We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$141
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Craddock Terry Hotel(Lynchburg)
US$184
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amherst Inn(Amherst)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Lynchburg)(Great Value!)
US$80
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastside Suites(Lynchburg)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Lynchburg(Lynchburg)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
3
4
0
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
0
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfort monroecasemate museumcamp storeospreymosquitoeshamptonshower
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

This small park is attached to Ft Monroe National Mon.
Called the "colonies" because there are only 13 full sites, each named after one of the original 13 colonies. Spacious. Nice store. Walk tobeach or nearby fort and museum.


Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Place is amazing. Location location location. The beach is a 1 minute walk, fishing peir 5 min drive, its in historical Fort Monroe, their is a great restaurant with pool and beach access with lifeguards within a 5 min walk. Camped and fished right from our site. They delivered us wood and a fire pit, just awesome!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My husband and I planned to spend our Memorial weekend camping here for a relaxed time and my husband is a military veteran. My husband got to the campsite early to pay for our site due to the fact that they do not accept reservations. He came home to get all our camping equipment and we returned to the campsite. Upon our entrance to the camping area, we noticed that someone was set up on our spot that we had already paid for. We go into the office to inform the guy who had taken our payment and he remembered by husband. He went to tell the manager Patricia OConnell and she states that no sign was on the site, which would not have been, it's in the system. He tried to show her and she did not really look in the system, she states that she could compensate us by reimbursing us our money and giving us a better site. The site she tried to put us on was a RV site not safe for tents due to car traffic entrance. We were so upset we left, this ruined our whole weekend. Patricia never owned up to the error and never offered to move the other tent campers. We will not be camping here ever again due to Patricia OConnell poor customer service. This was the 3rd time that we tried to camp and had a problem and each time was a poor excuse. We camped there before in 2013 with a group of people who made reservations with no problem. The next year I made reservations for June in January and when June came there was vendor on the site and we never got a phone call, she stated to me that they don't take reservations for tent sites, which was never told to me when I made the reservation. The second time we tried to camp in June again and was told that they no longer have tent sites. Was kind of done with them then until we went through the park and saw tent site signs and then went to the office and did not see the OConnells, thought they no longer worked there. When we got there on the 27th of June and they were there, knew it was too good to be true and this happens. As long as they are in charge, we will never camp there again and we really enjoyed camping there because it's close to our home, but will not be subject to anymore disappointment from Patrica OConnell.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank sudie811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

My husband and I have been going to this campground for 4 years. We look forward to it every year and have already booked next April and September! We like the quiet, laid back atmosphere and often have other RV friends meet us there for weekends. Between the breathtaking sunrises (if you are up for that) and the amazing sunsets you can walk the beach at the bay, ride bikes through the old fort and into the little town of Phoebus for lunch or just sit around the campground and enjoy watching the Osprey. We prefer not to camp much in the summer months, so we have not been there for that season. I understand they stay booked, so call early. You should be prepared that this is not a huge resort with swimming pools, mini golf, water slides, scheduled activities and wagon rides, but that's the best thing about it for us!! There is plenty to do in the surrounding area. The O'Connell's who manage the campground have been very friendly and always helpful if we need anything. The camp store is great too. We love meeting up with friends in the club room with the free jukebox in the evening and playing games. We also like that it is just a few minutes from Hampton and about an hour to VA Beach. If you go make time to visit the Fort and Casemate Museum. They are really interesting. We don't use the showers, but I peeked in and they were very bright and clean. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fluco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

This was a nice place for a family campout with Cub Scouts. This is not woods camping; it's mowed grass with a view. The kids enjoyed beach combing, multiple playgrounds, and walking around the fort. Bathrooms with shower are available with a code. And the dining shelters with tables were nice amenities for our large group.

Room Tip: Be prepared for strong winds from the east (ocean side)
Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank JCKimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews