We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia shangri la”
Review of Jacob Swartz House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Market
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Swartz House
Ranked #1 of 3 New Market B&B and Inns
Columbia, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Virginia shangri la”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights at the Jacob Swartz House in early August 2011. From he moment that we drove down the long country road and were warmly greeted by Virginia, we knew that we were in for a special experience!. Her lovely home and adjoining guest house are surrounded by old trees and country gardens which she lovingly looks after daily. The roomy and exquisite guest house couldn't be more homey and comfortable. Virginia has obviously gone to great lengths to provide all the comforts of home and decorate each room in a unique and beckoning fashion. Then of course comes the scrumptious breakfasts, served graciously by Virginia each morning, artistically presented.! Add to all of this Virginia's Southern charm and hospitality and those much anticipated afternoon desserts, and you have the makings of a memorable getaway and a place that we surely look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen and Marti... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hard to find a place suitable for traveling with a 3month old, but Jacob Swartz house was perfect. Hidden between a corn field and the river, it couldn't have a prettier setting. Virginia is a charming and gracious hostess. Despite sweltering July temps, we could not have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank r a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This place is beyond a B&B! My sister and I stayed here for 3 days/nights in late October-early Nov 2010. We were very pleasantly surprised at the coziness of the cottage, the roominess, the cleanliness, the stocked pantry, the amenities too many to list here! Virginia is a MOST gracious host, bringing wonderful breakfasts every morning, and delicious desserts every afternoon. She pointed out things to do in the area, and the books on the area are everywhere in the cottage. There is a TV room with local TV and a DVD player if you get bored ( we didn't!). Birds were abundant at the feeders, and I heard a kingfisher on the river below. If I stayed here again (and I hope I get the chance!), I would bring some food for dinner and enjoy the evenings on the patio. What a find!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank birdergirlColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

What can I say, our stay at the Jacob Swartz House was beyond belief. Virginia, the owner of the cottage, couldn't have been more gracious. Her breakfasts and late afternoon desserts were wonderful. My husband and I ate breakfast each morning on the beautiful terrace amidst the many hummingbirds and the sound of the river below. The cottage was adorable and was equipped with anything you could possibly need. Our only regret was that we had to leave. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelingTangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcmclain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We went for a hot air balloon ride actually in Oct. of 2008. Our ride was the first thing the morning, but after we got back, she told us to be hungry.! No disappointment here. She brought a fabulous breakfast to us. She provided materials with local things to do.
They had an interactive civil war reenactment one night and it was the best $10 we spent! The cottage is precious and my husbands favorite place was the screened in deck!
We want to go back again but live 11 hours away...... Hopefully we can. Virginia our host was the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcmclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Market
2.7 km away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
18.8 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
25.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
272 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn New Market  Battlefield
27.8 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Swartz House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Swartz House

Property: Jacob Swartz House
Address: 574 Jiggady Rd, New Market, VA 22844-2030
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > New Market
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Market
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing