We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
Destinia.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
8
17
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
17
12
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

Convenient to the train station and some local restaurants.
Check in was okay, reception lady helpful
Room was average but comfortable enough, nice to look over the river (although not seen in daylight).
Breakfast was average - sufficient choices
Would I use this hotel again - yes, it’s convenient and comfortable enough for 1 or 2 nights.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank BexterDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicSalo, Front Office Shift Manager at Scandic Salo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

Dear Bexter,
Thank you for your feedback.
Hopefully we will see you again!
Best regards,
Ellen
Front Office Shift Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2019

This city center hotel is located by the river.

The railway station, the market place, and the shopping center Plaza are located nearby. Also, the museums are within walking distance.

We booked the best room category which is Superior Plus. These four rooms on the top 4th floor have a spacious balcony with views over the river.

This is a former Cumulus Hotel and the rooms still have Cumulus-style furniture left. Wear and tear could be seen in many places.

The breakfast was pleasantly calm and the food selection was quite wide as in every Scandic Hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicSalo, General Manager at Scandic Salo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Dear Mikael,

Thank you for staying with us and your review. I'm pleased you liked our hotel. Positive feedback is always nice to hear and it motivates our staff to try even harder. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Marja Iitti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Location = Downtown
Parking = Outside free of charge from 6pm to 8am
Staff = courteous.
Style = modern.
Room = good.
Cleanliness = good.
Bathroom = good
Cleanliness = good
Restaurant = NO RESTAURANT
Breakfast = good but it should be improved.
Facilities = none.
PRICE = not expensive
REMARKS = the hotel is close to a department store. Some restaurants in the area. Free park in front.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mCZ_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicSalo, General Manager at Scandic Salo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Dear mCZ,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Marja Iitti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

I came to Salo on a short business trip, and this hotel was recommended to me because there isn't really anything else better.

I was told that this town was impacted negatively by Nokia (Microsoft) shutting down several years ago, and it shows because there's hardly anyone on the street after 7 PM.

Well, this hotel is clean and comfortable, and the staff is generally friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ok. So all in all, it's good enough.

By the way, if you drive, don't park directly in front of the hotel overnight, otherwise you may see your car covered up by bird drops.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BeHappy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicSalo, General Manager at Scandic Salo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Dear BeHappy858,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review. I'm pleased you liked our hotel but I am sorry to hear your issues with the city parking lot. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this aspect may have caused to you.

We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,
Marja Iitti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Excellent air conditioned room, friendly staff and very nice safe place to my motorbike. And a good breakfast! Salo -city is full of activities on summertime, there's nice market place longside the river also

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank SeppoKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScandicSalo, General Manager at Scandic Salo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2019

Dear SeppoKo,

We work hard to make our guests happy and really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your stay with us and your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Marja Iitti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews