We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!”
Review of The Bearded Monkey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bearded Monkey
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I stayed there only one night. I woke up in the middle of the night because I was itchy. I looked at my mattress and it was covered in bed bugs. I went to sleep in a hammock. In the morning, the owner told me HE KNEW about the bed bugs. I though it was pretty bad that the owner knew and still gave me that bed (when there were other beds available). He didn't even offer any kind of compensation and didn't apologize!
The hostel itself is not bad. There is a big common area with tables and hammocks. There is a cat and 2 bunnies. The kitchen is quite small.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Checked in. Then read the reviews. Having spent 3 nights here then returned for another they seem harsh (unless it was a stuff stolen one then fair enough).
It's budget accommodation. No frills, no shiny stuff but ok. We had a private room which was clean and functional.
The kitchens ok as are the toilets and showers. Not sure what people are expecting for low price in expensive Granada. It's better than the noisy party hostel with bed bugs we were in before.
The rabbits are cute too

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Wow. We were shocked. We read about this hostel in the LP. It's the worst hostel we've stayed in. Not what LP promised. Just don't go. Employees sleep in the hammock all day and it's basicely a construction area. A real mess, with some shelters to sleep in. A lot of trash and it looks dirty. Not cosy or a nice place to meet other people. Looked kinda empty too.
Granada has a lot of cool hostels. Just find another one. Same rate, beter place.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We stayed here for three nights and had a private room. Staff was in the process of re-painting two rooms while we were there and the manager was shy but helpful and kind. Linens are washed by hand in the back of the hostel and on our last night, my husband woke up with bites from bedbugs. We paid $15 a night and booked a tour to Apoyo through them, and it was a pretty quiet atmosphere with pet bunnies, a turtle and a cat. Many hotels and hostels were booked because of peak season, and we tried spending less time there and focused on site-seeing. The owners should invest in new beds, fixing up their kitchen, baths and bar. Some of what you see in the pictures no longer exists upon arrival.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The private rooms are clean and effort was put into the presentation of the linen. Breakfast was delicious and the artwork around the hostel is striking. Definitely recommend it for a budget stay because of the location.

Room Tip: Get private rooms on the top floor for privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Puja9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#18 of 45 in Granada
414 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
704 reviews
0.6 km away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 71 in Granada
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bearded Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bearded Monkey

Address: Avenida 14 de Septiembre, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bedrock of Granada's backpacker scene, The Bearded Monkey is both a chilled and relaxed hang-out but with a friendly and sociable buzz. Friends and strangers alike lounge around carefree in hammocks and swinging chairs whilstA range of accommodation options are available here. Three spacious dormitories with a total of 30 beds provide the bulk of them, priced at $6 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bearded Monkey Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing