We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympic games on TV and good food”
Review of The White Elephant

The White Elephant
Ranked #46 of 276 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Thai, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The White Elephant is located on White Sands Beach, opposite to Top Resort. Features: The Islands largest selection of beers from all over the world - Free pool table with high quality accessories - Choose your own music: Music Station - Extensive winelist - Champagne and Prosecco - International Menu with Nordic, English and German specialities - Nordic quavits/schnaps/bitters. - Koh Chang's No. 1 Sports Bar - we show it all! - Friendly atmosphere - a place for all the family! - Nordic "snus" and candy on sale. - Lounge area With Xbox 360/Playstation and many games!
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed good food while watching the winther olympics. The service is ok, but far from great. A smile goes a long way. We visited twice and both times most of (not all of!) the staff seemed bored and uninterested. (After several years in the service industry myself, I might have high expectations.)

Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Not a pleasant visit at all.
- staff inattentive. We had to sit and wave our arms just to get their attention to order some drinks. Finally got our drinks. Then then waiter takes the meal order from 2 of us and walks off. We then call him over and ask if the last two please can order too!? He looked a bit puzzled and then walked back to pick up his notepad to take their order.
- the food was low standard. The steak came out rare and had to be cooked more to get the medium we asked for.
The spareribs was tasteless and seemed like the had been boiled/ steamed and then smeared some sauce on top.
On the plus side the pork schnitzel with the capsicum sauce was very tasty.
The beer selection is very good.

A HUGE letdown was that they advertise that you can buy Scandinavian lollies. I got SO excited being from Denmark but living in Australia. I went to pick up some bags to buy and checked the best before date. It said 2015 and July 2017!! Shocking. The worst thing is i notified the staff and showed it to him and he started laughing!?
He didn't even take it of the shelf! He then went back to play pool with another staff!
Wow wow wow.
We paid our bill and left quickly.

2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankN-TH, Owner at The White Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Michelle P. Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant and Bar.
First of all I have to say we are sad that you were disappointed with your visit, but there is a few inaccuracies with your review that does not make sense...
1. You had to sit and wave your arms to get service: We have service bells on all tables so there is no need to "waive your arms". It sounds like you haven't been to our place at all...
2. You order drinks and the waiter might think you did not want to order food? The mixup is cleared up and you order food. Problem?
3. Food was low standard: Really? You say the Schnitzel was very tasty! For the Steak, it is difficult sometimes to know what people mean by "medium". The steak was cooked to medium but you wanted it somewhere between medium and well done. We sorted that out and you did not mention anything about the quality of the steak... Strange.
For the spareribs: tasteless but yet sauce on the top. Please make up your mind.
4. This is the big issue: Candy past it's best before date. I have personally checked all the candy today and cannot find any that is best before 2015. This is a blatant lie. For the candy that was best before December 2017: well it is hard to get and we live on a small island. In any case CANDY does not go bad after a best before date. That's why it states "best before" not "expires".
AND you have the right to not buy the candy of course, so to make this the "HUGE" part of your review just shows you want to hurt our business and I am sorry but I cannot accept that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Staying opposite the White Elephant, I ventured inside and discovered that not only do they have a wide range of drinks, they have an excellent menu encompassing Thai and Western food, especially German or Scandinavian.

I first went here in the evening and found that the service was excellent, the staff being very friendly and all speaking good English. The bar is open daily until 0200hrs and food is served until 0100hrs.

I also had breakfast here and sampled a full English and also the Nordic breakfast, which although at a very reasonable price, contained very good quality smoke salmon.

I would highly recommend this bar for both eating and drinking. It is also suitable for families and people if any age.

A great bar on a great island! I shall return!

Thank Pauly1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The longer you are away from home(Australia) the more you crave it.
The white elephant was like an Oasis after 6 weeks in Thailand.
Friendly and efficient service with a good variety of food on offer.
The food was tasty and well prepared, and the place was clean.
Many sports on different televisions and plenty of options for cold beer.
Overall well done to the management and staff here, we will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neald328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Great little sports bar with good burgers. Stay away from the craft brews as most of these are rather skunky. Poor Thai brewers need to brew their beer in Laos or Australia and by the time it hits the bar it taste like a skunk Heineken.

Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Elephant also viewed

 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to The White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing