We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”
Review of Nikolaas

Nikolaas
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Diksmuide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cozy restaurant with a good and frendly service. We only work with fresh and high Quality products , and that you wil see and taste .
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

When we arrived we got a free aperitief, due to the roadworks, which was very considerate. the weekend_menu existed out of garnaalkroketjes as a starter. You could tell they were house_made and tasted excellent! What i also noticed was the salad: the tomatoes were peeled(you don't find that anywhere exept in high quality places, and even then...) the dressing was amazing too! We had the vispannetje for main, of which the sauce was mmm. (I would just add a coquille to complete it ) ;) . Dessert was very original and reminded me of when my dad lived in the south of france. Nice surprise there... :). finally I would like to add this: keep your waiter and take good care of him, because someone who is so observant, friendly, is hard to find. The restaurant was full and the owner and waiter handeled it with which seemed ease and completed each other perfectly. Prices were correct and not over the top. Doe zo verder! We ' ll certainly come back. ~¿~

Thank Raf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Stop at Nikolaas today while visiting the beautiful town of Diksmuide. Granted it was late afternoon, however this does not excuse the poor service that we received. Upon arrival at the premises i enquired if they were serving food which the head 'waiter' confirmed they were. At this point the 'waiter' appeared friendly however having ourselves found suitable seating for our group we were then left waiting for a menu. Once the menu had been provided we were abruptly advised that only saled and snacks were available. When asked if fries were also available (dietary requirement due to gluten intolerance) we were told only if ordered with a main meal. After a further wait eventually our order was abruptly taken which included drinks and pancakes. Our order arrived and we enjoyed our pancakes. Once finished our plates were removed and one of our party asked the 'waiter' if he was unhappy, his reply was that he was not unhappy, however this was not how he came over as. We paid and left. Please note that one of our party requested tap water and was provided with a glass of water (no bottle) and subsequently charged €2.50. Summary - lovely town and setting however please address your customer service skills which left a lot to be desired. I have never left a poor review before today but feel that it is necessary.

Thank Harrybob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We went there because of the reviews but it did not meet our expectations. Interior decoration ok. Service ok, professional but no more. Table clothing not cotton but artificial fibers. Food was average, lacking some spirit. Minus point: oil used for fries was too old! Maybe better next time. Not worth the Certificate of excellence.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2015PAUL5102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagxk59, Eigenaar at Nikolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello, sorry it is not your cup of thé but everybody has a different opinium. And a other thing the table clothing are in coton , exep afther 14.00 Hours wen tearoom and snacks are served , You can come in the kitchen any time you want and check the oil its allways to standard norm . We are restaurant til 14.00 hour and brasserie depends how late you have being served .
Have a Nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

beautiful building in local architecture style - we were looking forward for a snack in the sun on the terrace. No food served on terrace. OK for drinks ; but we waited for half hour to be served whilst terrace was not full and inside their were ample people. no repeat visit for us.

Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagxk59, Eigenaar at Nikolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Hello, i'm suprised that the staff is not frendly ! Iff we don't serve food on the terrace its because eather we have no waiters enough or there is to much work in the kitchen !
That you have to wait for à half hour that is very long , i would-be gon in 15 minutes because thats allready long to sit and wait.
Have à nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and found a table in a sunny spot. The terrace filled with both tourist and locals. Easy to park your car as it is located on the marketsquare. The kitchen is non stop so no need to plan ahead but as it is rather busy you might want to make a reservation. The menu has something for every one's taste. From salads, to snacks, both fish and meat. A small menu, not too expensive. They also offer a few suggestions. The service is top. Waiters are very friendly and are speaking different languages.What comes on your plate is a treat for both the tongue and the eye. We were here by accident but our next visit will be planned.

1  Thank anaZaventem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nikolaas also viewed

Diksmuide, West Flanders Province
Diksmuide, West Flanders Province
 
Diksmuide, West Flanders Province
Diksmuide, West Flanders Province
 
Diksmuide, West Flanders Province
Diksmuide, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Nikolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing