We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
7
1
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
1
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I can start with the route to this hotel. Disaster ! Do not bother to go to this place with some nice car. You will ruin it, does not matter wether there is spring or winter. Parking area in front of the hotel is only for like 12 cars, so if the hotel is full, it is a big problem, because last two or three cars simply cannot go anywhere (my personal experience). I did not expect Ritz, but rooms for 5 people ? Ok can be. Bed for two people with size like 140 cm ? That is too much. Bathroom ? I was happy to see it working. Old, very old. I hated taking a shower there. Yes, staff was friendly, food ok, plenty of space downstairs, lots of entertainment, games, music, everything. If you are here only for skying and you do not care where you sleep, perfect. If you are tired after whole day and you want to take hot shower, and sit on comfortable bed with ambiente lights in the room, try something else.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned from a stay at Chalet Gastein. Location is somewhat at distance from the city centre as well as the main station. As the bus service in Bad Gastein showed a lot room for improvement that was a challenge being on a skiing trip having to connect to the buses going to the various lifts every day as well as to the centre. OK for hiking trip in summer time.
The apartment was quite spacious (think the space could have been better distributed between rooms though) and had a really nice view. Quality of beds was mixed and disappointing. The kitchen was quite new and nice, whereas the kitchenware was a mixed bag: not a good fit with respect to user requirements as well as number of people living in the apartment.
Service was a mixed experience as well. Staff was generally friendly. However, we learned the first morning that breakfast could not be served before 8.00 in the morning (house rules we were told), which we felt were a bit late. Also, the heating system for ski boots only were turned on during the day, which was insufficient.
In total I would rate the place at 2.5 and not be likely to return when going back to Bad Gastein.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Bad Gastein is really a small town and Chalet Gastein is a good place to stay. Warm and comfortable is not easy to find though. Owner is young and efficient, he love sport and mountains. Room for 8 is huge and with everything you need. Bus stop close enough but on the way back it's a bit uphill.Bring a car equipped for really low temperatures. Snow is wonderful especially for snowboarders.

Date of stay: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dude80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We went to Chalet Gastein in January 2011 and we had no expectations at all. We just booked a cheap hotel. As soon as we arrived we found out that the staff were very service minded and really caring for their guests. We were told that every day we would get breakfast and a three course dinner and that it was all included in the price. This we had no information about when we did our booking and the food was amazingly good. The staff gave us loads of information and we were also invited to go on an off-pist tour. This tour made the visit even better. The hotel is not situated directly at the lift but the bus stop is close and it takes 5-10 minutes to get there. The rooms are what you can expect of a two star hotel but we can really recommend this place because it is cheap, the food is great and the staff gives probably the best service you can imagine. Thanks Chalet Gastein it was great here./Peter and Fredrik from Sweden

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangerpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We went for ski holiday in the beginning of the season - December 2009 and it came out that most hotels and pensions were closed. We chose Chalet Gastein because it offered a choice of rooms and appartments. We stayed in the appartment which gave us opportunity to cook whatever we want. The room for two is rather small. It was rather cold in the room but it was mostly because we were the only ones in the whole hotel and in the begining of the season.
The owner of the chalet is very friendly and helpful but because we were the first guests we were on our own most of the time.
Skibus stop is rather close to chalet but on your way back you need to go highly up to it which sometimes hard especially in ski or snowboard boots. Buses go every hour. Also you need to change a bus at Bahnhof to get to Sportgastein. To stay here the best to get a car.
There are a lot of cafes and restaurants around and the city center is rather close.
The big advantage of this area is term springs where you can relax and recharge for a new day.
have a good holiday!

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews