We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loyalty Inn(Louisa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
147
30
12
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
30
12
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housecarriage housebreakfast in bedprospect hill plantationcrab and shrimpdogs and catsblack labnature trailplantation groundsindividual cottagesbreakfasts were excellentrich historyworking fireplacewood burning fireplacecharlottesville arearomantic getawayboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Wonderful on site breakfast and must definitely have dinner there. Limited menu but delicious and beautifully plated. Old plantation house near Charlottesville and area wineries. Upper rooms are not very accessible to physically challenged travelers as the staircase is very narrow and winding. There are also rooms in old dependencies and and an in ground pool. Rather a challenge to locate. Enjoyed the grounds and had a fun weekend.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank NanaP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Prospect Hill is a marvelous and unique inn, historic (with the oldest part of the buildings dating back to 1699) and very well maintained. The location and grounds are beautiful, and the proprietors, Dr. Bobby Findley and Paula Findley (and their children!) are very welcoming and also have a lot to tell about the fascinating history of Prospect Hill, some of which can be read the web site. The main plantation house has a superb restaurant, certainly as good as any in the area or in Charlottesville. One of the main attractions of staying at Prospect Hill are the several cottage like dwellings on the grounds, each of which has a distinct history and character--the oldest, the Boy's room (though smaller than the others), was the original cabin of the founder who built it in 1699. Prospect Hill is a wonderful place to relax, and again the old plantation house and grounds are an attraction in themselves. As other reviewers note, it's located near Charlottesville and all of the major attractions in the Charlottesville area; it would make a wonderful base for an extended stay. Read the other reviews to get an idea of the charms of the place. The lodgings are very comfortable and charming, and each is different: You won't find the standardized amenities or designer rooms of a five star international hotel, nor the somewhat placeless, impersonal and sterile atmosphere of one: it's an historic, quirky place, where you feel a part of nature. On the grounds there are horses and also, as mentioned below, cats and a dog, who will keep you company if you encourage them! The charm and magic of the pace is incomparable. If you stay in one of the cottages, breakfast will be served in the cottage or at a table right outside. You may be greeted during your stay by three cats and a dog who are well behaved and very ingratiating. Above all there's something enchanting about the place, which will grow on you. I and a dear friend have stayed at Prospect Hill twice this summer, and will be back again!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband and I visited Prospect Hill Plantation for our 5 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Overseer's Cottage, which was lovely! The grounds are romantic, the staff is welcoming and kind, and the food is out of this world. We left after a 3 night stay feeling relaxed and peaceful. We have already planned a return trip for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We love Select Registry B and B's and this one did not disappoint. It is so nice to know there is such a relaxing place to stay just off 64 , but we drove the back road from northern VA and will be back! All family members working here are so friendly and we loved the Overseer's Cottage as it was right by the pool and the Manor House. The grounds are so beautiful and love having horses and Alpaca all around. The dinner was absolutely wonderful and not overpriced nor was the wine. The children seem very proud to be part of the Inn and are so polite and excellent servers! Breakfast can be brought to you or at the Manor House but was also delicious. We were allowed a bit later check out in order to swim again and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank guitartraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I had stayed at this wonderful property in August 2014. I just completed another visit today. Prospect Hill Plantation is so wonderfully magnificent, well managed, and an overall fabulous place to stay to get away from it all, relax and re-charge. My fiance and I stayed in the Sanco Pansy's Cottage, I recommend it highly. We arrived yesterday at 4:30, spent nearly three hours enjoying the tranquil view from the porch of our cottage, and then enjoyed a spectacular dinner in the plantation dinning room. WOW! From the wines to all the courses to coffee, incredible! We slept really, really well, awoke this morning and again sat on the porch enjoying the view. Breakfast was brought to us on the porch and we enjoyed every bit of it. My only regret is that we're not still there!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OspreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews