We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
941
182
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
182
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large balcony balcony room beautiful hotel the main square made to order eggs breakfast buffet central park perfect location people watching horse drawn courtyard pool carriage ride welcome drink rooms are spacious rental car nice pool loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at this magnificent hotel over Thanksgiving 2013. I can't say enough good things about this place. All the possible accolades must have been given by prior guests already. This is the kind of place you want to write a review about because it just does not come any better. It's not that the place abounds in luxury and posh. It's the perfect set-up for the locality, the jewel of a City that Granada is. The two go so well together that one will always have the perfect stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here while enjoying the sights in Grenada this month. I spent a long time looking for a hotel that had a good location (I can't think of a hotel in town that is better placed) and had some colonial charm. This hotel hits it on both counts. My expectations were definitely exceeded when I saw the beautiful courtyard area with pool and our lovely room. There were a few unexpected bonuses as well including the complimentary cocktails in the very nice hotel bar overlooking the plaza and our delicious poolside breakfast. The best part of this hotel however is the staff. They were very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They also were extremely helpful in coordinating our transfers to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCorbett02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have been to Granada twice and have enjoyed the small hotels families have to offer as well as larger ones such as Hotel Plaza Colon. Granada has a place for everyone no matter what your needs are, on this trip we chose Colon after roughing it for eight nights on Little Corn Island. It was a nice transition.

We spent four nights over the New Year's celebration at Hotel Plaza Colon after our Little Corn Island adventure. From the moment we arrived, the staff treated as if we were family. I can't say thank them enough for the care and attention they paid to the grounds, the food, the drinks, the rooms, and our requests for walking tours and such.

The staff at the front desk, Carlos, Roberto, Virginia, and Nelson were so welcoming and helpful. No matter what we needed or I overheard other guest requesting, this staff always found a way to YES! Not once did I hear them deny a question or request. They would simply find a way to assist. GREAT STAFF! (Even the guards which are common throughout Nicaragua, were friendly and welcoming.)

The rooms at this hotel were clean and well worth the cost. Great bathrooms, comfortable beds, a TV (didn't need it), dresser, fridge, safe, and phone. We had one room on the first level next to the pool that could get loud when kids are playing, but after 7pm it was very quiet. Our other family members had a second floor room with a balcony and that was SWEET! During the winter holidays, there are many things to watch with processions and such in the streets.

One of the other things that can't be beat is Hotel Plaza Colon's breakfasts. The breakfast buffet was top-notch. Eggs cooked perfectly by Hazell any way you'd like. Juan, Anyelo and another gentleman (Drats, I can't recall his name!) waited on tables each morning serving coffee. THe moment they saw us approaching they'd pour your coffee and remember the amount of cream and you preferred. They seriously are all about service and doing so by remembering little details.

A big THANK YOU to the staff for a wonderful stay. We look forward to our return someday.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room that does not run along a street. We could hear cars, and such. Not too bad really, but thought there are some who may like something quieter. AND... a second floor room with a balcony looking onto the plaza is well worth the extra money. You'll sit and people watch all day
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family of four enjoyed every moment of of our stay in this hotel and highly recommend it. The air conditioned rooms are large and beautiful. The hotel pool was clean and provided a welcome break from our amazing excursions. The staff is friendly and helpful. The front desk is efficient and the concierge arranged great tours from one day to the other for us. Breakfasts - in a beautiful buffet setting - are the only meals served in the hotel but there are so many cafés and restaurants in walking distance and even next to the hotel. It is worthwhile a trip to Granada before it will be discovered by mass tourism.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Gerlinde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel Plaza Colon. When you stepped through the courtyard it was a little oasis. The staff and the breakfast were exceptional. The fireworks on the square were quite loud on Christmas, so we were happy to have a room with an indoor balcony.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thewitzbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews