We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, overall”
Review of The Bearded Monkey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bearded Monkey
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We spent our last two nights in Nicaragua at the Bearded Monkey. The hostel itself has this great, big, commons area with a garden courtyard, tables & chairs, a bar, bookshelves etc. This is a great place for backpackers.

The happy hour at the bar is a great deal, and has some seriously tasty drinks. Try the Nicaragua "national" drink (can't remember the name--but it's blended orange, and guava juices with rum, and it is AWESOME).

The staff was super friendly, helpful. Also there was free internet/computers in the commons area--which is always a welcome site.

My friend and I were given a room in the "Hidden Monkey" part of the hostel, which is disconnected from the main building --kind of dingy, and very quiet. I wasn't particularly fond of this spot, and would recommend trying to get a room in the dorms--more fun, more going on, etc. But it was private, and quiet, if that's what you're looking for.

One rather strange piece of advice; bring a travel/pocket mirror if you ever think you might need one. There wasn't a single mirror in the bathrooms/rooms. Also a word of warning: the beds were insanely uncomfortable, and the rooms were hot. But whatever, it's Nicaragua-- and it was around $6/each per night, so really I can't complain.

Like I said a good experience, overall.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The Bearded Monkey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

As previous reviewers have stated, the beds here are BAD. I've stayed in over 50 hostels in South and Central America and these beds win the award. Mattresses are paper thin and the pillows resemble a less than half empty bag of wool. Plus noise at night is not controlled. bunch of people came in at 3am and sat around talking loudly and playing music right outside the dorms, nothing was done about this despite the presence of a night worker.

Internet is turned off at midnight, for reasons unknown to me.

I wont be staying here on my next visit to Granada and I wont be recommending it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We shuttled to Granada our first night arriving in Nicaragua and without making reservations anywhere decided to try the Bearded Monkey. They had no privates available but we grabbed a dorm room for $6/night as we were only staying 2 nights. First impressions of the hostel were good, the centre courtyard is beautiful with hammocks/common area and seemed to have a good vibe. Our dorm room had 5 bunk beds with a few ceiling fans. When we grabbed the only bunk left however, the folded sheet on my bed was dirty - looked like mud or dirt on it! The 'mattresses' are tiny little foam pads (Really for $6 I'm not complaining about this but they were seriously almost transparent!) My boyfriend and I grabbed the foam from the top bunk and tried doubling up our foamies and slept on one bunk together to try and be more comfortable....we could STILL feel the wooden bunk underneath us!
The communal washrooms are at the back of the hostel with basic showers (cold water)
The location is pretty good, we walked everywhere and never used a taxi, even at night we felt comfortable.
Staff was nice at best, compared to other hostels we stayed at. Not overly friendly or talkative. Didn't try the food but it was nice that they had a fridge with water/gatorade for purchase.
All in all this is an ok budget hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjsmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

At the bearded monkey, the private rooms are in a separate building a couple of doors down the street. There are no staff on duty there, just a security gate with a spring to keep it shut. The bars on the gate are easily bent out the way meaning that anybody has access to the private rooms at any time of the day. Coupled with the fact that a private room is a concrete box with 1 set of un-barred louvre windows (glass slats), 1 electric socket and a fan (so you can either have a fan or charge your camera/ipod..) and 1 bed with a 2 inch thick foam mattress, means you have a security nightmare. It is so easy to take the panes of glass out of louvre windows that they are basically big burgler catflaps. And there's no form of locker at all in the rooms, so either you carry all your stuff around with you all day or spend all day hanging out in your room to stop people stealing it (which several worried groups of people were doing the day we were there).

It is funny reading through previous reviews, because we also experienced no water. Everyone who wanted to shower, brush their teeth or use the toilets had to walk down the street to the main bearded monkey place (where the dorm rooms are) to use facilities there. So even though they've had the problem for months, they haven't done anything about it.

It also looks like the crime problems have not been looked into at all, as funnily enough the night before we checked in yet another private room was cleaned out of all its contents while the people staying in it had popped out to grab some dinner. They passed us in the doorway on the way out and gave us a friendly warning. Since then, everybody we've met on road who stayed there had their own stories about things being stolen from the private rooms, it looks like its an almost daily occurance.

It leads you to ask what sort of management runs the place? Well, you can see in the reviews he says if you have a problem, come and ask him. We did that - after a night of little sleep and barricading ourselves into our room, we approached the manager on checkout as soon as the front desk opened to complain and request a reduction in the ridiculously overpriced rooms (they would have been overpriced even if there was water and security, but we thought they were taking the mickey without them). He was having none of it, did not give a damn about the lack of security and said the water isn't his fault it's the cities fault that there's no water. The final cherry on top was when, in his broken english he basically told us to stuff off and that "we can't cater to *perfect* travellers like you". I said to him on parting that I'd leave an honest review on tripadvisor, and so here I am.

We've been travelling through central america for 6 months now, have stayed in nearly 50 different hostels and this had by far the worst security and the most pathetic management we've experienced. It was also the most over priced for what we got by a long way. But there were some upsides to the hostel - the dorm rooms there looked fine and reasonably priced, the setup of the main part of the hostel was great around an old colonial courtyard and there is proper security in the main part too. So if you're after a dorm bed, stay there with pleasure. We didn't eat there, preferring to explore the town and eat out, so I can't comment on the food except to say the prices looked a bit high for what we saw coming out the kitchen (the bar was also rather on the expensive side too, with prices roughly 40% higher than the hostel we stayed in in Leon). Oh and if you want to bring in your own drinks, they have signs all over the place proclaiming that they are also a public restaurant and bar and so if you do bring your own stuff in, each bottle will have a USD $5 corkage fee applied to your tab. Take that as a warning that you musn't bring alcohol in and that literally anybody off the street is welcome into the establishment. And as a final word of warning, just please, please, please stay away from the terrible, overpriced, dangerous private rooms!

Room Tip: Go for a dorm, stay away from privates.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mccdyl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here for one night as it was recommended from lonely planet. As we checked another backpacker told us his room hadd been broken into the night before and had everything stolen, we still decided to stay anyway as we had already paid. At about 5am we woke up to someone trying to break into our room while we were sleeping. About 30 mnutes later they tried to break into another girls room who they'd been watching and knew the girls were in there and awake. Very dodgy. Rooms and beds were small and Ok, shower didnt work as "there was no water left'. Probably the worst place ive staryed throughout all my travels in south and central america. We didnt stay in the dorms but our friends did and had no problems maybe just stay away from Private rooms..Location was pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AUS-Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
7.8 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
0.6 km away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 72 in Granada
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bearded Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bearded Monkey

Address: Avenida 14 de Septiembre, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bedrock of Granada's backpacker scene, The Bearded Monkey is both a chilled and relaxed hang-out but with a friendly and sociable buzz. Friends and strangers alike lounge around carefree in hammocks and swinging chairs whilstA range of accommodation options are available here. Three spacious dormitories with a total of 30 beds provide the bulk of them, priced at $6 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bearded Monkey Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing