We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for pre-teens”
Review of Natural Bridge Wax Museum - CLOSED

Natural Bridge Wax Museum
Attraction details
Castro Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Fun for pre-teens”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

This Wax Museum is a fun place for kids. Our 8 year old daughter loved it. But for adults it is simply painful. You have to strectch your imagination to believe that the figure you are looking at is George Washington or John Wayne. And the figure of Elvis was really sad. But our daughter has no idea what these should look like, so she had a great time.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    54
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“free with bridge ticket- otherwise skip it”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We went in because it was free with the bridge ticket but otherwise I would have skipped it.
It is dated and pretty dark in there which might scare some little kids.

When you get to the end of the museum you are forced to wait at a door to the Last Supper presentation for up to 8 minutes. You can only enter between presentations.
We stayed for the presentation which is a life-sized replica of the Last Supper. They also have some other figurines of Jesus behind the table.

We only had to wait six minutes but I think they should make another exit so you can leave and not have to wait.

There is a very short free self-guided factory tour where they make the wax figures in the basement which was kind of interesting.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank OCcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Price included in admission to the Natural Bridge. Would have skipped it.”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Admission to Natural Bridge was $18 (as of 9-03-09) which included the price of the Wax Museum and the Toy Museum. The Wax Museum was very dark inside. Small lights focused on the faces of the figures. The first 3/4 of the museum was mainly dealing with Native Indians and the Confederacy. The remaining two sections were American Presidents and The Last Supper. The American Presidents were done very nicely and well lighted. At the end of this section you had to wait behind a closed door for the Last Supper presentation. No way out and the wait could be as long as 8 minutes. I just wanted to exit but had no choice but to wait. Because it is included in the price of admission I would recommend a "blow by" but really not worth paying extra for. SKIP the TOY Museum unless you're a guy and love little minauture Army soldiers, He Man or other war fighters. Only a few scant girl's items and totally not reminiscent of old toys.

Helpful?
3 Thank Pho2Freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Nothing here worth it. Poor likneses in wax. Corny. Boring.

Helpful?
1 Thank ThinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not my favorite wax museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

it was very short and last room took too long for someone not into that stuff, and you have to wait 8 mins to get in, or you cant leave. but you can take lots of pix while you are in there. we missed the factory part and had to go back, but that was not so interesting and very short and sweet.

Helpful?
2 Thank lemondropz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Natural Bridge Wax Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing