We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Sad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prospect Hill Plantation Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Louisa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We booked three nights here having seen the website and some good reviews.

We arrived and no one was there. We found a letter, badly worded, welcoming us saying someone would comer and see us when they were back. We are in a room priced at well over $300 per night. We go to the room. It is the flag ship one shown on TA site and marketed as great. We saw other rooms with beds just slept in and unmade up.

It was very poor. Not just because there are no curtains and light shines in all night which we could see immediately, but it was not clean. My wife dropped something down and we picked it up and picked up dust. The Venetian style blinds had not been cleaned in an age. They said they had left us some welcome drinks in the fridge. We looked and realised we were carrying better stuff of our own. We sat down feeling unwelcome and very misled by the website.

We toured the grounds and found a pool that had dirty furniture around it. Everywhere especially the garden areas looked neglected. The Box hedges have been let go. There is a feeling of lack of love and investment all over the place. Its potential is amazing if the owners could realise it.

Wifi is slow and only available in the core area. Other annex properties we stayed in (3) had excellent relayed Wifi.

Just before dinner we met a young man who we later found out was the owners son and was in charge for that night. He was 18 and inexperienced but had no idea how to welcome people something in the USA that is done so well. We told him we could see that the room was going to be lit all night from outside. He said he would call his father to see what could be done. He did not report back and we had a bad night woken early by day light flooding in after the outside lights that were on all night.

Each night we were there on our own. They have no locks on anything saying there is no crime; they offer no emergency contact number if there was a fire or worse. You feel on your own and neglected. The hot water was just hot enough. The wiring to lights looked rather old and I hope was property tested and vetted. The maintenance of the site made us concerned about such things!

At breakfast we were served by a man who said "call me Doc". The breakfast was OK. No one lese was around, except a nice lady who introduced herself properly and said she was the deputy in keeper. She was excellent and agreed we could cancel a night.

It was she, not him, who told us Doc was Finlay the owner! He never asked about how we viewed the place, or about the call from his son about the lights, he never asked why we had wanted to move on. All very odd. We visited Monticello and loved it.

I used the pool that evening and we walked the grounds. As I say potential is 5* realisation so much less.

That night after dinner we sat to do emails in the nice lounge area with the piano. They offer free brandy and port here. The decanters were both virtually empty and the stains around them from previous nights were still there. All tatty. Not good.

As we came to leave Doc asked why we had not left a tip at dinner. I told him I had said to his daughter we would deal with all tips when we left. I told him we had not felt at all welcome and that the room was poor. I was amazed to be addressing issues like this as we left and not when he first met us. I know service industries very well and the Doc needs training as well as his twins. We are reasonable people who travel a lot; we know you have to put the client at the centre of your offering, listen and consult, and especially do not cut corners and nickel and dime everything.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Wonderful on site breakfast and must definitely have dinner there. Limited menu but delicious and beautifully plated. Old plantation house near Charlottesville and area wineries. Upper rooms are not very accessible to physically challenged travelers as the staircase is very narrow and winding. There are also rooms in old dependencies and and an in ground pool. Rather a challenge to locate. Enjoyed the grounds and had a fun weekend.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank NanaP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Prospect Hill is a marvelous and unique inn, historic (with the oldest part of the buildings dating back to 1699) and very well maintained. The location and grounds are beautiful, and the proprietors, Dr. Bobby Findley and Paula Findley (and their children!) are very welcoming and also have a lot to tell about the fascinating history of Prospect Hill, some of which can be read the web site. The main plantation house has a superb restaurant, certainly as good as any in the area or in Charlottesville. One of the main attractions of staying at Prospect Hill are the several cottage like dwellings on the grounds, each of which has a distinct history and character--the oldest, the Boy's room (though smaller than the others), was the original cabin of the founder who built it in 1699. Prospect Hill is a wonderful place to relax, and again the old plantation house and grounds are an attraction in themselves. As other reviewers note, it's located near Charlottesville and all of the major attractions in the Charlottesville area; it would make a wonderful base for an extended stay. Read the other reviews to get an idea of the charms of the place. The lodgings are very comfortable and charming, and each is different: You won't find the standardized amenities or designer rooms of a five star international hotel, nor the somewhat placeless, impersonal and sterile atmosphere of one: it's an historic, quirky place, where you feel a part of nature. On the grounds there are horses and also, as mentioned below, cats and a dog, who will keep you company if you encourage them! The charm and magic of the pace is incomparable. If you stay in one of the cottages, breakfast will be served in the cottage or at a table right outside. You may be greeted during your stay by three cats and a dog who are well behaved and very ingratiating. Above all there's something enchanting about the place, which will grow on you. I and a dear friend have stayed at Prospect Hill twice this summer, and will be back again!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband and I visited Prospect Hill Plantation for our 5 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Overseer's Cottage, which was lovely! The grounds are romantic, the staff is welcoming and kind, and the food is out of this world. We left after a 3 night stay feeling relaxed and peaceful. We have already planned a return trip for our anniversary next year!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We love Select Registry B and B's and this one did not disappoint. It is so nice to know there is such a relaxing place to stay just off 64 , but we drove the back road from northern VA and will be back! All family members working here are so friendly and we loved the Overseer's Cottage as it was right by the pool and the Manor House. The grounds are so beautiful and love having horses and Alpaca all around. The dinner was absolutely wonderful and not overpriced nor was the wine. The children seem very proud to be part of the Inn and are so polite and excellent servers! Breakfast can be brought to you or at the Manor House but was also delicious. We were allowed a bit later check out in order to swim again and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank guitartraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
14.6 km away
Boxley Place Inn
Boxley Place Inn
#2 of 5 in Louisa
17 reviews
10.1 km away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,025 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Plantation Inn

Address: 2887 Poindexter Rd, near Charlottesville, VA, Louisa, VA 23093-3005
Region: United States > Virginia > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisa
Price Range: €169 - €197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospect Hill Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic 18th-century plantation complex just 15 miles east of Charlottesville, VA and Thomas Jefferson's "Monticello" and UVA. Set on almost 50 acres of lawns, woods and fields the inn offers 13 rooms in the 1732 manor house and renovated outbuildings dating from 1699 to 1840 and offers prie-fixe dinners every Fri and Sat evenings (and some weekdays) by reservation at $49pp. B&B rates from $195 to $395. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Prospect Hill Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospect Hill Plantation Hotel Louisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing