We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
145
217
108
47
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
217
108
47
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view mulberry harbour gold beach hotel restaurant superb location normandy beaches croissants overlooking the beach both nights half board wine list tea and coffee sea front car parking top floor baguette france
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

You pay for the location which ia stunning but nothing in the hotel matched it.

Very expensive restaurant with mediocre food. Charged 6 euros for a bottle for the room as no complimentary water provided.
Staff pleasant but very rushed with little time for you.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Sir, we have read your comment and we regret that your experience in our restaurant disapointed you.
We are surprised that you qualify the dishes as mediocre since the Chef only accept fresh and quality local products in his kitchen! He has the title of Maître Restaurateur that means that we have daily deliveries of seafood, fishes and so on. We have great and professionnal relationships with the local productors for years and so we cannot understand your words about what is served in our restaurant.
Regarding the service, there are some days with little rush and so the waiters cannot always spend lot of time with guests but during summer time that is not an unusual situation for a beach restaurant. We hope you come back some days so you may change your severe opinion... Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

The manager does not accept reservation changes so that he get paid twice.
Just a good way to cheat customers!
The restaurant staf does not care about guests: they seem to believe that view is everything...

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Sir, as we cannot write 'Dear customer' since you never stayed in our hotel.

You have made a reservation that you wanted to cancel at the very last minute and you didn't accept the cancellation policy. You were informed, though, when you reserved.

Readers of this website look for information, real information so we ignore you comment as you wish is to harm us as a revenge...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Great location, with an unobscured view of the sea 10m away. At first glance the Hotel and bar appears to be quite classy and at the higher end of the scale price wise. However the prices were reasonable and the hotel surroundings very nice, service was friendly, attentive and very good. Probably the best place to enjoy a drink in style in Arromanches.
Didn’t try the food but it looked very good. Bar was closed on the next night which was a Wednesday when we tried at 22:30hrs.

Room Tip: try a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank christopherpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We stayed here two nights and we loved it! Our room looked out over the ocean. Room was so beach and pretty. Breakfast was delicious. We dined both nights in their restaurant and the view and food outstanding.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Pamjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights to tour the Normandy beaches. It was booked through Brittany Ferries and we expected something quite basic. It exceeded expectations. The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant were clean and well presented. the food was surprisingly good as was the wine list - much better than expected and not surprising that the restaurant was full each night, even though it was during the week in October. Nice views out on the beaches and Mulberry harbour (although our room had views more of the building next door.

Service in the hotel and restaurant was very good and friendly

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CM_Farnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews