We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bearded Monkey
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Agua(Granada)
US$76
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Cubana(Granada)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Silas B & B(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge(Isletas de Granada)(Great Value!)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$111
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
20
23
39
30
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
23
39
30
53
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Wow. We were shocked. We read about this hostel in the LP. It's the worst hostel we've stayed in. Not what LP promised. Just don't go. Employees sleep in the hammock all day and it's basicely a construction area. A real mess, with some shelters to sleep in. A lot of trash and it looks dirty. Not cosy or a nice place to meet other people. Looked kinda empty too.
Granada has a lot of cool hostels. Just find another one. Same rate, beter place.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We stayed here for three nights and had a private room. Staff was in the process of re-painting two rooms while we were there and the manager was shy but helpful and kind. Linens are washed by hand in the back of the hostel and on our last night, my husband woke up with bites from bedbugs. We paid $15 a night and booked a tour to Apoyo through them, and it was a pretty quiet atmosphere with pet bunnies, a turtle and a cat. Many hotels and hostels were booked because of peak season, and we tried spending less time there and focused on site-seeing. The owners should invest in new beds, fixing up their kitchen, baths and bar. Some of what you see in the pictures no longer exists upon arrival.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The private rooms are clean and effort was put into the presentation of the linen. Breakfast was delicious and the artwork around the hostel is striking. Definitely recommend it for a budget stay because of the location.

Room Tip: Get private rooms on the top floor for privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Puja9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in the dorm. The $5 per night is attractive but don't expect any luxury.

We came on the recommendation of the lonely planet Central America on a shoestring book but I'd say this place has definitely got different owners now. The staff speak a little English but not a lot and some of the things in the book like the screening of indie films definitely don't happen. The kitchen is a state, and you'll need your own pots, pans, plates and cutlery.

The dorms were reasonably clean and tidy and the ceiling fans make the heat bearable. The courtyard is a lovely place to chill with the hammocks, rabbits, cats and tortoises. I wouldn't rate the security of the place very highly as quite a lot of the time the staff manning reception are actually in one of the dorms watching films and you can let yourself in the front gate pretty easily.

We did meet some really lovely and interesting people here though and they really enriched our trip to Grenada so I'd recommend on the basis of the clientele rather than the hostel itself.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The owner is really awesome.
The room is clean and everything is at good price.
Best place for granada.
The is few animals that are really cute that live in that hostel.
You may be woke up by a rabbit that is liking your finger if you left the door open !

We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews