We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
221
125
31
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
125
31
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel the main street la calzada noise from the street noisy at night best hotel in town the security guard excellent location bars and restaurants hot water small pool mombacho volcano central america fountain courtyard balcony nicaragua
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

As a member of a tour group visiting six countries in Central America I didn’t know quite what to expect in Nicaragua. I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the countryside, the history of the country and the friendliness of the people. Nicaragua is my favourite Central American country.

The entrance to the Dario Hotel is not very exciting. It looks like the front door of someone’s house but once inside you realise that your are entering a character property. Built in the early 19th century it has been refurbished and features lush plant filled courtyards. The hotel has 22 bedrooms and its facilities include a restaurant, gym, coffee shop and swimming pool.

I had two meals in the restaurant and both were excellent. The breakfasts were good too. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel, Calle La Calzada, is excellent. It is within walking distance of the cathedral. The area is full of reasonably priced bars and restaurants, some with live entertainment. Calzada is the place to be in the evenings.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

The building is lovey!! But the best thing about this hotel is d location! It is located in the main calzada where you can find a lot of restaurants bars. The room itself is nice but small n the decoration is ok but a bit bland having such a great building the rooms have potential for much better decoration with more character.The breakfast is very nice is buffet style with a selection of typical food, rice n black beans, tortilla, sour cream, sausages, bread. Fruits n cereals. Coffe id served in your table by very friendly waiters.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank orbec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Great location near Centro, absolutely beautiful flower-filled courtyard with a fountain, well-trained friendly staff, and really good food. The steaks were soooo tender and tasty. I could see myself happily staying here for several days.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always found the staff very helpful and nice and the facility is clean and nice and the food is good and healthy. Also, the location is very good with close proximity to central Granada and a good deal of activity in La Calzada, the street on which this hotel is located.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank VanesaK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

This is a lovely hotel in a great part of town. You should know that rooms facing the main street can have a lot of noise. We visited during the holiday season so there were many party goers and the crowds and music were very loud--both on the street cafes and in the hotel,and this went late. We also had a couple problems--not great plumbing or hot water, and the hotel double booked our last day and we had to leave to go to a different hotel. We had extended our stay by email which was confirmed to us by the hotel representative, and we had the email printed out and with us, but the hotel didn't honor this and the employee who confirmed the extra night no longer worked with the hotel. On the plus side, we enjoyed the setting, location, rooms, and lovely food. We thought the employees were really lovely!

Room tip: if you care about quiet you may need to stay farther away from the main street.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jade618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews