We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Delfini is a mixed bag of impressions and experiences. Most of the staff isn't friendly, not helping you in any way getting around the place. Food is not special, although they were very helpful with providing special food for my wife who's allergic to tomatoes. The hotel is a funny place, with decorations out the 19th century, makes it look really outdated for younger people. The room was fine, bed good and shower great, that always helps! Around all the electric outlets etc. they forgot to put the covers back...which shows the lack of attention for details that shows in the whole hotel. Clean, hmmmm, not really. Would I go back? No! Is it fine for a few days? I guess it will do. (Ischia is a place for older people into wellness)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Durk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

After reading all the negative reviews we were a bit scared to make a reservation. However, we had stayed at Ischia before and we knew that Delfini is at the best location of the island so we decided to take a risk and book six nights for two of us and our 2-year old. We stayed from April 30 until May 05 2017.

At the check-in the reception staff was very friendly. They speak english only a bit, but they did smile and were very helpful as far as they could. It was a long way to carry all our luggage down from the road where we parked our car as the hotel is some 20 meters down from the road. The staff did not offer to help me, but I was not expecting it as there was only two persons at the reception and this was not a five star hotel.

We got room 306 which is in the end of the hall on 3rd floor and most likely a bit larger than other rooms. Entering the room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very nicely decorated and the bed was very large and comfortable, which is rare in Italy as the beds are usually hard as stone. The best part was the magnificent view from our large balcony, especially the scenery of Aragonese castle, Procida, Vesuvius, Sorrento peninsula and Capri island on top of the faraglioni rocks just in front of the hotel.

The room has central air conditioner nicely hidden inside a decoration on the ceiling. It must have been centrally switched off as nothing happened when I tried to switch it on. We were a bit afraid if there is warm enough during the night as the A/C seemed to be the only heater, but it was very nice even without it. Naturally cooling was not needed this time of year.

It is true that most of the plastic covers of light switches and electric sockets are missing and the metal body is visible. The wires are behind the metal and there are no finger sized holes so this is not really dangerous, only ugly. I kept wondering what was the story behind this. They obviously had tried to fix it, on some switches the plastic covers were attached with screws and on some there was a lot of glue (which had not worked). Unfortunately it might be impossible to fix this properly without the exactly right plastic covers which they most likely don't have for some reason.

The bathroom was very large and there was a big separate dark-blue tiled shower cabinet separated with glass door. It was just a normal shower, in some other rooms I understand there is a therapeutic massage shower. Bit strangely the shower cabinet did not have light so all the light came through the glass door. As the tiles were dark blue it was a bit dark shower.

Most importantly, there was plenty of hot water which did not seem to run out, except on one morning. On that morning the water was totally cold. The hotel was pretty full so perhaps they did run out of hot water as the hot water was back in the afternoon.

There was also a small annoying problem in the bathroom. The towel rack was loose and therefore there was not a place to hang your towel. If I had had a small screwdriver with me it would have been easy to fix. There were also some other small issues which would have been easy to fix around the hotel.

The cleaning lady was very nice and she did a great job although we managed to mess the room quite thoroughly every day. She was around every day from Thursday to Wednesday, including Sunday. We wondered when does she have her day off.

There was a large fridge in the room, a bit old, but worked well. It was a bit noisy, but that was not a problem for us.

The only bigger problem to consider is the fact, that each room (on the 3rd floor at least) has a connecting door to the neighbouring room. This door is very thin and you can easily hear the discussion from the other room. Italians speak loudly and if they watch TV they keep the volume up. So take earplugs with you if you are sensitive to noise and want to go to sleep early.

Another problem to consider is the fact that there is no cell phone cover in this hotel, at least not in the rooms. It is not the fault of the hotel, but if you need to work during your vacation this might be a big problem. The hotel wifi was decent for email and such low bandwidth activities, but there were blackouts and the situation can get worse during the summer time when the hotel is full.

The breakfast was alright considering this is Italy. There was a selection of sweet croissants, some cakes, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and even a small plate of cheese and ham and some bread. On first mornings there was also boiled eggs, but then they were replaced to small hot dogs. Most of the clients are italian who naturally only eat sweet croissants and fruit for breakfast, but there were also some German guests. Cheese and ham did not last for long if they were eating before us. There was no refill if they run out.

The coffee machine was Nescafe Alegria which makes ok espresso (it is freshly grind from beans), but not so good cappuccino (it is made out of pre-grind coffee). Tip: First take a cappuccino and then espresso and you get quite good cappuccino.

Our 2-year old son did love the plum cakes they had, but on the 4th morning there was none left. His cry made sure everyone noticed it, also the very nice breakfast waiter. He tried to find a replacement, but there was none left. However, next morning when this incident was about to happen again he had one extra hidden for our son. That was a very nice gesture.

The outside pool looked very nice, but this time of year the water was still cold. Some hotels in the area have thermal water pools, but this is not a thermal one. Inside the hotel there is a small thermal water pool, which was nice and very hot. However, it is very small, only about 2x4 meters.

The sea water was too cold to swim, but it is a rocky bottom and gets deep quite soon. During summer time there is a platform used for sunbathing, but they had not yet set it up. The sea is very nice, the water is clear and it is very good for swimming according to our earlier experiences. It is also just some 20-30 meters to swim to the sandy Cartaromana beach, but you need to be able to swim because you need to get around the big rock. So don't plan to do this if traveling with small children who are not prepared to swim long distances.

As a hotel guest we were allowed to use the pools at their other hotel Park Hotel Terme some 3 kilometers away. There was an outdoor thermal pool as well as two connected pools inside. The outdoor pool was very nice for our son, the inside pool is a bit dark. We did visit only once as there was not a good place to change clothes and the hotel is not very clean.

Please note that in Italy you use a swimming cap when swimming in a pool, don't ask why. We did not use and the staff did not ask us, but the italian guests sitting by the pool clearly took notice on this.

Overall Delfini is perhaps not quite a 4 star hotel. But it is on seafront and the sea view from every room is something quite extraordinary. If this is something you value you should not miss this hotel.

We have stayed in Aragona Palace Hotel which is one of the top rated hotels in Ischia according to Tripadvisor. The biggest difference compared to Delfini is the fact that in Aragona they have fluent english speaking personnel in the reception while in Delfini they have only italian speaking. The style and decor of the rooms is at about the same level, also the cleanliness. There are small things broken in Delfini, while all the small details are carefully taken care if in Aragona. And the breakfast is much better in Aragona.

But if you value closeness to sea, magnificent sea view from the room and easy access to swim at one of the best spots in Ischia you might want to choose Delfini. Be prepared, that all the electric switches are without a cover. Be prepared that the screen in the elevator is slightly out of position. Be prepared that there is most likely something broken in your room. And most importantly, be prepared that english is not spoken or spoken just a bit and you need to use Google Translate (if wifi works).

Other than that, just enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heikkip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Warning!!!! An impressive reception area which can only be described as a facade. We paid nearly 800 euro for four nights B&B. The first room wasn't ready till 5pm, It was too small for the three of us and was less than basic. It was not a family room but had the extra bed squeezed in. Most items like switches and lights were broken or not working. Furniture was of very poor quality and nothing matched. We asked to change rooms or leave. It went downhill from there. We were told we could not have a refund, no other rooms were available but could have a free massage, (I was later asked for 5 euro to pay for the oils for the massage). We were offered the use of another room for our daughter (11 years old) but declined as both rooms gave access to outdoors. The next day we had the choice of two rooms, one smelt strongly of cigarettes so went for the other as we were told we had no choice. The hotel also stated they would change us to half board for the three remaining nights. The room we moved to had a bathroom with ventilation only into the bedroom meaning all the sheets, floor and clothes went damp. The air conditioner was switched off at the main electric box which was next to the bed and the system appeared to have mould in it so I didn't try using it. It seemed strange we only found two cockroaches. The sewage covers were outside and quite strong at times and no lighting was provided in the dark to get to our room. The evening meal, to be fare, was ok but we were sat near reception where we could see constant complaints. No wine list but managed to get a local cheap wine for 16 euro. Breakfast was a little better than poor and after looking at previous reports noted that the hotel still has only about five breakfast bowls and a broken cereal dispenser. Like our experience every complaint ended with the staff ringing the owner "signora". I really thought that places like this don't exist any more. The toilet paper was the cheapest I've ever seen along with any other items. It was clear that the hotel are spending the minimum possible and are doing without wherever possible. I struggle most with the fact that the staff have all put their morals well behind them to serve a matriarch. This place is a sham of what was once an apparent hotel of beauty that cared for visitors. We were offered a free lunch and a further massage but declined as we just wanted to leave and stay elsewhere but clearly this was not going to happen. I know words like this are wasted on the management or staff as it is clearly grab the money while they can but with such a lovely location this hotel should not be in the hands of people who don't want to do the job.

Room Tip: Don't go. It really will spoil what should be a special time
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank btrapp786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

The hotel is just so close to Aragonese Castle of Ischia Island. This area called as Ischia Ponte. Not in a centre where there is a port. You can reach with bus so easy because bus stop is in front of the hotel. Firstly it doesnt seems like a 4 star hotel. We have been there for 2 night with my boyfriend on March. The room was very clean and was big with a balcony and has a beautiful panorama of Aragonese Castle. But for 4 star hotel, inside of the room there was nothing. No slippers, no water, no tea& coffee, no wifi. I never had a line for my cell phone. Also paints of the room was become old. The breakfast was so poor too. The plates, knifes, forks were not in so clean condition. Maybe in summer time they care more their hotel but in winter time they should care too; otherwise better they close the hotel like others that we saw in Ischia Island. The stuff was kind and smiling , we love this, but only this :)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank THEGZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELDELFINIISCHIA, Direttore at Delfini Strand Hotel Terme, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Right from the first moment in this hotel is characterized by arrogance and unprofessionalism an incredible dirt. In the hotel I had paid for two nights 12 and 14 March 2017, but as it has addressed the immense hotel in which I stayed days before I decided to stay even for one day extra Sorriso wellness resort and spa ( which was perfect) by 12 March within circuit after Ischia I came on March 12 to accommodate Strand Hotel Delfini. I got room number 301. March 13 I also came with baggage. What was my horror and surprise when the receptionist refused me a room key with a team that has not yet been tidy in vain .. I explained that I stayed yesterday I only dont slept in the room and therefore have nothing to clean up. I have not been understood. elderly lady on reception was incredibly annoyed and shouted something in Italian. No one ever does not understand English. Nobody does not understand to any other language. Finally they called to the Director of the hotel which I status clarified. He then was given a room key. The room was musty and very cold. I asked why the telephone number of the director of the hotel, which I asked for burnings in the room and taxi to 8:00. when I came into the room in the evening was also smelling and unheated again, I claimed for state rooms. After an hour repairman who came not correct. It was the worst night in the worst hotel. If the owner of the hotel knows the off-season run continuously establishes the standard of the hotel should close it. Significant unprofessional staff, however, was the biggest disappointment. I do not recommend !!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333ivona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELDELFINIISCHIA, Direttore at Delfini Strand Hotel Terme, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.1 km away
Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice
1.0 km away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#4 of 70 in Ischia
1,188 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
1.1 km away
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
#15 of 70 in Ischia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfini Strand Hotel Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfini Strand Hotel Terme

Address: Via Carta Romana 68, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ischia
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#20 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#23 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: €47 - €513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfini Strand Hotel Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive spots on the whole island of Ischia awaits you for a holiday amid the wonders of the nature surrounding us, without having to do without the comforts of a more central area.The Hotel Delfini is like a jewel set between greenery and sea, overlooking the Cartaromana bay with its famous natural thermal pools, Sant’Anna rocks, the fifteenth century Guevara Tower and the Aragonese Castle’s ancient manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delfini Strand Hotel Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing