foreign nationals, and the staff were struggling to understand English
During the week it is reasonably quiet, however Saturday to Monday it is used as a long weekend break Hotel, for the local islanders, and is jam packed solid.
As there is only one outside pool it becomes totally claustrophobic, and the beach can only be easily reached by bus.
The nearest town and shopping area is Sciacca which is some 6 kilometres away, and only easily accessible if you have your own transport.
Sciacca is very much an industrial town with a large Harbour, and therefore do not expect to find any localized decent beaches.
There are some beautiful beaches within the area, but they are hard to find and you will need your own transport.
The hotel complex has obviously been refurbished, internally, very recently and the rooms were airy and comfortable. However the exterior is to say the least "very tired looking".
Disappointed is the least I can say for the Hotel and the local area. However I have no doubt that I will return to Sicily at some stage I find an Island worthwhile stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AliB2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews