We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner out”
Review of Blackwater Cafe

Blackwater Cafe
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Moneta
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family restaurant with focus on Customer Service. Your Dining Experience is our Priority. Casual dress with a nice ambience. Reservations are suggested.
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Went here on a recommendation and we were glad we did. Place has two dining rooms; one casual and the other a bit fancier. Figured since we came in nicer clothes than our usual shorts & flip flops we’d go for the cloth napkin side. Simple yet pretty dining room with a few other tables taken.
Our server, who seemed new but eager to please, read us the specials and quickly brought us our drinks. We asked for bread and were given biscuits with sweet butter. The portion was tiny but so good. We could have definitely eaten more but since we decided to try the flat bread special, we restrained ourselves. The flat bread was covered with smoked Chicken, cheese and walnut pesto. It was delicious and a perfect size for us to share. We both ordered steaks. They came with scalloped potatoes and asparagus. The meals were served steaming hot; and the steaks were full of flavor. I know that restaurants tend to cook steak with butter. My filet had a wine butter sauce on top. Looked more like a raspberry color. The color was unappealing and it made the steak too greasy. If I order this again, I’ll be sure to ask them to leave that off.
This is not a cheap meal. Entrees are somewhat expensive and the drinks definitely increased the bill. But we had a great meal and everyone who worked here went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We’ll definitely be back.

Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, Owner at Blackwater Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your kind words and for your support. We will take your comments under consideration. Enjoy your stay at the Lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

the food used to be excellent but not so much anymore, hope they will go back to what they were doing before

Thank V6133IFwendyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, Owner at Blackwater Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Wendy: Sorry you don't like our menu but not sure how to respond without more specifics. Many of our entrees are in the mid/high teens so I don't think we are over priced. In any case please feel free to call me at the restaurant so we can discuss Thank you for sharing your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Owner Tom Gordon and his very dedicated and professional family-run restaurant have a well-deserved reputation for providing the area's most outstanding cuisine, ambiance and service. Executive Chef Michael Liga's meticulously prepared dishes never disappoint. Of special note are monthly, gourmet wine dinners, with advance reservations strongly recommended.

1  Thank treeeeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, Owner at Blackwater Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you Tree Man for the nice comments. Are you eating meat again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This restaurant was absolutely terrific! Wait staff very friendly, helpful and determined to make the dining experience delightful. The meals were well prepared and delicious. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jopa331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, Owner at Blackwater Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for your nice comments. It is always nice to hear the appreciation for the effort that we make. Please introduce yourselves to us the next time you are in. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I've lived in the SML area for three years without trying the Blackwater so the wife and I decided to finally try it on a Sat night. I had Chicken Cacciatore while the wife had Filet Mignon. The menu described the Chicken Cacciatore as a chicken breast with vegetables in red sauce. When I was served the meal there were literally 3 medallion sized pieces of chicken in sauce, veggies over spaghetti. The spaghetti was well overcooked. Not what I expected. The wife ordered her filet med-rare & it came rare. Overall the restaurant décor is very outdated and the food is fair and portions skimpy for the price you pay. I will not be going back to the Blackwater.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, Owner at Blackwater Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Allen. Sorry to hear about your experience at the Blackwater Cafe. I wish you would have asked for a manager so we could have resolved the issues. The rare steak could have been cooked more to the mid rare temp if you let us know.
The decor is not out dated but more of a lodge theme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blackwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing