We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On time and comfortable transfers”
Review of Nicaragua Escapade

Nicaragua Escapade
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I hired Nicaragua Escapade 2x for transfers and both times the driver Francisco arrived timely and didn't get lost like the previous driver I hired. Communication was on point especially since I hired them at the last minute and they were fortunately able to accommodate us. Rodolfo, the owner, was very professional in his communications and had pretty good rates. They also do tours and I wouldn't hesitate to hire them for that too but we just didn't want to leave our hotels. You can't go wrong with Rodolfo of Nicaragua Escapade.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank lv2trvlevrywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"western union"
in 9 reviews
"san juan del sur"
in 8 reviews
"fluent in english"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 7 reviews
"masaya volcano"
in 7 reviews
"city tour"
in 3 reviews
"always on time"
in 2 reviews
"isletas tour"
in 2 reviews
"rodolfo"
in 68 reviews
"francisco"
in 19 reviews
"driver"
in 41 reviews
"transportation"
in 19 reviews
"nicaragua"
in 55 reviews
"tours"
in 32 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Ruddy arranged both a city tour and a kayak tour of the Isletas for us on our recent trip to Nicaragua. On his recommendation we switched the kayak tour to the morning to avoid rain. Perfect! His guides spoke excellent English, were on time and fun! I just wish we had used his services while we were staying at Mombacho Lodge, where our driver and guides, (with the exception of the Volcano) only spoke Spanish. Made for rather lack lustre tours.

I was at first hesitant to use Western Union in case there was a problem, but I needn't have worried.

If you're visiting Nicaragua, don't hesistate to use Ruddy.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Rodolfo set up a night tour of the volcano at Masaya. It was incredible!!! If you do nothing else, do this tour. Rodolfo also handled quite a bit of transportation for us. His drivers were friendly, personable, always on time, and, most of all, safe drivers. Thank you, Rodolfo, for all your help.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank joemccarthysghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodolfoNicaragua, Owner at Nicaragua Escapade, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

It is very important for us to provide the best service no matter how small the service is, Masaya Volcano at night is most definetely somehting to do while in Nicaragua. Our drivers are all well experienced and we provide the best vehicle possible for the comfort of out clients, i am glad that everything went great for you, thanks for your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We just returned from a six-night stay in Nicaragua in early August with 17 family members in all, spanning three generations. We relied on Rodolfo (aka, “Rudy”) for our roundtrip airport transfers to/from our resort -- as well as two full days of excursions.

With respect to the roundtrip airport transfers, Rudy’s drivers (both named Marvin) were punctual and courteous -- for the return trip to the airport, we arrived with plenty of time to navigate the gridlock that is Managua airport. The buses that Rudy provided comfortably fit all 17 of us, including our luggage -- and the air-conditioning worked great (a huge plus in the stifling heat).

We booked two different tours with Rudy, The first was the Granada City + Isletas Tour. Granada is Rudy’s hometown and so he knows it like the back of his hand. In the morning, he took us on a walking tour of the city, showing us the main sites in the city. We then stopped off at a local bistro for a delicious lunch before heading to Lake Nicaragua for a boat tour of the Isletas de Granada. I highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to experience Granada.

The second tour was a nighttime visit to the Masaya Volcano. Before we visited the volcano, Rudy took us to Catarina, which gives you amazing views of Laguna de Apoyo (a volcanic lake) down below -- see the photo I posted with the review. You can take postcard-quality photos of the lake from here. After Catarina, we went to the Masaya Arts & Crafts Market to do some shopping. We finished the tour at the Masaya Volcano, which was the highlight of the excursion, with the lava bubbling down below. Because the tour ended at night, we asked Rudy to take us to a nice restaurant in Managua for dinner -- it was a delicious meal and a welcome change from the food we were eating at the resort.

Having previously lived in the U.S. for a decade, Rudy’s English is impeccable and he is able to explain things to American tourists in a way that they will easily understand. He deftly handled the many questions we threw at him about Nicaragua (we knew very little before our trip). Rudy was also very good about showing us an unvarnished “real” look at Nicaragua without any sugar-coating -- something that many in our group appreciated. Sometimes you will run into guides that are only willing to talk about the good things about their country. Not Rudy, who wanted to show us both good and not-so-good.

The best part about hiring Rudy was how responsive he is. Even though we peppered him with daily e-mails about our airport transfers and excursions, he was quick to respond via e-mail each and every time. I cannot say the say for some of his competitors in Nicaragua, some of whom took days to respond to e-mail inquiries. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, please note that Rudy will require a 50% deposit before confirming a booking -- this is customary and perfectly fine, so no need to worry.

Trust me -- if you book Rudy at Nicaragua Escapade, you will be extremely thankful that you did -- Rudy is amazing!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank thomasy573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodolfoNicaragua, Owner at Nicaragua Escapade, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thomas

Thank you so much for your review, it was awesome to be part of that family trip, you have a lovely family and i am really happy that you emjoyed Nicaragua, the last meal was a night to remember, everybody was happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Rudy and Nicaragua Escapade made our trip to Granada phenomenal. We did three day trips with Rudy over the course of three days: The first was the Granada city tour to get our bearings, on the second day we went to Mombacho/Laguna de Apoyo and finished with the Classic Masaya tour. All were great, including Laguna which exceeded expectations. Rudy did a great job of connecting with three generations of my family and sharing all aspects of Nicaragua for which he is very proud. Having gone to high school in the States, Rudy's English is flawless and he is able to cross culturally relate his experiences in the US to those in Nicaragua. Ask him to take you to the fish restaurant with the dirt floor in the outskirts of town. It was one of our most memorable meals in Nicaragua and one that you will never find on your own.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank KarlaMihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodolfoNicaragua, Owner at Nicaragua Escapade, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Jeffrey

Thanls so much for your review, it wa sgreat to spend time with your family and celebrate a pretend to be birthday. Hope everybody is doing great and remember Nicaragua is always waiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicaragua Escapade also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Nicaragua Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing