We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pneumatic drill in next room - and refused a refund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aragona Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Sorocaba, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pneumatic drill in next room - and refused a refund”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

At 9am on the morning after arriving from a long journey from Rome we were awakened by the sound of a pneumatic drill removing masonry from the window in the room right next to us. Everything in the room shook with the noise and vibration - sleep and conversation were impossible. When we complained, the drill stopped, but banging from the rebuilding of the neighbouring part of the hotel did not - this continued throughout the day. No-one apologized for having placed us in the room, and no alternative room was offered. Since the hotel knew well what it was doing when it placed us in that room, and showed no semblance of regret or the wish to make amends, we decided to leave and find a hotel where the attitude towards guests was more tolerable. We found another hotel and went to check out. The hotel advertised itself in the title to its brochure as follows "Lontano dal frastuono della vita, lá troverai quella pace que da tempo ti é sfuggita via... Siamo Ischitani, fidati de noi" ["Far from the frustrations of life, here you will find that peace which has fled from you... we are Ischians, trust us."] When we showed them this text prominently displayed in their brochure they said 'this is just advertising, what is your point?' We said they had not honoured their promise of peace, nor earned the trust they claimed they were entitled to and they were thus in breach of contract, and that we expected them to refund the four days money they had taken from us in advance for the ensuing four days when we would not be there. And they responded that they would give us another room and if we didn't accept it they would keep our money. We didn't accept, and they did keep our money. No further comment. Peter, Araçoiaba da Serra, Brasil.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank peterlawrencebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    323
    55
    15
    11
See reviews for
294
904
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were sold a room on the telephone as luxurious, but in reality it was no more than adequate (average decor, plastic glasses) admittedly with a generous terrace overlooking the port and in an ideal position if you don't have a car. The staff were quite friendly and the manager very helpful, but at 300 euros a night not great value (though accomodation in season on the italian coast seems to be ridiculously pricey)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illyria-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Republic of Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel is in a fantastic location situated directly in the port which is so handy when you get off the ferry. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and clean. The bathrobes are a nice touch and come in handy when using the spa and rooftop pool. The breakfast is by far the best Italian breakfast I have ever had, there was a huge variety of food on offer. Franco who works on the rooftop pool is very friendly and loves to tell you about the hotel and Ischia. We did not have any evening meals in the hotel because we prefer to dine out but ate lunches there which very good. The only criticism I have is the evening dining time is a set time between 8 and 9.30. Most evenings we only start to eat at 9.30 which is why we didn't bother with the hotel's evening dinner. The spa area is lovely and relaxing and definitely worth a visit. If I return to Ischia I will definitely stay in the Aragona Palace again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saorise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here for a week in June as part of our honeymoon.The hotel is in the perfect location literally a minute from the ferry port and a couple of minutes walk from the bus station.The main street with plenty of shops and resturants is just round the corner too.The staff were fantastic very friendly and helpful and we had a lovely welcome.
Our room was on the second floor and it was so worth paying the bit extra for the balcony overlooking the harbour,it was a fantastic view.The room was very clean and spacious and the balcony was a good size too.We just had breakfast at the hotel which was also good with a lot of choice (with a few sweet choices too!) There are plenty of fab places to eat and drink both in the main area of the town and in the harbour area (try Gennaro's on the harbour front for fantastic seafood).The roof top terrace and pool have a great view and are a good place to laze away a few hours,though the pool isnt big enough to swim in its nice for a dip.The indoor pool and turkish bath are a good size though i think after paying to stay at the hotel the cost of 2euros per person for shower caps and having to pay to to switch the thermal jets on is a bit harsh!
We found our room to be quite noisy at night time,not from outside but we could here everything from the room next door.Apart from this minor gripe the hotel was a really lovely place to be and we really enjoyed our week here,we would stay again.Ischia is also a very beautiful place to be and theres lots to see and do on the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Accomodations and location were wonderful. It's in the harbor so we had easy access to ferrys, taxis, shopping, gelatto and busses!. They don't have car parking but you don't need it. It's an easy, short walk to transportation. The bus system is wonderful, sometimes crowded, and relatively cheap (1 euro, 40 cents during high season will get you anywhere on the Island). Nice location for an evening walk.

Service at the hotel was very good. Rooftop pool is nice. Indoor thermal spa is also nice. Breakfast is terrific. Best croissants we had the entire trip. We're returning in three years and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.2 km away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,173 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
1.1 km away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 70 in Ischia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
1.5 km away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.2 km away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aragona Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aragona Palace Hotel

Property: Aragona Palace Hotel
Address: Via Porto Salvo 12, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#1 Family Hotel in Ischia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Aragona Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aragona Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aragona Palace
Aragona Palace Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing