We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, our search for some upscale dining in the Gainesville/Manassas area wiil have to continue”
Review of Tortino Mare

Tortino Mare
Reserve with OpenTable
Tortino Mare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We continue to search for some upscale dining in the Gainesville/Manassas area. Tom Sietsema's review in the WaPo of the Tortino downtown prompted us to go here. Sadly, our quest continues. After eating some of the gratis focaccia, which was just so-so, we shared the lamb meatballs app, which were fairly good and nicely presented. My wife ordered the veal marsala, and I had the lamb shank over risotto. My lamb shank was quite good, but her veal marsala was disappointing. The meat was tough, and the sauce was weak and flavorless. One really positive note--they let us have tastings of three red wines before we picked one--very nice of them.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018

We had fabulous food, great service, is an unexpected location. We read the reviews on trip advisor and decided to try this restaurant. The special choices were plentiful, the food was excellently prepared and the service was attentive.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

After reading the great reviews and the "call out" to support this establishment, I had to experience Tortino Mare for myself. WOW ! The food was surpassed only by the service. "Yani " ran the front of the house as if he was the Maestro of a fine orchestra. The Chef ran his open kitchen with artistry and confidence. The staff was well trained and attentive. The owners , obviously well versed in establishing a fine dining destination. Yes indeed, a pleasant surprise. Chef Todd.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortino M, Manager at Tortino Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Todd, our staff appreciates you leaving us a wonderful review after dining with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with excellent service and authentic, Italian cuisine, and we're happy to hear you had such a great experience with us. Your business is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This restaurant’s location is slightly off the beaten path but don’t let that deter you! I seriously felt like I was in Italy. The service was beyond excellent—we were treated like we were part of the family and the food was way better than you can find in any restaurant in Tyson’s corner. I had the special osso bucco over saffron risotto and it was perfection. If you are looking for phenomenal food with a relaxed atmosphere, you need to go to Tortino Mare! Excellent wine list as well.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortino M, Manager at Tortino Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Beth, thanks so much for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent visit to Tortino Mare. Providing authentic, Italian cuisine, as well as excellent service and an enjoyable atmosphere, is a top priority for us. Your kind words will be passed along to our staff, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

I am a bit of a purist when it comes to Italian cuisine having lived in Italy for 8 years. There are few good Italian restaurants in this area and even fewer as you leave DC. Tortina Mare was a great surprise. Superb menu, food prepared like it is in Italy and great service. The menu offers a nice mix of meat, fish and pasta. The wine list is small but specializes in very good nicely priced Italian wines. The owner is engaged with his clients and they even have grappa and espresso that is provided at the right temperature.
Nice decor the only detractor is getting there. It is in a small shopping center in an interesting neighborhood. All in all, a great place and enthusiastically recommend

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank coyote099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tortino Mare also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Clifton, Fairfax County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Centreville, Fairfax County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Tortino Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing