We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mombacho Volcano
from US$120.00
More Info
from US$90.00
More Info
from US$58.75
More Info
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
633
310
102
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
310
102
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cloud forest puma trail coffee plantation great hike cloud cover longer hike visitor center park entrance steep road zip line truck ride hiking trails short hike easy hike lake nicaragua howler monkeys hour hike
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Our visit to the Mombacho volcano was a unique unforgettable experience for our whole family. We got to know the old volcano, enjoyed getting to know some birds, monkeys and very exotic trees and plants. We could look at the flora inside the volcano, we walked and enjoyed the view of Granada isletas in lake Cocibolca. Beautiful. Walk around amazed at all the beauty surrounding us.We chatted away in our group, took many pictures and we were glad we could rely on easy logistics to reach this wonderful place. It was a blessing of nature within our reach. Thank you

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank humbertoa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We were really disappointed that we didn't get a chance to see the volcano because of the protest occurring in nicaragua. The tour company should have cancelled it then waste our money and time. Instead, we took horse carriage around granada market, but there's not much to see/shop. They tried to make it up by taking us to the beach and Christ of mercy but I rather the tour be cancelled because the focus of tour was the volcano.
So just double check with tour company or go see another volcano.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Monicayeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

What an incredibly interesting and impressive place. From the time you drive through the 250 year old lava, you are going through an area steeped in history and rich in culture. We avoided the crowds and went in the afternoon. So we had the place to ourselves and that made it even more special. Alone with nature, looking down into the crater and up at the red tinged sky.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Mike594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Go to Volcano at Masaya as this one is a rip-off with high fees to get up hugely steep 5 kms. from entry gate only to see what may have been a crater but now covered in foliage and uninteresting. Two of our party did the "rim" trail and said it was not worth it.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Norma & Ala... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We only went on the shorter hike thru the cloud forest but our guide spent several hours explaining the vegetation & helping us to spot animals. The temperature was also a nice break from the heat of Granada.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank darina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews